We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“villa Kamenica revisited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Kamenica

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Comisa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Kamenica
Save
You added Villa Kamenica to your Saves list
Mihovila Pavlinovica 15, Comisa, Island of Vis, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Comisa B&B and Inns
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“villa Kamenica revisited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is our second time to stay at Villa Kamenica, not only because we felt in love with this place, the villa, garden and beautiful Komiza, but also because of our great hosts: Tomo, Zeljka, and their dog Duje, who was persistently chased by our four year old son. This is a great place for those who are looking for a calm and relaxing vacation, and we would suggest it, not only to families with kids ( such us), but to couples as well. Tomo and Zeljka are host who will always respect your privacy, but they are 24h on your disposal if you need anything.
Tomo used to wait for us to take us to Komiza, first time when we were coming from Vis two years ago, and he pick us up as well from Rukavac, where we've stayed before Komiza, which is quite far.
Vila's garden is so well maintained, you can see that they've put a lot of effort and their love in it. There is even jacuzzi hot tub, hidden deeper inside the garden, covered with pergola and curtains, very tastefully arranged. Beside is a garden sitting set, where you can drink a coffee or read a book under open air, while enjoying the aroma of lavender in the air.

Like I said in my first review two years ago, who visit Kamenica once, will visit it again for sure.. And we did... and will do again....Thank you Tomo, Thank you Zeljka, Thanks Duje.

Room Tip: All rooms are testefully arranged, have AC, terrace, and you will sleep well. All have equipped kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
60
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We cannot recommend staying at Villa Kamenica enough!

Tomislav was fantastic, so friendly and welcoming as was his lovely little dog Duje! It is an absolutely beautiful villa, a short walk to the beach and a lovely little harbour with restaurants, we went hiking aswell and saw some great views!

In short if you go to Vis stay at Villa Kamencia!

Meg and Charlotte

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed in Bella room
Simply appointed, adequate for us for a few nights, nice little view of Adriatic
Tomislav is a wonderfully warm and kind host. His wife and he deserve their accolades.
Thank you for the walnut brandy and limoncello top ups.

Room Tip: Bella room is fairly small but well appointed. Small bath tub with hand held shower. We booked via b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I booked a stay at Villa Kamenica for my honeymoon, my wife and I spent 5 days in Split before travelling out to VIs to stay at the Villa. We booked the apartment Eugen back in August, however, when we arrived they seemed to have no knowledge of our booking.

Zeljka was at the villa although it is Tomislav who handles the bookings (he was in Split). I spoke to Tomislav on the phone but it seemed that he thought it was my error and that perhaps we had the wrong villa or dates. We didn't.

After around an hour of sitting in the villa and speaking to various people on the phone Zeljka gave us a bottle of wine and took us next door to a friends house where we were offered accommodation, they weren't ready for guests but it was somewhere to sleep. Tomislav & Zeljka did offer for us to use the facilities at Villa Kamenica but we did not want to, it was too much for us to have gone there when we had been looking forward to the stay for almost 10 months.

We were also invited back for a fish dinner at the Villa but again this did not make us feel comfortable so we politely declined. It was clear that they were upset by their mistake and wanted to do something to make up for it, we did accept a meal at Bako in Komiza which they paid for, which was a nice gesture.

From what I saw of the villa the garden looked lovely and by how upset Zeljka was it was clear that they put their heart into running the villa, all of this, however, does not make up for the fact that they let us down and spoiled a large part of a honeymoon that I had been planning & looking forward to for 10 months.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We've just returned from 5 nights at Villa Kamenica and had a wonderful stay. We stayed in apartmnent Bella, which has a good sized balcony with table and chairs, which looks over the picturesque gardens, town and the sea. The room itself has a comfortable double bed, little kitchenette with fridge, stove and sink and the ensuite bathroom has a small bath with hand held shower, toilet and sink.

The grounds of the apartments are divine. Luscious lemon trees surround the property and at the bottom of the garden is a wonderful outdoor jacuzzi with gorgeous sun loungers. The hosts, Tomislav and Zeljka are truly wonderful people - very friendly and hospitable - and eager to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They manage the fine balance of friendly and hospital, without bordering on intrusive. Their cute little dog, Duje, is a treasure too! They allowed us to use their bikes to explore the surrounding town of Komiza, which is a delightful little fishing village, with gorgeous views from the hills down to the harbour. There are a handful of pizzerias, fish restaurants and cafe's which are all very friendly with excellent food and service.

This place is an absolute gem. If you're looking to get away from the crowds of the mainland and enjoy real peace and quiet in stunning surroundings with warm, friendly hostS, Villa Kamenica is THE place stay. Thank you Tomislav, Zeljka and Duje for a wonderful holiday - we will be back soon!

Jemma and Tom.



Tomislav aslo bought out a try of cherry brandy and home made lemonade from their lemon trees whilst we were realxing by the jacuzzi one afternoon - bliss!

On leaving the apartment, Tomislav drove us to the ferry port at 6am, stopping off to take some photographs along the way.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bella, whcih is perfect for a young couple or solo traveller. It has a lovely balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying for a long holiday weekend in early May at Villa Kamenica. To begin with, May is the perfect time of year to visit Vis-there are hardly any tourists whatsoever, and the weather is hot and sunny. Komiza and Villa Kamenica exceeded our expectations in every way. Tomislav and Zelijka are perfect hosts, affording you plenty of privacy but still around to lend a helping hand, provide you with a pre-dinner apertif, or make you a lovely lunch of grilled fish. Komiza (and Vis in general) remind me of what the south of France or the Greek islands looked like 20 years ago before the mass tourist influx. Komiza is like a fishing village out of a film-everyone is friendly and helpful, and it has everything you need with small-town charm. The garden house we stayed ticked all the boxes: your own private patio in the wonderful garden, a fully-stocked kitchen, WLAN, satellite TV, modern bathroom, and a comfy bed. Both Villa Kamenica and Vis are highly recommended-you will not regret your visit to this dream island!

Room Tip: Garden house is lovely and private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was a really wonderful week. Our family found this a really helpful and friendly place to stay. Tomislav fixed bikes And dropped us back at he harbour. Really worth a visit. The town itself is wonderful and much friendlier than other places on he island. Plenty of good food and places to go.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Kamenica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kamenica

Address: Mihovila Pavlinovica 15, Comisa, Island of Vis, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Island of Vis > Comisa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Comisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Villa Kamenica Hotel Comisa
Villa Kamenica Island Of Vis, Croatia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Kamenica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.