We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Neptune Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Neptune Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bamburi Beach | 83125, Mombasa, Bamburi, Mombasa, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Bamburi
Steenokkerzeel, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I can say that in general I liked this place as well. We had great welcoming with tasty cocktails. Our room 101 was really very spacy and nice. Big sitting area, very big balcony. Staff is very friendly. One min point: the variety of the food was very poor. Especially for the kinds nothing... But service was great. Every evening was some new animation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    76
    35
    7
    5
See reviews for
40
99
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very friendly staff, fun activities and entertainment. The hotel facilities are good for the price, not luxurious, but everything is clean and pleasant. The food was consistently terrible though, for this reason alone we would try a different hotel if we come back.The beach is nice, but there is a lot of seaweed, at low tide the sea is so far out and covered with sea urchins that you cannot swim, and the beach touts are incessant, which spoils it a bit. Despite these things we had a lovely holiday. Kenya is a beautiful country.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington, uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Sorry this is a late review. This was our 1st trip to Kenya. Well we picked the nicest hotel, small & very quiet,lovely location, lovely staff. Had no problem's with the food, infact we had a english breakfast most morning's, best one i've ever had. We ventured out of the hotel as we met 2 brothers, Joseph & Shengari, who took us into their villiage called Shanzou, brilliant people, brilliant hotel & staff . Unfortunately we loved it so much we have to go back. Even one of the security guard's ( Omar) came to say goodbye at 5.30 am. We took a little trip to the supermarket & bought some pen's, paper, school book's etc for his children. We did a 2 day 1 night safari which was perfect. Also a trip to Wassini island, saw wild dolphin's but be warned it's a Muslim Island so i couldn't have a drink for my 50th untill about 8pm !!! you can alway's take your own. We usually visit Cuba, but alway's wanted to see Kenya, it's a eyeopener , but you really can't go wrong with this hotel, also take no notice of people saying they had thing's stolen, maybe they did but was not staff, the monkey's get into your stuff & pinch it if you leave your door's open. Give this hotel a chance as it is really lovely x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal,uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have visited the Neptune for many years and this last visit was from 10 December 2012 until 31 January 2013 and agree with many of the recent comments.

The room was great, overall Simon the room boy did a good job and the staff as usual were just great whether they were cleaners, restaurant or bar etc .

However when we arrived in December and up until the New Year the food choices and quality were generally excellent.However after New Year it all went massively downhill. On one occasion totally raw meatballs were served and these were cold as was most of the food. This was not a one off and we had to complain many times about food not being hot. Generally the burners under the food were set too low or had been forgottenn about. Food was bland in the extreme and potatoes no matter how cooked were like hard bullets.

Prior to Winter 2012 Sunday lunches used to be the food highlight of the week but during our visit the curries were bland in the extreme with no hint of any spices etc so we often just used the snack bar.. Several times there was nothing on the menu either at lunch or dinner that appealed to my wife and myself and we were amongst those mentioned that dined out often elsewhere. The Indian food was consistenly excellent in the Travellers Hotel and just up the beach at Suli Suli the fillet steaks , prawn dishes etc were superb and very inexpensive compared with most Kenyan Restaurants.

A radical shake up of the restaurant is needed and we told Richard that in December for the class of hotel we rated the food at 4* but that after New Year it had gone down to 2*

Also during this long visit the DJ seemed out of touch. All he played was 50s and 60s music or rap and I asked him a few times to put different on such as some good Kikuyu, Lingala etc as were in Africa. He did not care and just wanted rap which the animators liked .

As has been mentioned, this January saw a large influx of Eastern Europeans mainly Polish people and the eating and drinking manners were in many instances horrible to see but this is no fault of the hotel.

We will probably return next winter but as mentioned the food needs to be sorted. I think that Kenyan hoteliers think that tourists will just continue to return but if they do not give value for money they will not as there are many places in the world with far better beaches, great food etc. It was very noticable this visit that the number of guests at the Bamburi Beach hotels was down compared with previous years so come on the powers that be get the Neptune back to what it was - a great hotel overall with a great staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We visited the neptune again for the third year running as we love Kenya, the staff and the rooms are great in this hotel.

Unfortunately this time we were disappointed with the selection of food, which was bland and boring and rarely hot enough. Due to this fact, most of the regular returning English visitors were booking to eat outside the hotel at the travellers indian restaurant, the moorings or la marina. There was always plain rice, undercooked boiled potatoes, bone stew, ox kidney casserole, fish which wasn't very nice as it had very little taste. On occasion you could put a decent dinner together but this was far and few between. Very disappointed with the food this year.
To top this off I contracted a 24 hour vomiting bug which by the time I got home had turned into nasty painful Gastroenteritis from which I am still suffering pain.

The staff were lovely as usual, The Professor, Gibson, Benson and the rest in the bar, and Steven and Leonard in the dining room were particularly helpful, unlike the two female staff, one was miserable as sin and the other as daft as a brush!

The room cleaner Simon did a fantastic job.

We might give this hotel one more chance to see if the food improves but to be honest, I doubt it will unless the other people who were there also complain, as a lot were also unhappy.

Another really annoying point is that all the drink mixers are FLAT! Always, and it's like drinkng sugar water. We didn't enjoy any alcoholic drinks due to this and stuck to water. The only bar person who always checked it was The Professor but it was obviously due to the poor equipment.

The pool staff Cosmos and Danson were marvellous as always.

The Gardener Omari is also worth a mention as he is such a lovely man and does a great job.

We will be thinkng very seriously about whether to give this hotel another chance due to the awful evening food selection. The breakfast was always good though and we never tried the food at lunch time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I have been to Kenya (Mombasa beaches) six times and this was our third stay here. That really is voting with one's feet! The superior de luxe rooms are great, the staff could not be more friendly and helpful and the food varied from acceptable to absolutely excellent - there were only two instances where we didn't fancy something on the lunch buffet so ate at the pool bar instead. There were more Eastern Europeans than in previous years, with their own habits and culture but they detracted from the overall wonderful holiday only slightly. We'll see all the staff and our fellow January guests there next year

Room Tip: We go for the superior de luxe rooms. There are four of them overlooking the sea (and the pool and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just returned from Neptune after a blissful 2 weeks.We have visited Kenya a number of times and this Hotel ranks above the rest.Service 5 Star food great atmosphere warm and very friendly nothing is too much trouble.We travelled with Cosmos and were a little worried about 1stop in Nairobi befor going on to Mombasa but it was no trouble Kenyan Airways rank amongst the best long haul airlines again helpful and very obliging staff always a smile BA can take some lessons.
Thomson and First Choice seem to have dropped Neptune for some reason I really don't know why It is brilliant come on Tui get your act together and promote Kenya its a gem

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Neptune Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Beach Resort

Address: Bamburi Beach | 83125, Mombasa, Bamburi, Mombasa, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bamburi
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bamburi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Neptune Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the silver sands of the Bamburi Beach, 14 km to the north of Mombasa City and approximately 24km from Moi International Airport, the resort offers all the comforts of home and maintains an open air feel due to its large reception and hallways. This resort is very popular with regular guests, offering very good service and a family atmosphere. Special highlight is the lush garden area and the new terrace with a view of the Indian Ocean. There are many quiet areas throughout the resort including the newly created “coffee shop” to offer you calm and relaxation. The generous lobby and the impressive halls create an open air feeling leaving you with plenty of room for your very individual holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Neptune Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Neptune Beach Hotel Bamburi
Neptune Beach Hotel
Neptune Beach Resort Kenya/Bamburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.