We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & location -disappointing restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Kings Hotel to your Saves list
The Kings Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Road, Stokenchurch, High Wycombe HP14 3TA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokenchurch
Essex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel & location -disappointing restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, reasonable prices (a bit inflated at the bar) my biggest disappointment was the restaurant, Good quality food but if you like eating in pub surroundings with kids running around and a fair amount of noise then this is the place for you.

Sadly, for me after a long day traveling around the south if England I prefer to unwind and eat in a "less busy" environment where I can collect my thoughts.

Perhaps a designated ' quiet ' eating area for residents would be an idea?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    102
    50
    25
    41
See reviews for
45
130
3
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had family stay here in a smoking room (yes they do smoking rooms) but it resembled a shoebox and for the price that they were charged even on a special rate it was very disapointing.
We have eaten here a few times but not really good for the money as you can go to lots of pubs and in my oppinion eat better.
It has a public bar that the restaurant seating sits infront and to the side so if all you want is a drink and snack there are only a couple of places to sit inside, it has a deck area at the front that sits into the car park with a view onto the main A40.
The staff are in attendance but the service is not great, they're not particularly helpful or friendly. Its a shame really it looks like it could be a great place from the outside but something isn't quite right on the inside.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be woken by music from the decking first thing in the morning make this a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a stopover to visit hellfire caves and Bicester shopping village, the hotel exceeded my expectations. We had the kings room 113,it was stylish,spacious and very clean, its definitely worth paying extra for an executive room.We had our evening meal in the restaurant, the food was great,served quickly and good value. All the staff were fantastic, really polite and helpful.We will definitely be returning to stay in the future.

Room Tip: Pay extra for an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night and got room 228( one of their smoking rooms). The room itself was very small but had everything we needed. Only a couple of problems and they are that the floor creaked very badly and noisily everytime you moved and because the room was in the eaves I spent most of my time crouched over trying not to bang my head on the very steeply sloping ceiling. We had a meal which was actually very good with very good service but if we ever stayed here again I would make sure not to get this room.

Room Tip: Don't go in Room 228
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, now it has been refurbed in recent times. It looks great and the food is now of a very high standard. Great for a quiet drink or visit the sports bar to chill with the game on. We have had Sunday lunch here and snacks both were really great quality. There's a great bit of decking to enjoy a drink in the sun in the summer. Overall it is great and we will visit more often.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times now, and must say that on every occassion, the rooms have been spotless, the atmosphere - always friendly, and the service, excellent. There is no gym or pool here, but this is simply a small family hotel, offering good food, good wine and good service

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Well placed for a stopover from the M40, but the village of Stokenchurch offers little interest if you want an after-dinner walk.
I'd booked a double room for single occupancy and found I'd been given a twin! Kind of misses the point doesn't it?
A trip back down to reception (in the smallest lift I've ever seen -- claustrophobics beware!), and I was given a double room.
Very clean, a comfortable king size bed, and a bathroom with good shower, although the radiators did little to warm the room past tepid.
The lighting left a lot to be desired: 2 x 50 watt ceiling lamps were woefully inadequate so the dressing table would be useless for a lady's make-up application.
Had my wife been with me, we would have moved to an alternative with better heat and light.
All in all, a convenient and reasonably priced traveler's stop-off.

Room Tip: As it is an old altered and extended property, I can see rooms varying in comfort and quality throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel

Address: Oxford Road, Stokenchurch, High Wycombe HP14 3TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe > Stokenchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokenchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Stokenchurch, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.