We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a lot of work” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Severin Sea Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Severin Sea Lodge to your Saves list
Severin Sea Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Needs a lot of work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

The service is great but the unrenovated rooms really suck. Tired, noisy and dark.
The food is ok - excellent desert, main meal is akin to boarding school and the menu is very much dominated by German tastes (Sausage salad; processed meat).
Drinks are a little overpriced, beach is way too crowded.
If it were not for the staff (waiters and front desk) I would have just cancelled and moved elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do not stay in an unrenovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    124
    40
    26
    7
See reviews for
51
164
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Alright,

So, this is one of the most expensive hotels in North coast Mombasa. We arrived with high expectations to stay in a sea front view room with internet, we had 3 weeks before arrival (bed and breakfast). We received cold towel to clean our hands! the we were told that we are on half board (which included tea time and dinner and breakfast of course). Surprised, we asked the attendant if it was correct. The answer was affirmative!

Then we were showed to our room. To our great surprise it was no a sea front we had requested and it was very basic, with no TV, Stinking humid! So we decided to complain why we did not receive a sea front view. Funny enough, the receptionist claimed that the ocean view rooms were all occupied since December 2010! silly!

At night we went for dinner buffet. It was messy, cheap and terrible. The dessert was even worse. So, decided to focus on the salad. Drinks were not included and no information was given.After such a great dinner experience we decided to double check our booking status regarding half board. The receptionist informed us that we were on B/B and that the dinner cost 30 USD per person!! We explained that we were informed differently upon our arrival. The receptionist, like he owned the hotel demanded however that we had to pay, without consulting the management! So we demanded to speak with the manager as we had been lied to and fooled to eat that crappy food!

After alot of argument with the manager, he told us that the person who we claimed had informed us wrongly denied he had ever done so (in so manner calling us liars) and finally give us 4 USD discount for the dinner! Like beggars! not even apologizing for misleading us.

Finally, we decided to ask for a password in order to use the wireless internet. We were told that we had to pay!

All in all, rooms are basic, service is lousy from top to the bottom, the pool gets closed too early, the food is terrible and the place is full of big fat lizards! It is crowded! This is a two star hotel, and only looks nice from a distance. And we all know the looks deceives!

Choose any other hotel in North coast you will at least save some money. We couldn't wait to get out of this lousy place!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Well, we stopped there for 6 nights and first they go our rooms wrong so we had to go down a class, and late at night there were cockroaches in the bath, that we had to remove. Then we went down to the restaurant for our evening meal where they also slipped ip on our table arangments so we had to sit apart from our family. Later that night we went outside to watch the sun go down over the sea, when were approached by two prostitutes, so we were not going to stay there so we went to bed. We had no sleep that night because of the constant noise of loud drunk guest going to bed. The next night we went down for dinner again and sat down, and one of our group were missing because they were ill, then later the tried to come down to us at the restaurant, when he was approached by the head of the restaurant, that had a argument with him about wearing shorts when coming to dinner, but really he only wanted to come see his mom and dad, this was no way to talk to a young boy. So do not go to this hotel go on safari instead, and go to kilingui lodge on tsavo national park. Believe me the best part of sever in sea lodge was leaving the horrible place.

Room Tip: Never go, instead go on safari for longer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Nice hotel for staying some days. It is a resort so the guest are mostly resort people. We had a bungalow room. That was good, only the bed was a little bit hard. The bathroom was not new but clean. Airco inside and al what you need for a couple of days. The restaurant has good food and good wines available. Free internet use in the cafe. Nice ambiance.
The water of the see was warm, over 25°C. The pool was not really cold, a little bit to warm. But overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Excellent 4* hotel,great food service and location. The beach is just steps away,as is the warm ocean,beach boys can annoy a little bit but they are only trying to make a few shillings.Safaried with august and rama and it was as good as previous reviewers had found it ,can be booked on the beach under the umbrella! I would recommend sailing on the african express with ABDUL and capt nemo.The hotel is strict on long trousers for dinner which is fare enough,so you can take a prostitute to dinner but not tailored shorts.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We went for xmas and new year and was a bit weary of the reviews we couldnt of been more happier with the hotel, food, service and weather everything and that little bit more beautiful.the only thing that is lacking i would say is the entertainment of a night .its a bit like that in all the hotels in kenya as far as we have been told,we was half board and the food was lovely the hotel is a bit small but its so relaxing and the staff make your holiday they are a credit to severin sea lodge i have never stayed in a hotel with such great staff they were wonderful. We also went on safari with the guys outside the hotel they are right on the front they are AUGUST and RAMA they gave us the best time on safari getting us first to see the lions they made it very exciting the rooms on the safari are beautiful so i would highly recommend you go with these guys they make the safari that little bit more special than the others and are reasonably priced they also gave us a free tour around mombasa city which was great all through the back streets real eye opener so if your thinking of doing any trips please book with these guys they do appreciate your buisness and they make it a trip to remember. the holiday was great and am looking forward to going back again to the same hotel,we met other people in the airport coming home and there hotels was not so good and everyone was complaining,even though we was half board i thought it would cost alot for extras to our amazement the cost of our holiday and the cost of our drinks worked out a hell of alot LESS than those who paid all inclusive i hope this review helps you choose this hotel as it was by far the best.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

I have to say very nice hotel, with very good standards and very friendly staff.

Food is excellent, rooms always clean and nice ... although some rooms do not have wifi access.

I have to recommend you to check the restaurant which is called Dhow it is near the restaurant. You sit in the boat where the menu is excellent food is great only thing is that you have to follow the dress code, othewise great experience.

Severin is offering even safari tours, it is up to you ... you can chooce or just go on the beach and the local guys will offer you a tour to safari - Tsawo east and west prices for overnight should be max 100 EUR.

Enjoy kenya

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Severin Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Severin Sea Lodge

Address: Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bamburi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bamburi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Sea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GPS Koordinaten: 3 59 13 Sud, 39 44 21 Ost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Severin Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Sea Hotel Bamburi
Severin Sea Bamburi
Severin Sea Lodge Kenya/Bamburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Severin Sea Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.