We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good enough!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hull South Cave

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Cave
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travelodge Hull South Cave
Save
You added Travelodge Hull South Cave to your Saves list
A63 Eastbound, Beacon Service Area | South Cave, Humberside, South Cave HU15 1RZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Cave
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Basic but good enough!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed for a night to break up the journey whilst heading up north. Basic rooms but cheap and clean, reception staff were great and very friendly.

Bed was a little too soft but sheets were clean and plenty of pillows!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    38
    17
    16
See reviews for
36
39
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Creswell, uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had read some very mixed reviews about this particular Travelodge and decided to turn up and ask if we could see a room first, rather than book online. The lady on reception was most helpful and happily showed us the room we could have, prior to making our reservation. It was very clean, even had a lovely clean smell, every bit as good as any other Travelodge we've visited and the lady who helped us on the desk that day (Mon 5/8/13) was terrific.
We don't understand why some people have given this place a poor review !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Having never stayed in a travelodge before we thought we would give them a try as this was more expensive than some other companies we expected the same if not better standard . It turned out to be very basic and with nothing remotely near to it other than a petrol station where we could get any food . The room was so basic it didn't have a picture on the wall or anything like a hair dryer . The bathroom floor hadnt been cleaned although the rest of the room was adequate although not in anyway luxurious .
The car park had numerous workmen drinking out of bottles ( alcohol) and was almost full of white vans - the standard this hotel caters for . The reception staff wasn't very welcoming and obviously didn't enjoy her job !
We wouldn't return , would have rather travelled the 80 or so miles to get back home if we had to .
The Bed had seen better days and was very uncomfortable .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stated here in a family room on 20th june 2013.
The girl on reception was polite and gave us the key to our room. Very basic, the sheets and towels were clean the the bathroom and bedroom were tierd , paint chipped off the skirting boards, tiles chipped in the bathroom. The rooms need refurbishing thats all. Its a shame the Little Chef has closed down. Dont think we would stay again
One good thing there is free parking in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Cave hotels

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Clean rooms, helpful staff, and thats it!

Usual tea and coffee factilities, a shipped in breakfast can be provided or you can visit the Shell Garage next door. The Little Chef that was next door has gone. This might be ok for the weary businessman just wanting a bed for the night, but our familiies faces fell when we arrived. There is NOTHING!!!!

Rooms were VERY VERY warm, i know it it warm weather but we were roasting! Didnt fancy opening windows to listen to the dulcet tones of Transport so we sweated it out...

Come on Travellodge, get a pub or something up and running next door and you can do better. Fair price but could do with "SOMETHING" nearby.

Room Tip: Pay more and go elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop Notts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This Travelodge is ideal for discovering the Yorkshire Wolds and various villages. When I checked in a young lady called Clare was extremely helpful and had good customer care skills. She had given me a nice room with various wildlife outside my window but after that what can I say. The room was very noisy from the people above and when I mentioned this to the manager she did offer to help me change rooms but why should I the upstairs people needed reminding to keep the noise down. The first pillow I had smelt of cigarette smoke so much so that I had to change it. Another time I came back in the evening to find my room had not been cleaned, cups not washed, towels not changed, bins not emptied and the receptionist called Paula very kindly came and did it all I had made the bed before I went out. Needless to say that I won't be staying there again. I have stayed in so many Travelodges and this was the worst to date. As someone else remarked the beds are too soft and one ends up with backache. I wasn't even offered any compensation.

Room Tip: I am sorry I cannot give any tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This Travelodge has obviously been here a while and has out survived the Little Chef which languishes next door, empty. The service was very good with helpful and cheerful staff. The rooms are ok but a little tired. The tv's are old and don't have a remote control anymore. However the beds are not bad and importantly clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Hull South Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hull South Cave

Address: A63 Eastbound, Beacon Service Area | South Cave, Humberside, South Cave HU15 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > South Cave
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Cave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 133
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hull South Cave Hotel South Cave
Kingston-Upon-Hull Travelodge
Kingston-Upon-Hull Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Kingston-Upon-Hull
Travelodge Kingston-Upon-Hull
Travelodge Hull South Cave England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hull South Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.