We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our time at neptune beach resort - Nick and Julie Stacey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Neptune Beach Resort to your Saves list
Neptune Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bamburi Beach | 83125, Mombasa, Bamburi, Mombasa, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“our time at neptune beach resort - Nick and Julie Stacey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

all I can say is everything was fantastic. staff were brilliant, friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. having read all the reviews about how poor the food was we arrived with several reservations however we found the food to be internationally varied to suit everyone, really tasty and always very hot, with several choices of food to be cooked fresh in front of you to your liking. we were therefore very impressed and cannot see what others had to complain about. There could possibly be a wider selection at the snack bar but having said that if you asked for anything not listed staff were very happy to try and accommodate your requirements. afternoon tea and cakes was a nice touch. To prove the point we were at the hotel for 9 nights and never saw the same soup twice which was always very hot and tasty. Rooms were cleaned daily and we always had fresh linen and towels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    87
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
47
112
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

we stayed few days at Neptune beach resort bamburi and our comments are as follows:
a) service - excellent
b) hotel staffs - more than excellent, very friendly, polite and flexible
c) rooms - very good
d) food - JUST FAIR. they need to improve here and increase the menu list with quality. some days they didn't hv buffet. also no fruits.
e) activities - Fair - it needs to be increased especially during evening and for kids as well.
f) also need to have Gym, sauna facilities which were not there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just returned after a three week stay at the NEPTUNE, our fourth time at this hotel, but have stayed at many other hotels along the Mombasa coast.
Popular with guests from all over Europe and boasting a high percentage of repeat guests, but not many British.
Staff are warm and friendly and the overall service is good.
The quality and choice of food is typically of a three star Kenyan hotel and on the odd occasion that we did not fancy the menu an alternative was always offered.
Should you prefer to eat out there are several excellent restaurants in close proximity.
Typically British guests tend to be more critical of little things but in some areas the hotel does require to make improvements .Recent staff changes have impacted on the level of service compared to our previous visits.
Evening entertainment is interesting and typically Kenyan and the animation team do a very good job, however the volume of the music each morning for the water aerobics suggests the disc jockey is totally deaf, time to take a walk on the beach .

Room Tip: Superior rooms over looking the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal,uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have just returned from our seventh visit to this hotel over the past few years and apart from the great staff there is little to commend it anymore. The visit was in two parts comprising two weeks prior to Christmas and just over 4 weeks in January/ February.

During the first visit (December 2013 ) the food was adequate but as in 2013 there was a massive deterioration in choice and quality once January arrived. The menu was boring in the extreme and most days comprised fish, beef, lamb or sometimes pork. Beef was on the menu usually at both lunchtimes and dinner and tended to be very very tough. With the exception of the tomato soup the remainder were bland and more or less the same. At one stage there seemed to be a huge surplus of offal being offered.

For 3 days either someone forgot to turn on the soup heater or the thermostat was broken but staff did not notice for this entire period until I complained about getting cold soup every day. Ok when we complained to management about the poor food choice and quality we were told that the chef could cook us anything as an alternative. The choice was generally chicken and chips ! The exception was the chef from the south coast who made us some delicious imaginative dishes.

As has been mentioned in another review there is a snack kitchen next to the bar. The menu choice has been drastically altered for this Winter season and very little tasty food was on offer and this may have been deliberate so not much food had to be cooked. If so it worked as far fewer guests than usual had the snacks. I tried the snack menu 6 times as nothing for lunch in the main dining room appealed - Ox Tail for example. Every time the food was served cold. The last time I ordered just some chips and after 35 minutes I went to the hatch to see what had happened to my order as I had noticed chips being fried earlier. I was met with the response that I had not ordered and told the female cook to look in the order book. She then went to a container which held cooling chips and reluctantly got me some out and of course they had cooled down to luke warm.

My wife and I ate out on numerous occasions because of the choice and/or quality of food on offer and we noticed that many other guests also ate out for the same reasons.

As far as the room was concerned the sheets were normally grey and some days were so threadbare that they had tears and one day we gave over counting at over 20 big holes in the sheet. I would not expect to have to put up with such low quality bedding on a 50KS shillings a night doss house in Mtwapa never mind in a so called 3 star hotel. After we complained to the owners theses sheets were changed as were the very smelly green towels that had previously been provided in the room.

Over all we have seen a large decline in the general standards of the hotel and in particular the food and room fittings etc. Our tv was an ancient one and all channels were spotty and could not be seen clearly. This last year has seen a hefty increase in the price of the room which was not reflected in the service so sorry Neptune we will never visit again. I commented in a review last year that we were prepared to give it one last try to see if things had improved and unfortunately they had not.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune H, General Manager at Neptune Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Neptune Beach Resort. We are happy you chose our hotel for the seventh time as your preferred holiday destination, this alone shows that you were previously satisfied with the hotel services. However I apologize that this time round some services were not satisfactorily met as expressed in your review. The top Management is really concerned about your comments and some of the issues have already been addressed fully.

Neptune Beach Resort is a holiday destination of your choice evidently from the number of times you have visited, meaning you have been enjoying your previous stays with us. Please let this note be the benchmark to judge the entire performance of the hotel but rather take it as a mistake that was done by a human and can be corrected.

Again l apologize for such an experience and wish to welcome you back so as to give us a chance to correct our mistakes. Once again thank you for choosing our hotel for all these years and I welcome you back to Neptune Beach hotel.

Kind regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was our fourth visit to this hotel, for three weeks in a Superior Deluxe room (£672 supplement) in January, and I've just looked back at my reviews in 2011 and 2013. The hotel is still excellent although there are, of course, numerous steps between the garden and the ground floor, so it's not really suitable for anyone with mobility issues.
The staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for them.
However, last year I rated the food as "good to excellent" but the quality of the food has deteriorated during the last twelve months. In 21 lunchtimes, we ate at the pool snack bar six times because there was nothing attractive in the restaurant and in 21 dinners, I had soup only on 4 nights and nothing at all on 2 nights. I now rate it as "awful to adequate".
On our first visit, we thought it was magical and wonderful - the magic and the wonder are almost certainly still there,but on a fourth visit, you also notice the frayed and holed tablecloths and the rim-chipped cups and glasses.
We shan't be going back - this year was one visit too many.

Room Tip: We rate the Superior Deluxe rooms - four of them on the first floor overlooking the sea and worth th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune H, General Manager at Neptune Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your fourth visit to Neptune Beach Resort and we thank you for chosing our hotel as your preferred holiday of choice, however your recent visit did not meet your expectations. We are very much concerned about all the mentioned areas and we can asure you that we are doing everything possible to improve in all the areas which performed below your expectation. We kindly request you to give us another chance to serve you.

Thank you for this and we are looking forward to meeting you again some other times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The property place all was fab...then when we go for dinner....the waiters on the counter made me feel like i am begging for food that i have paid for i thought the 1st night may be he was in a bad mood.....this was a 3 day in a row exprience.....was horrible just coz m asian...alll tourist (sorry who where musungus) right infornt of me had all smiles as soon as i reach the line i had a diffrent treatment all together....i am kenyan from Nairobi staying in Mombasa and my own country people treating me with a diffrence.....ridiculous!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune H, General Manager at Neptune Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Vandana,

At the outset we would like to thank you for taking time to post your comments. It is your genuine and unbiased feedback that helps us to improve our product and services and we remain grateful for that.

I am really shocked and upset that you had to experience racial bias in the service you received from our Restaurant staff.

Whether perceived or real Neptune Hotels has a zero tolerance policy for such behavior.
We sincerely wish you had brought this to the attention of the management during your stay and we would have taken immediate corrective action. However, we investigated the matter and instituted corrective measures.

We thank you once again and hope to welcome you again to the world of Neptune hospitality.

Regards,

Richard Mulei
G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a wonderful time and all the staff where so helpful, the hotel was very clean and tidy and the food was well enjoyable. we will be returning soon. We look forward to seeing all the friends we have made on our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neptune Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Beach Resort

Address: Bamburi Beach | 83125, Mombasa, Bamburi, Mombasa, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bamburi
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bamburi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Neptune Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the silver sands of the Bamburi Beach, 14 km to the north of Mombasa City and approximately 24km from Moi International Airport, the resort offers all the comforts of home and maintains an open air feel due to its large reception and hallways. This resort is very popular with regular guests, offering very good service and a family atmosphere. Special highlight is the lush garden area and the new terrace with a view of the Indian Ocean. There are many quiet areas throughout the resort including the newly created “coffee shop” to offer you calm and relaxation. The generous lobby and the impressive halls create an open air feeling leaving you with plenty of room for your very individual holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Neptune Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Neptune Beach Hotel Bamburi
Neptune Beach Hotel
Neptune Beach Resort Kenya/Bamburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.