We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Severin Sea Lodge

Save Saved
You added Severin Sea Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Severin Sea Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Bamburi
W. Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradise on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough about the Severin. I've stayed at other beach hotels in MBA but Severin beats all for amenities vs value. Awesome pool and great restaurant. Try it! Even if you just use the pool, you'll see it is better value for the dollar than its more expensive neighbors. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    114
    37
    26
    7
See reviews for
44
153
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My review is not so much for the hotel itself but for the Front Office Manager - Mr George Oyugi. We visited in December and my daughter left a pair of trousers in her room. I contacted Severin to see if they had been found. George emailed me back immediately to say they had been kept safely. George went out of his way to help me and had the trousers delivered to a family member in Nairobi and then we were able to have them brought back to South Africa. Thank you George for outstanding and exemplary service - this is rare in today's world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We returned to Severin Sea Lodge this year and found the standards as high as we remembered. The food is great, the staff very helpful and friendly and the rooms are a very high standard. We walked the marvellous beach every day which is miles long. The beach boys leave you pretty much alone after the first "come and see my shop" encounters. I played tennis often with their resident pro Sammy who helped me out with my serve. We went diving and snorkelling with Steve and the guys from Barracuda who also arranged for me to learn to Kite Surf, which was fantastic. We also played Golf at the Nyali Golf Club where we hired clubs; it did not feel as hot as we thought it would be but the drinks overlooking the 18 hole hole ended the day nicely. We will defiantly return to Severin as they looked after us so well..

Room Tip: The upstairs cottages are larger and have good views over the grounds, the pool and to the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at SSL and we loved it! The stuff was so friendly and helpful. Our room was always clean and tidy, food was lovely and they have lots of sport and entertainment activities! The only let down was the beach, we did not enjoy spending any time there as the beach boys always try to follow you and force you to buy things from them. You just have to be careful and stay away from them. It would have been great if the beach was private so we could have spent more than 10 minutes there within 2 weeks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed at Severin Sea Lodge three times in the past two years and have enjoyed it very much on each occasion. I am always struck by the friendliness of the staff who are nearly always smiling and happy to see you. The food is nutritious, plentiful and varied and the bedrooms clean and fresh.

I play tennis most evenings and the setting is great. Sammy, the resident tennis coach is an excellent player and is always happy to make up a four.

The hotel is right on the beach, which is under a huge wide open expanse of blue sky and the sea is like a warm bath. One of my favourite pasttimes is to buy a whole pineapple on the beach and stand in the sea eating it!

It is easy to arrange trips and safaris from the hotel, which has its own superlative safari camp a few hours' drive away. Mombasa is about 15 minutes away by car.

The WiFi connection could do with a boost and I think the tennis court deserves a bit of a facelift, otherwise I cannot fault this amazing place.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed anywhere but the Rondavel type cottages are especially nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Have been twice over xmas and new year, always had excellent service and facilities. All staff superb, always made to feel very welcome and nothing ever too much trouble. Great food and lovely rooms. Severin Safari Lodge a wonderful experience which is a parent company to the hotel. Grounds are kept beautifully and the setting by the sea is just perfect. We would highly recomend this to anyone and would love to return again in the future.

Room Tip: Found the re-vamped bungalows were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I come and stayed in Severin Sea Lodge with my spouse two or three times per year and never regret, Now it looks much better and comfortable after renovation. What is important for me during the stay in this hotel is feeling of safety, European style service and nice sea view.This hotel is good choice for couples and families with kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Severin Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Severin Sea Lodge

Address: Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bamburi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Sea Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GPS Koordinaten: 3 59 13 Sud, 39 44 21 Ost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Severin Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Sea Hotel Bamburi
Severin Sea Bamburi
Severin Sea Lodge Kenya/Bamburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Severin Sea Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.