We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Severin Sea Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Severin Sea Lodge to your Saves list
Severin Sea Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We booked direct with Severin and found them to be very good at getting back to us via email.
We booked our two week beach holiday / safari and wedding with them. The hotel was very peaceful with beautiful gardens and 2 lovely swimming pools. We stayed in room 117 which we liked at the beginning of our stay and on our return they up graded us to a suite with beautiful sea views. The food was different each evening and very good. Also the breakfasts were very good with a big choice. There was also a free afternoon tea at 4pm. The staff were amazing and very friendly, nothing was to much trouble. Both rooms we had, had air con which was really needed when we were there. We would definitely recommend this hotel. Most of the guest were from Germany, we found on some days we were the only British there. If you stay here you should also stay that the Severin Safari Camp which was AMAZING and where we got married.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    123
    38
    26
    7
See reviews for
48
163
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Dear Severin Sea Lodge Family,

My family was your guest for three nights (Sunday 27/11/11 to Tuesday 29/11/11) staying in room 106.

I wish to take this opportunity to send a small message of appreciation to all the staff who made us feel so much at home and especially my two young daughters. I will not forget the way people went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and memorable to us even though short.

Kudos and keep it up!!

We will surely return again.

Philip Munyoro

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I just returned from a weekend with my fiance - we picked it at the last minute for an impromptu holiday. It is lovely for the price we paid compared to other hotels in the area offering the same or similar amenities - its quite affordable for the basics they offer. It's been renovated so you have air con in your room; a (small) television, lovely shower and a safe to put your personal belongings. The staff are friendly with the exception of one reception who we found to be quite aloof but that is bound to happen! There are two pools to choose from, and the grounds are big enough for you to wander around without feeling like you are in other guests space. The food was average, and there are quite a few beach boys which is anything but not a bother - they don't come into the hotel or the lawns where the sun beds are and the beach is public holiday anyway. We plan on going back - with some friends and family so we can stay in the interconnected rooms and enjoy a longer stay.

Room Tip: The porters are quite nice - if rooms are available, you can ask to see one or two before you decide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

We were there for at least 10days and found this Hotel more than Perfect. The Food was delicious every Day and the staff was absolutely friendly and guest orientated. The Hotel is like European 4star++ Level. Er recommend the Sea Lodge to everyone, also try Out their Safari Camp, which is another Perfect Place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We had pleasure of spending a few days after relocating from another place.
Everything was great and i had value for money.

Your waiters are properly trained and are great people.

I would recommend it to anyone planning for holiday at the north coast.

With thanks

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darfur, Sudan via Charlotte, NC, USA
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

For the price, the hotel did NOT live up to expectations. The rooms and bathrooms were a decent size, and were probably once very, very nice. However, now everything was a bit dark, dingy and sorely in need or repair. The shower drains were incredibly slow, so the cheap plastic shower curtain was always filthy (yeech!), and the housekeeping never seemed to notice when they "cleaned". The doors to the wardrobe wouldn't close, which was extremely annoying. The refrigerator was suspect, as the tray was filled with old, stale, dank water. The terrace was nice, but small, and despite what I had been mis-led to believe over the phone, did NOT have an ocean view. The grounds were well-maintained and relaxing, and overall the staff was very nice. Beware of the dinner dining room "dress code" that they don't reveal until you arrive -- as if you actually thought to bring knee length dresses with long sleeves to the beach! -- and they WILL harass you in the dining room and "suggest" you leave. I understand a no swimwear policy, but really, a dress code? Was enough to keep me out of the dining room. Although, admittedly, the one night that I ate there the food was exceptional.
The beach is overall unexceptional and full of touts, but has lots of nice restaurants and bars along it - particularly, Yul's.

Room Tip: There are perhaps two ocean view buildings, so be wary if you want an ocean view. Some rooms have T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severin_touristik, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Amnesty1,

We would like to thank you for the comments that you have put on trip advisor and we are sorry that we did not live upto your expectations. Regarding the rooms, yes they are old and we will be renovating them in the near future. We have already completed one side of the hotel so next year we plan to do the ones that you were staying in. Regarding the cleanliness this has been taken up very seriously with our Housekeeping department and we have put all our staff on a retraining program.

I am sorry about the comments on the dress for the evening meal. This policy is not just with us but all and most Half Board Hotels have the same policy here in Kenya. All Inclusive Hotels also follow this ruling as well. We are glad to hear that the meal that you did have with us you enjoyed.

If you are back here in Mombasa in the future I would ask if you could stay with us again as I am determined to show you a better side of Severin Sea Lodge. If you do have any comments please email us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The hotel first opened in 1972, I have been coming to Severin since 2001 and I always had a very good stay.
Many of the rooms and bungalows have been recently renovated, (this uplift was really necessary), and now they are very pleasant and comfortable. There is aircon, satellite TV, and wireless Internet for a decent price.
The breakfast buffet is fantastic, available to about 10AM. But for "long sleepers" they offer a reduced version of the buffet up to 12AM: a fantastic alternative, if you decide to sleep longer after a couple of very early mornings at the safari!
I had mixed experiences at all 3 hotel restaurants; from very good to disappointing. Therefore I normally walk along the beach and dinner at the restaurants nearby. However, make sure not to miss the fresh fruit juices prepared at the Swing Bar, they are phenomenal!

The staff is just great: friendly and welcoming, they try very hard to make you feel well as a guest. I believe that the staff is the most valuable asset of the hotel.

Maybe then Severin Sea lodge might give a wrong impression for "first-timers"; probably because, initially, it may seem a bit aged and a bit too simple. But after a while, the details, it's unique architectural and design character, the power of the staff and the feel of Africa, guarantee a very pleasing and charming stay.

PS: Jogging lovers should not miss the fantastic tracks offered at the Bamburi Nature Trails across the main road behind the hotel; a beautiful park of authentic East African forest

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated bungalows or rooms. If possible avoid rooms on the ground floor and too close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Severin Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Severin Sea Lodge

Address: Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bamburi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Sea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GPS Koordinaten: 3 59 13 Sud, 39 44 21 Ost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Severin Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Sea Hotel Bamburi
Severin Sea Bamburi
Severin Sea Lodge Kenya/Bamburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Severin Sea Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.