We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our Mas Jasmin Villa Experience in Old Provence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mas Jasmin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lussan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mas Jasmin
Save
You added Mas Jasmin to your Saves list
Hamlet Vendras | Lussan Nr Uzes, 30580 Lussan, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MAY 2015 10% DISCOUNT
Sacramento, CA
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved our Mas Jasmin Villa Experience in Old Provence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

Very fortunate to have just had a wonderful experience that was a "girls only" vacation with my mother, sister and Aunt at Le Mas de Jasmin in October.

I remember wanting to pinch myself upon entering the door of the villas courtyard and seeing such a beautiful site of old stone buildings, a fountain and relaxing courtyard ! (even a large heated pool) All of this being very private in a residential village in a quaint area called Vendras.

It is a perfect way to vacation. There are two buildings. The main one called Mas Jasmin; encompasses 2 bedrooms ensuite and had the kitchen, living, dining area and patio upstairs. Across the courtyard is another building called Petite Jasmin, where my sister and I stayed. Of course we needed to toss a coin to determine who stayed in the upstairs or downstairs location.......by the way, no one was dissapointed in their charming rooms that were very tastefully decorated and had the french country flair we love !

I would definitely recommend this as a perfect way for two or more couples to share as well..Everyone has their own unique bedroom with private bath and can certainly share the main house with the kitchen and living area.

After days visiting markets and sites in nearby Uzes, Lussan, Avignon, Aix en Provence and Gordes we would come home and share fine wine and cook wonderful meals together.

All in all it was a wonderful experience that we would definitely do again. My lucky Aunt stayed an entire month !!! She did not want to leave !

The only thing I would do different is stay longer and soak up more of the wonderful ambiance that Old Provence has to offer !

I am a seasoned traveler and I really thought the villa experience at Mas Jasmin was an excellent value and beats staying in a hotel. But why stay in a hotel when you have a Villa !!??

Suzanne
Roseville/Granite Bay CA

  • Liked — Privacy...nicely decorated rooms and private baths ensuite.....convenient to nearby towns, shopping restaurants, markets and local services overall a very quiet place for a getaway
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind.....but possibly more lighting in the bathrooms. (especially for us women)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

Our group of seven stayed at the Mas de Jasmine during the final two weeks of October, 2008. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.
The villa is as good as indicated in the web site photographs. It is charming, extremely clean, well furnished and decorated, and located in a quiet rural hamlet. The private central courtyard, the attractive stone works and the large garden only add to the pleasure of one's stay.
John and Julie Milligan were the ideal hosts. They graciously welcomed us on our arrival, gave us a tour of the immediate area, and helped us cope with minor problems. They live within the villa, and so were close when needed, but never obtrusive.
Vendras is very well located for those who wish to visit the nearby towns and villages of Languedoc and Provence, as well as the slightly more distant historic cities such as Avignon, Nimes, Aigues-Mortes, Aix-en-Provence, and Carcasonne. There are literally dozens of wineries within a hundred kilometer radius.
The weather during our stay was frequently rainy and unseasonably cool. Nonetheless, there were enough pleasant, sunny days to allow us to see all the places we wished. We would not hesitate in recommending the Mas de Jasmine for groups of adults seeking the perfect southern France vacation.

Bob Lyman
Ottawa, Canada

  • Liked — Its comfort and location.
  • Disliked — The stairs are potentially dangerous for small children.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful break at Le Mas de Jasmin with our 2 daughters. Our friends flew out from the UK to join us after the first week and we all had the most relaxing, fun-filled holiday. The property is spotless, beautifully-presented and ideally located for peace & quiet, yet still within easy reach of all the best places of interest in the area. The owners, John & Julie, are delightful and John even took us out in his trusty 4x4 on an orientation field trip to give us a feel of the area and point out places of interest on the morning after our arrival. How`s that for service? Thanks John!!! The view from the top of Mount Bouquet is unmissable. You also have to visit Uzes and wander around the narrow streets brimming with little shops, cafes, markets and ancient history. We also took a trip up to Rochegude, which is on the way to Barjac. Get out of your car, walk up through the winding little lanes and experience a haven of tranquillity. Our fave place to eat was at Verfeuil. Situated at the edge of the road, it doesn`t look like much, but the food and service are superb. There are lovely little art and craft shops only yards away, so wander in and enjoy!

  • Liked — Rustic French charm with all the comforts of home
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynedd
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

We have just returned from spending a month at Mas de Jasmin and it was as near to perfect as anything could be.

Having earlier read the reviews, a sceptic might be tempted to think that John and Julie had penned them themselves, but, if anything, the reviews do not do it justice. In particular, John and Julie were the perfect hosts, welcoming, friendly and always helpful.

The Gite itself is very well equipped, it is comfortable and also large enough to spirit yourself away for a quiet hour or two if you want.

Having returned to a cold, wet, Welsh autumn the memories of lazy breakfasts of croissants and coffee on the terrace are needed to see us through the winter ahead.

A super place.

  • Liked — It suited the family group, with everyone having their own private spaces.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

We had a most wonderful stay at Mas Jasmin! It is so incredible, so well cared for and beautiful! The rooms are large and comfortable and beautifully decorated. The area is full of interesting things to do and see and it is also perfect for that quiet get-a-way. Julie and John were the most accommodating hosts. We have never been treated so royally or so well! I cannot say enough good things about Mas Jasmin and the lovely couple who own and love it!

  • Liked — Well cared for, beautifully decorated, kind and helpful owners
  • Disliked — nothing to put here- it was all great!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward Island
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

Six of us travelled together to southern France, staying for a week at Mas Jasmin in late April. There is no point in repeating what other reviewers have said except to say that we agree with them completely. John and Julie Milligan are gracious and thoughtful hosts, providing a fine reception and excellent information on the local area complete with helpful maps.

Vendras is off the beaten track which fact may be initially disappointing. But any disappointment evaporates in the beauty and quiet of the accommodations and the discovery of what turns out to be a fascinating locale. Small roads run off in every direction, suddenly changing to switch-backs as you ascend a mountain or drive down into a valley.

While other reviewers mention Uzes and Alés as interesting towns nearby, we found Barjac, Fons sur Lussan, and Lussan itself to be absolutely captivating. “Fons” has one small and delightful grocery store well stocked with bagettes, local meats and fresh vegetables and of course very high quality and inexpensive wines. Lussan, built on a hilltop affording views all over the country, boasts a nice little epicerie in the middle of the ancient town and an auberge whose restaurant has a fine reputation but which, unfortunately, was closed for the week we were there.

For our three couples, Mas Jasmin turned out to be ideal. Each of the very private and quiet bedrooms had its own ensuite facilities, all of a standard to which North Americans have become accustomed. That left a fourth bedroom, again with ensuite facilities, which would have comfortably housed a fourth couple had one been travelling with us. The kitchen, living area, and balcony provide plenty of room as well as all cutlery, plates, bowls, cups, glasses and cooking utensils for eight people.

Given that the six of us all feel there is too much of this great world we haven’t seen, we’re unlikely to relive the experience of staying in Vendras, France. However, we are all left with fond memories of John and Julie and Mas Jasmin and highly recommend it to you.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

We, 4 couples, stayed at Le Mas de Jasmin for two weeks this past September and had a fabulous time..
Julie and John were fantastic hosts, the Mas is so well run we hardly saw them, but when we did need them they were available. An example of this is when the local supermarket had run out of charcoal. We asked John where to find some and he had a bag of charcoal for us within a very short time so we were able to enjoy the barbeque.
We strongly recommend you use the book that Julie and John have put together. It has been referred to as the bible and we can vouch for that. We used it religiously for trip suggestions and the maps were very helpful.
Talk to John about the nearby fishing - stalked trout and salmon, it was amazing. We did this at the end of our stay and wished we had done it earlier as we would have gone a few more times, 8 beautiful trout cost about 16 EU and what an amazing meal to do on the barbeque
We did one large grocery shop at the supermarket in Ales, but found the small one in Uzes really had everything we needed. The town of Fons Sur Lussan is a short distance from Vendras, walking distance is about 10 to 15 minutes , this is where we picked up our daily baguettes and spent a Sunday morning at a Fete. The largest town in the area, Uzes, is about a 20 minute drive. We definitely suggest going to market in Uzes on Saturday What a great fun filled day - lots of fresh produce, fish and meats and shopping, wonderful linens etc. Go early. Uzes also has wonderful restaurants – the south of France blessed us with their love of food.
The Mas was a super place for its location. We did day trips to every possible town and city in the area and were home each night to cook dinner in the well equipped kitchen. Avignon and Nimes are about an hour drive and the Pont du Gard is not that far. The entire area is picture perfect and yes there is a shepherd who herds his sheep through this wonderful little hamlet called Vendras each night.
There are really no complaints about the Mas except the bikes were a bit of a disappointment, but the pool was wonderful and we were able to take in a swim and relax a number of times during our stay. Most rooms were very comfortable with ensuite baths and hot water was abundant – we felt totally relaxed and at home within a very short time and were sad to leave at the end of our two weeks.
Thank you Julie and John for making us feel so welcomed and at home.

  • Liked — It was home away from home
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mas Jasmin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Jasmin

Address: Hamlet Vendras | Lussan Nr Uzes, 30580 Lussan, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Gard > Lussan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lussan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAS JASMIN self catering holiday home south of France, close to the famous historical town of UZES. Our region is rich in historical attractions including LE PONT DU GARD, Roman aqueduc. NIMES and its ROMAN COLOSSEUM, AVIGNON and its PALACE OF THE POPES, LE GORGE DE L'ARDECHE are just a few of them. RENTAL RATES PER WEEK FOR 4 PEOPLE FROM 650.00€ TO 1750.00€ MAS JASMIN is constructed in Provencal stone, several of the rooms have vaulted ceilings typical of the area. The superb accommodation comprises of 2 en-suite bedrooms, for parties of up to 4 people. It's also possible to increase the size of a party by adding one or two further en-suite bedrooms therefore accommodating 6 or 8 people in total. ALL AMMENITIES ARE EXCLUSIVE TO ONE PARTY THERE IS NO SHARING WITH OTHER RENTERS. Very large and bright living accommodation on the first floor provides ample comfortable seating, large flat screen TV with English channels. Video library with a good choice of films. Dining area and very well equipped kitchen, cooker, microwave, fridge freezer, washing machine. Covered terrace overlooking the Roman style inner courtyard for Al fresco dining. FREE WI-FI internet connection. Large swimming pool, private enclosed garden, Barbecue area in the garden with ample seating. Set in a peaceful Hamlet close to a village with very well equipped bread and grocery supplies. Perfect touring location. Rented by the week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mas Jasmin France/Lussan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mas Jasmin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.