We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Grande Romaine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lesigny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de Grande Romaine
Save
You added Chateau de Grande Romaine to your Saves list
77150, Lesigny, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great family experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Like others I was dubious after reading some negative reviews. In the end I concluded that these were probably sent in by disaffected teenagers who didn't know a good thing when they found it. We went with teenage grandchildren and found the accommodation simple but clean, the food very good and the staff superb. The price made it great value for money. The only real let down was a hot August day at Disneyland, but it was included in the price! I would strongly recommend this centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    21
    11
    12
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were a party of Primary School children visiting CGR for 1 week on an educational visit. We arrived quite late in the evening and so we had little choice for dinner, what we had was tasty and filling. The Chateau was full and so we stayed in one of the rooms meant for the children. The room was no 5* hotel but it was spacious and relatively clean. There were two bunk beds, a chest of drawers and a wardrobe, a separate toilet and bathroom with shower. I think the rooms could do with a bit of a refurb. they weren't dirty but were a bit tatty. The bed linen was spotlessly clean !

The main building holds the dining room, activity rooms, small shop, staff room and bar and is again very clean but a little tired looking.

I found the food very nice, but I eat most things and think anyone who has specific tastes may struggle. We even got a chance to try snails (which are surprisingly nice) there was always fresh bread, salad and fruit available......there was also wine on the staff tables and again in the staff room, with some beautiful cheeses.

The staff at the Chateau are very friendly and any little niggles are quickly sorted. The activities are great, our children loved the archery, climbing wall and camp fire. On our last night there was a disco for the children which they enjoyed.

The location is very good, being relatively close to most places....leave in plenty of time to get to attractions though as the roads get very very busy and a 20 minute drive can easily turn into 90 mins if you hit traffic.

To sum up I would say this was a fantastic opportunity for the children to try some things they will never do again....I wouldn't hesitate taking another group next year. Although the place could do with a bit of a refurbishment.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and had alot of noise from upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I went with my school to Paris and the hotel was horrendous. For starters, the beautiful chateau wasn't where we stayed. It was a horrible building behind, with small rooms and uncomfortable beds. Even the bathroom door couldn't open from the inside, so someone had to be in the room all the time to open the door for you. Also, the food tasted like rubber, and you payed fines for the elastic on the window coming loose or losing the key to your room. They shouted at you, as though we didn't pay for the trip! But, the trips out were amazing. From the trip of Paris, to the day at Parc Asterix, going out was the best thing of the trip.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Uk
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My daughter went to this hotel with her school for a trip to Paris, the pictures we had been shown at the information evening show an impressive chateau, how wrong...... My daughter text me upon arrival and said it was like a prison camp, the room was filthy with bugs, flies, spiders all over, the bathroom door wouldnt open unless you pushed really hard and a friend had to wait outside until they were ready to come out so that they could push against the door to open it again, the beds were awful and the top bunk broke in the night falling onto the bottom bunk, the girls had to share the remaining bunk. The food on the first day was chicken but was raw so my daughter didnt eat, after not eating properley for 24 hours this was the only meal that there was so she went hungry only to find that the breakfast wasnt much better, stale bread, stale cereal no milk. The pictures show a lovely chateau but they actually stayed in a block around the back which is certainly nothing like as described, very misleading. I feel the schools need to complain to PGL as this is false advertising and misleading to parents and children. My children have stayed in PGL in Oswestry and have had fantastic and clean accomodation. I am seriously considering whether to send my middle daughter in 2yrs time unless something drastic is done. I am very disappointed and quite angry that I have paid over $450 for this trip and they had to endure filthy accomodation like this, shame on you PGL, not even a -5*.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Food was Discusting and i hated the rooms as there where bugs and dirt all over the room the staff where boring and didnt realy help us. It is false advertisement the hotel shown on the PGL website where not real as you stay in a block round the back of the building shown and if you went up the staff only staitrs you get fined 10 euros and if you loose your room pases you get fined 10 euros and everything is a fine. HOWEVER We had a great time in paris and the trip was great apart from the hotel.

Room Tip: Bring an extra pillow with you and bring some spare food as the food is terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

i have been with school for almost a week and the all round trip was amazing. the dormitories were good but basic and the activities on a night were also fun. The only bad thing was the food- the breakfasts were quite boring and some of the bread was stale- though it did serve snails that were good to eat and to experience french food. Overall i really enjoyed my stay at the chateau and would happily go again with school.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough, Lancs
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I have just returned with a party of 48 students and four colleagues from this excellent accommodation. WE were so impressed with the facilities, the food and the high standards set by the staff who work there. The reviews I had read before travelling were clearly written by students who had been expecting a 5 star hotel. Our boys had no complaints about any aspect of their stay.
The chateau is situated about 40 mins from Paris, on the edge of a village close to a major motorway. The building has an interesting history. There are several lowrise outbuildings which constitute the bedrooms. Our group was lodged in Marne in 7 bedded rooms (all ensuite). Teachers' rooms were comfortable and clean. The main building has a Summer outdoor swimming pool, a teachers' lounge, a bar, meeting rooms, a games room, a shop and a huge dining room. Outside are areas for archery, several courts for basketball, a football pitch, climbing and abseiling walls and a woodland.
We spent a morning doing the outdoor activities. These were wellrun and fun. Many of our group were new to these sports and confidence was boosted by the ability to achieve something new. We also engaged in a crepemaking evening and a disco with a group of girls. We had a session playing football against a Kenyan team on our final evening. At all times the staff related well to our group, quickly learning their names. They worked so hard for us to get the most out of our time there. Our day guide Nick came out with us to Paris on two days. His commentary was entertaining and informative and was presented on the right level for the students. He did a quiz, jokes and a guided tour, taking the strain from us teachers. He was also able to advise the driver on several points. What a great asset! On return on the Saturday he set up the crepes, out of his own hours. On the Sunday we persevered to get up the Eiffel Tower after it had been closed by a demo the day before. Dan organised the other aspects of our stay as far as activities were concerned. He and Ryan were also just great.
Food is varied, plentiful and of a very high standard. Breakfast is croissants, pains au chocolat, cereals, fruit, yogurt and juices. For packed lunch students build their own sandwich, so there is far less waste. This comes with water, a biscuit and crisps. Dinner consists of soup, two meat options, a vegetarian option, salad, dessert and cheese. There is wine and additional cheese for the teachers.
We wouldn't hesitate to revisit! Well done PGL!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Grande Romaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Grande Romaine

Address: 77150, Lesigny, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Lesigny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lesigny
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château de Grande Romaine is a children's residential centre on the outskirts of Paris, set in 70 acres of its own grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De Grande Romaine Hotel Lesigny
Chateau De Grande Romaine lésigny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Grande Romaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.