We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE REASON TO TAKE A HOLIDAY IN MOMBASA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahama Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kahama Hotel to your Saves list
Kahama Hotel
Malindi Road | P.O. Box 10626-80101, Bamburi, Mombasa, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Bamburi
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“THE REASON TO TAKE A HOLIDAY IN MOMBASA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Checked into the hotel on 29th April 2011 and stayed for 3 nights checking out on 2nd May 2011. At the rates that they are charging, I was pleasantly surprised at the quality and standard of the hotel.
They have a front office managed by excellent staff who are very well trained to deal with the guests. The rooms are big and tastefully furnished with very high standards of cleanliness. As much as I appreciated the tv's with the dstv connection in the rooms, I would request them to subscribe to a bouquet that has a wider variety of channel selections. There was hardly anything for for children or nature lovers.
I liked their wide variety of foods on the menue and I must say the food was very well prepared. The meat platters are very filling and I would recommend them to anyone who loves meat. Happy hour from 5 - 8 p.m - just great!
All in all, this is the best place to be on a low budget so now like me, you have no excuse not to travel to the coast.. It is affordable with five star qualities and very conveniently located.
Zepha the gentleman who operates a mini van as a cab service to the hotel is the person to ask for if you require taxi services.

You really made my stay enjoyable and I look forward to coming again soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    51
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
16
42
17
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I've been here for 10 days now and have been really pleased with the price/value ratio of this hotel. At <$US50/night it is a great deal. The Kahama Sports Bar is a great place to drink beer and watch football (soccer) and the menu is OK for a sports bar. But there are some great restaurants within walking distance (e.g., Il Covo, Yul's) or short taxi rides away (Moorings, La Marina, Monsoon).

The hotel service is friendly and reasonably efficient. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, modern and roomy. There were complaints about the hot water, but I only had one day out of 10 when I waiting until 0930 to shower and there was no hot water left. Given the heat of coastal Kenya, a cold shower (the water is not that cold) is welcome.
The hotel rented me a small refrigerator for 500Ksh more per day. A free one liter bottle of mineral water in the room was very welcome. The laundry works (same day).

There hotel has a nice clean pool - not too crowded and very private compared to the crowded beach a few minutes walk from the hotel.

The Sports Bar has free wifi internet services which reaches a few of the rooms, but you can sit around the pool and access the wifi (or sit in the bar).

There are taxis right at hand (Try Zepha - with the blue Toyota van) and fares are somewhat negotiable. Zepha does an airport pickup or drop off for 1,500 Ksh, while at the airport the taxis charge 2,000 Ksh to the hotel. So call the hotel ahead of time and request a pickup by Zepha.

There is a Nakumatt supermarket about 5 minutes way by taxi where you can stock up on most things you'll need.

There are live bands on weekends and the sports bar is quite crowded and lively. However, the music noise didn't really bother me in my room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen-Belgium
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

I was for the first time in the hotel from 28juin until 5july 2010. It was okay and went back for 17days in december.The room-doors are working with electronic card.The cleaning ladies can go in the room+1 card for the staff. In my room they stole 280euro,in the room from a Korean man they stole 360dollars.The manager even don't comes to speak with me,he plays "the innocent".Because the Korean man gave a tip to the Police,they spoke with the manager,and the man got 4days free.Me...i gave not a tip...is nothing free,even no excuses.When i said i will put it on internet,they asked at reception for not doing it. It's important to count your money every day,they steal only a part=very clever!Noisy at night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Not a bad place, only a couple of minutes walk from the beach. The problem is that no one really sits/lies on Bamburi beach as it's more like a sidewalk for traders, camels and touts, so not being in a beachfront hotel is more of a disadvantage than it might seem. The other potential problem is that it's kind of noisy, with the Kahama sports bar blasting out music until the wee hours. It's a fun place but not very conducive for early nights of deep sleep. So, yes, it's much better value than the beachside hotels - but must the management plaster the rooms and signs with the words budget and cheap? Ultimately, it made me feel kind of cheap.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahamaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Kahama Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Did we mention it's cheap? (October 24, 2010)

Thanks Usshi for the above post - Kahama Hotel highly values any feedback we can get from our valued Guests !

Kahama Hotel is unashamed to declare to the world that we aim to provide "Low Cost" and affordable high quality hotel rooms because that is exactly what our business mission is !

However, we do sincerely apologize if it came across to you as "Cheap or Budget" everywhere - we have never used those words but instead use "Low Cost" because that is the truth. We have also looked into and acted on the noise issue with corridor and extra room sound proofing ... for that we sincerely apologize again.

We sincerely thank you and all the thousands that have chosen to make Kahama Hotel their place of choice to stay in Mombasa, Kenya.

We aim to keep improving the services Kahama Hotel provides to you and all it's wonderful guests !

Asante Sana (Thank You So Much) ....... The Kahama Team !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

I was shopping for an affordable and excellent hotel to stay for a three day getaway with my girlfriend and was lucky to come across kahama.... great place.

I book at k1 in Nairobi At KShs. 3950 BB for a double bed was a bargain out of this world, you cant find this anywhere else! If you are not driving, from Mombasa town center to kahama you can take a taxi between Kshs 600 - 1000.

The services are excellent. Could not ask for more.

Things to do include swimming (free) or visiting the beach which is five minutes away. At the beach we hired a boat to take us to marine park (Kshs 100 entry fee and between Kshs 1000-2000 for hiring the boat)... they boys will also take you swimming and will provide all need gadgets. This was one of the most enjoyable activities we took.

Kudos guys.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahamaHotel, General Manager at Kahama Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Great Services - Kudos (October 19, 2010)

Asante Sana Githome for the above post.

Kahama Hotel highly values any feedback from it's valued Guests.

We shall keep working towards improving the services we offer and strive towards remaining affordable yet providing high quality.

Asante Tena from the Kahama Team !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

nice room, very clean ,fantastic staff in one word for me the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Friendly people at the reception, clean and spacious rooms with mosquito nets, every day you get a bottle of water, tv and free internet! 5 minutes walk to the beach. Breakfast included. Popular by african people, not many european people, what we liked veryu much! There is also a bar and restaurant, in the weekends there is a lot of music in the bar, it can be noisy but the music stops at 12.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kahama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahama Hotel

Address: Malindi Road | P.O. Box 10626-80101, Bamburi, Mombasa, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bamburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kahama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahama Hotel Bamburi
Kahama Hotel Kenya/Bamburi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahama Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.