We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Seasonal Offer..book now
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Bamburi
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent holiday!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is excellent service with an African touch. The service was exceptional and everyone was very pleasant (except for a hostess and receptionist who we think were having a bad day on our first night). Food was good, with a nice selection of cold salads and unparalleled selection of fresh juices. We had a standard room which was quiet and sufficiently large. Their huge pool was great for laps, and their cookies at tea were delicious. They have an excellently equipped gym, suprisingly much better than Serena Hotel. Their long ocean front ensured that we had a front-row seat every day to the beach.

There was ongoing renovation on their seafront rooms, and we appreciated their candor about it from the time we began our booking.

The icing on the cake would be if they would have more African music rather than 1980s US music every night. We'll definitely be back for a longer stay next year.

Room Tip: The standard rooms on the South side are very quiet and a good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    250
    92
    44
    30
See reviews for
216
226
43
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights after a safari with family. Excellent staff, in particular Wamboi in Guest Relations and Yvonne and Julius at reception. The food was stunning, good variety and catered to all tastes.

Rooms were good, clean and spacious and lots of choices of sun beds/ pools and bars during the day. Activities organised were very good as was the entertainment. Would thoroughly recommend for any family holidays - caters for all age ranges!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room, nice views and the higher up the less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was not impressed as we got into Mombasa and then with our initial experience with Sarova Whitesands. We had to switch rooms and there seemed to be a lot of confusion with the renovation. If you're going to renovate with guests on the property, you need to know what you're doing. The hotel ottherwise is beautiful but the service was spotty at times. It looked like they were handling a lot of complaints from the guests.

Room Tip: The water in the bathrooms had a strange color!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Ive been here many times just for relaxing, would recommend to any 1 while in Kenya and not staying there, go in on a day pass, good for the kids, lots to do. swiiming are very clean and the staff are at hand always...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Having just returned from a weeks stay at Whitesands I was a bit weary that the refurb works would spoil what would be a quiet and relaxed holiday.
Upon our arrival we checked in, the lobby is no different from other hotels ive stayed in, i dont spend much time in hotel lobbies prefering the pool etc so its design was immaterial.

The room - at check in, we were told that us virgin customers would be the very first people to stay in the new rooms. The hotel is very proud of them and i must say i am too. Smart card entry systems where you wave your key on the door and it opens, a modern light and spacious room, flatacreen tvs, entertainment hubs with all hdmi and usb slots on the wall, speakers in the bathroom which was very modern, nightlights, new beds which were lovely. All in all these are better rooms than your european hotels and arguably the best room ive stayed in abroad.

Works were ongoing in the next block from about 830-5 but we didnt hear them.

We stayed on an all inclusive basis andthe selection of foods and drinks was excellent. Personally we didnt like the buffet type dining which was more smart ( trousers for men) and prefered to eat in the pizzeria or lido grill which i found had better food and service.

Guests also have a free glass bottom boat trip ( park fees excluded $15) which was great.

Pools are great, pool attendants always around with a net fishing out dead leaves etc and no problem with sun loungers. Beach boys are a pain but dont come onto the hotel land, just be prepeard for them to come onto you when you just want to dip your toes in the sea.

All in all, an excellent hotel, very friendly staff, nice rooms and definetely somewhere id stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our experience at the property was overall average. It has a standard lobby. The overall property though huge, and with all kinds of facilities like multiple large pools, water sports, bar, evening entertainment, shopping, the work, the quality of everything, the, maintenance was average. The room was large but the decor was nothing special. All the restaurants served decent hygienic food. The buffet had large variety, but was just ok in taste. The service was average. So all in all an average place!

If after doing the Masai Mara, you want to round out you vacation with some time on the beech, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here recently for an exhibition. Was in the Palm Rooms. Being the most expensive, they have no ocean views, but views over the swimming pool.

The rooms are a decent size, and have a nice bed with duvet and decent pillows. The bathroom is OLD, and the water is yellow. The bathroom needs major renovation. There is a room safe that works. The cupboards need renovating as well. The TV does not have enough channels. WiFi if free, and works very well. We were using the staff log in.

The restaurant is massive. The food average. The deserts all taste the same. The fruit is always unripe. Service is like a school cafe. Lots of noise, and very friendly when they want you to complete a survey. They do try, but the food lets them down.

The conference facilities are average and ridiculously expensive, with pathetic service.

The airport shuttle is a rip off. Take a cab from the airport. Much cheaper!

The hotel is undergoing some refurbishment, but needs serious renovations to become world class.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bamburi
#2 Family Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mombasa on 300 meters of white sandy beach, waterfalls and swaying palms,and lush gardens, the resort offers refreshing beach holiday experiences for families, weddings, honeymoon and spa holidays. To enhance customer value, 5 star PADI dive center, MV Dania wreck,water sports are all tailored to suit the customer need. Guests may voluntarily participate in giving back to the society through our various Corporate Social Responsibility projects on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Jovago.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort And Spa
Sarova Whitesands Beach Hotel Bamburi
Whitesands Hotel Mombasa
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa Kenya/Bamburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.