We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poignant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vimy Memorial

Vimy Memorial
Vimy Ridge National Historic Site of Canada, 62580 Vimy, France
03 21 50 68 68
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Vimy
Type: Monuments/ Statues
Attraction Details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Poignant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is an excellently tended site that commemorates the battle for Vimy Ridge and, more broadly, Canada's role in WWI. The Canadian guides were knowledgeable and helpful. I would recommend this to anyone interested in Canadian military history or, for that matter, any Canadian.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    26
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George's, Grenada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A true tribute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We drove from Lille to Vimy and were astonished to see this massive and impressive memorial in the far distance. As we drove closer, we were dwarfed by its size. This monument is a wonderful tribute to all those Canadians who lost their lives here in World War 1. The Canadian student guides were excellent and we would highly recommend this tour.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Canadian Memorial at Vimy Ridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Quite a striking monument....massive scale but the sculptures of human forms seem real and personal and evoke emotion. One of the most moving WWI memorials in France and interesting to see a Canadian memorial. The view was outstanding as the memorial is set in the beautiful French countryside.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Full marks Canada.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

‘Lest we forget’. We never will provided places like this, the Menin Gate, the hundreds of war grave cemetery’s (for both sides) and the numerous other memorials, are maintained to this standard.

The Canadian Government are to be commended for the investment they continue to make to commemorate the ‘investment’ their men, killed, disfigured or simply wounded, made during the fighting at Vimy Ridge. It is a chilling place to visit and see just how close the two forward trenches were to each other, a half competent cricketer would have no problem lobbing a grenade between them. One can only imagine how horrendous it must have been to have to ‘go over the top’ in the face of unspeakable enemy fire.

We might not forget, the trouble is we never appear to learn!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely memorial on WWI battlefield trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Visited with a group of school children on a battlefield trip. This memorial was worth the visit - extremely well maintained, lovely location and incredible to look at. The Canadian volunteers that help here are very informative and happy to answer questions. They ensure utter respect is shown surrounding the memorial.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vimy Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Vimy Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vimy Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vimy Memorial to your Saves list