We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay @ Kahama Mombasa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kahama Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kahama Hotel to your Saves list
Kahama Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Malindi Road | P.O. Box 10626-80101, Bamburi, Mombasa, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Stay @ Kahama Mombasa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I had a terrific experience at the Kahama during my stay earlier this month. My taxi driver which was organised by the hotel was waiting for me although I arrived late. The hotel staff were friendly and attentive to my every need. I appreciated the complimentary water as I devoured this every day as it was very hot. The Masai(ambassador)was knowledgeable and I liked the fact that they escorted one to the beach as I was a single traveller. Value for money and I will definitely return again...Thank you once again...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_jean_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

All is excellent n wr are happy for everything
Suggestions you should put coffee in the rooms as u do iin kahama nairobi all ur staff are respectiful

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gracegathoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Last january I stayed here for 1week, and enjoyed it very much! As many of the other reviews ... great and clean rooms, big bathrooms with bathtube, feeling safe surrounding, very great sportsbar with nice staff (especially miss snack and miss terry)!
And Kenya can be hot, so the swimmingpool is right there to cool down!
And for those who want to know, girlfriendly as well!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sammypla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I really enjoyed staying in Kahamas, even though I had not initially planned to stay there.
I travelled there this summer and did not book in advance, but the staff were very kind to me and manage to get us rooms as we travelled with my mother.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside of the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Kahama guys you have done it and am sure still more to come keep it up and keep the clients happy at all time with nice good smiles i recieved the day i was there, i will recommend kahama to all my friends. Go on and keep Going on kahama the hotel with a change and what you require

Room Tip: Waaaaaoooooh Guys when in kahama "take the on the southern side they portray the African cultur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Couldn't ask much more for this price. Excellent staff, all of them. The level of service was comparable to a much higher class of hotel (that I'm used to). Nice rooms, comfortable beds and a functional split a/c.

What I missed? - In room internet (wired or wireless, free or paid, anything would have done), in room safe locker and fridge. But hey, I'm spoilt by far east asian hotels. So no complaints really. They have safe lockers down by the reception for approx 800 KES a day, and free wifi by the pool and at the restaurant. The free breakfast was adequate.

The sports bar downstairs serves some decent food. Try the Afro beef stew with rice. Excellent! Be prepared to wait a while for any order as they seem to take forever. A pot of masala tea took them 45 mins to prepare at 3pm, with just 4 other customers around. Be prepared to wait an hour for most stuff. The place seems quite popular in the evenings with a live band playing most nights.

I wouldn't recommend using the laundry for light shirts / delicate clothes. Use the dry cleaners at Nakumat shopping centre instead.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The hotel is located on the second row from the beach, but has easy access to it. One can also use the well maintained pool on the premises.

There is a popular pub next door that offers a variety of entertainement. Families with very young children might find the music disturbing.

The breakfast offered does not have much variety, however, its adequate and the staff are helpful and friendly. Room service is available at no extra charge.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esther k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.0 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.0 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Nyali
PrideInn Hotel Nyali
#52 of 56 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#21 of 56 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Mombasa
PrideInn Hotel Mombasa
#20 of 56 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Creekside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel

Address: Malindi Road | P.O. Box 10626-80101, Bamburi, Mombasa, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kahama Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kahama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahama Hotel Bamburi
Kahama Hotel Kenya/Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing