We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Family Holiday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Severin Sea Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Severin Sea Lodge to your Saves list
Severin Sea Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Family Holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights as a family of 16 people of whom 7 were kids. The hotel pricing is a great deal compared to other hotels in Mombasa. The hotels staff are extremely friendly and always ready to assist. The go out of their way to ensure guests are comfortable. The food served us fresh and has excellent taste. The animation team was superb and the evening entertainment was good especially when the Safari Sounds Band plays. My recommendation would be to extend the entertainment time a little bit longer to end at midnight instead of 11pm. The water slide at the hotel needs to be smoothed out as it is rough on the back side as one descends down.The location of the hotel is superb as it gives easy access to other entertainment hotspots in Mombasa such as Wild Waters Park, Tamarind Dhow, Haller Park, Yuls and the major malls in Mombasa such as City Mall. The hotel is located walking distance on the beach from Yuls who provide all sorts of water sports such as jet skis and surfing. It is also located walking distance from Mombasa Go Karting and Paint balling for adrenaline fun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    120
    38
    26
    7
See reviews for
47
161
21
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nairobi-----Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

we have been staying at this hotel for the past 25 years and have really enjoyed the personal service and the friendliness of all the staff here. it certainly is a home for us and a real value for money. Since we are Vegans the head chef would personally come and prepare our menu. The animation team keeps us busy with all different activities so there is something for all to do.Finally the rooms are big and clean with newly fitted showers.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are nearer the bigger pool and the deluxe rooms towards the other pool but all ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We recently stayed 6 nights here in two parts during May2012.
The price we obtained per night (including breakfasts) via Akorn was fantastic and the standard of hotel overall far exceeded our expectations for the price.
The Hotel has two swimming pools set in lovely green gardens. Monkeys wander around the grounds to delight us tourists!
We stayed in a comfort class room and the layout was great. The bathrooms were modern and fitted out with modern fittings. The rooms may well have been renovated, they were that modern compared to other places we stayed in during our African adventures.
Our room attendant Wilson was a lovely man who obliged our every whim without any hesitation. Fresh towels when we had used the showers during the day and topping up our complimentary Tea and Coffee supplies as he saw us using them frequently
Our only complaint/downside of our stay was a certain woman who seemed to supervise the breakfast room/dining room. She practically chased away any guest who dared to enter the dining room of an evening UNLESS they were "Full Board" This was most upseting and many of our friends chose to dine elsewhere instead of the hotel because of her attitude.
Several of us complained to the Duty Manager about this woman. I dont know if any action was ever taken though.
Overall though a very pleasant stay and would love to visit the hotel again

Room Tip: Ground flor rooms eliminate the stairs however upstairs ones allow laundry to be dryed on verandah/b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed for 3 months in this hotel over the winter and couldn't ask for anything more. I researched this and other hotels at length and stayed at others for 1-2 nights each before settling on this one for a winter stay.
Amongst other things I had an interesting method of selection as we planned to be in Mombasa for so long we needed to get it right, so on arrival in Mombasa I asked several taxi drivers which hotel they had the least complaints about from holidaymakers on the North Coast and they consistently said this one always rated highly.
They were right !
This hotel has everything one expects from a good holiday hotel.
The rooms are spacious and freshly refurbished to a high standard.
The management are also to be congratulated on the smooth running and happy atmosphere they have generated here.
Thank you one and all for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

After much research of Mombasa hotels we settled on this one for our winter break and am very pleased to say we will be back again soon. We booked directly and got a prompt and professional reply without having to go through travel agents.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Food - excellent selection and chef also prepared to be flexible on specially prepared requests.
Also a free gym available to work off those extra pounds gained.
Location very handy for walking to other restaurants along the beach and we found it perfectly safe to do so even at night.
Rooms recently and beautifully renovated to a high standard.
Management attentive and actively involved at a ground level.
Nice well stocked in house shops.
Very sad to leave as felt like home in no time at all.
Couldn't ask for anything more.
Thank you to all the staff for making this a wonderful holiday. We will definitely be repeater guests with you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a one night business trip to Mombasa.The priced offered for a 'comfort" room was unbeleivably a bargain and i took it with both hands.

On arrival I was pleasantly received and my checking in was fast and efficient. I was then taken to my comfort room and immediately I could tell the room had not been in use for a while as it had a musty smell, one that a good spring clean would easily sort out. There was one double bed and one single bed in the room, they were nicely laid out in blue and the overall decor was pleasant. The beds were comfortable and were covered by large mosquito nets, these came in handy because the room filled up with mosquitoes at night despite tha fact that all the windows and doors were closed.......I wonder!
The air conditioning worked well.

The room looked out onto gardens that swept down towards the swimming pool, but no sea view. Lots of monkeys meant that one had to be careful about leaving the door open.
The bathroom was modern and very attractive, though a bit spartan. There was plenty of hot water in the showers and nice towels. But there was no bottled water provided and one has to use the tap water to brush ones teeth.

Dinner and break fast were served in the main restaurant overlooking the sea. The culinary spread was OK and the service was polite, but rather uninspiring. I had to keep asking for my drinks, tea, extra cutlery etc. The decor could do with an update
I did not have time to head down to Bamburi beach and neither diod I have time swim in the pool, both of which looked very inviting indeed.

Overall I was glad I would only be staying one night and i was also glad I only paid the price that I did.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Nice hotel, not too big, on the beach. Good restaurant and helpful and friendly staff. Renovated rooms . Would certainly come back to this hotel if a next trip to Mombasa.
Some nice restaurant near on the beach if you want to get out. Observe the big difference between hi and low tide, bu when low tide you can always take a swim in the pool.

Room Tip: Try to get one near the pool , some rooms are some distance from the beach/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Severin Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Severin Sea Lodge

Address: Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bamburi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Sea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GPS Koordinaten: 3 59 13 Sud, 39 44 21 Ost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Severin Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Sea Hotel Bamburi
Severin Sea Bamburi
Severin Sea Lodge Kenya/Bamburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Severin Sea Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.