We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Cloud Forest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chugchilan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Cloud Forest
Chugchilan, Chugchilan 050751, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This place has it all: the most comfy bed I've slept on (even more comfortable than the one I have at home), very friendly and accommodating staff, great location and good atmosphere. It was very clean and well-kept, and the owner clearly takes pride in the place. He was also incredibly friendly and welcoming, making the place feel like a home away from home. And for $15 you get a bed and breakfast and dinner!!! Great deal!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    25
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
32
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

the service was very good, but when we entered the hotel and asked for dorm beds, the man receiving us lied and told us, there are no dorm beds available, so we had to take a double room (which, of course, is more expensive).
later, we found out, that there were dorm beds available!!! its not about the money, but being told a lie feels bad!

(and the water wasnt hot, but here again: I dont expect hot water, but if Im a told that there is, its poor quality, when then there isnt!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Wow, what a great place! It was our best accomodation in Ecuador. First of all, the setting is gorgeous in front of the majestic Andes. Would recommand a room on third floor to have the best view (you can enjoy it while ready a book in a hammac on the terrasse).
Breakfast and dinner were included, a good idea considering that there's no restaurant in this village, and food was delicious.
There was a lot of blankets and bed was confortable. Room was clean and enought big to be 4 people inside. Was a nit noisy when another family arrive in the room next to us... we were able to listen all their conversations!
We took the hoursebackriding tour that they offer, the guide was more than nice and he brings us throught the out-off-beaten-track where nobody goes. We felt completely lonely in this amazing nature. Finally, I would recommand to stay in Chugchilan instead of Quilotoa where they're just little hostel and souvenir shops without the nature around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Was originally planning to stay at black sheep inn but was dropped off right by cloud forest hostel by bus - decided to stay after seeing that single rooms were only $15 and in good condition. Stay was comfortable, though showers ran a bit cold. Jose is very knowledgable about all the hiking trails/bus schedules and will be able to help you plan your hikes. Food is only mediocre.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hostal is good, but of course there isn't any budget alternative in Chugchilan, a new place is under construction but it's a concrete block and I'm not sure it will be cheap.
The only thing I regret is that the rate includes all meals, and, considering the weather pattern there, it is really recommended to get up early and skip the 7:30 breakfast if you want to hike. Maybe they could offer some simple self service breakfast earlier.
If you have hiked from Quilotoa to Chugchilan and want to continue hiking, the Chugchilan to Sigchos road is long and boring. It is more interesting to Isinlivi, but it will be the same environment as the previous day. The best hike, although not much publicized neither described, is to go to Sigchos by the top of the ridge.
Go back to the village, cross it and take the steep dirt road right. After one hour, you arrive on the ridge, you can detour to the top of the Mintanga hill on your left for the best views. Come as early as possible. The views to the plains show that the cloudforest is largely cleared or degraded in this area. Then follow the dirt road on the ridge to the village of Chinalo Alto, then the cheese factory (I bought some cheese, I found it was not cheap). A little bit further, turn right at the small village of Gosumbinalto. It becomes less settled and more natural after that. The track climbs slowly back to the top of the ridge. Here turn left at the junction, that was not obvious at all ! There is a short steep hill, then the track enters a reforested area, the going is flat, fast and easy. When you start descending, you find yourself right above Sigchos and there is an old, direct trail going down in one hour. About 5 hours 30 to 6 hours of walking in total. You can get in Sigchos in time for the 2:30 pm bus to Latacunga, the restaurant across the terminal is surprisingly smart (almuerzo 2$), otherwise there are 4 or 5 hotels in Sigchos.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pto. Varas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I've read all of the opinions and it seems that we agree this is the place to be, felt sorry for those two people who wrote negative remarks perhaps they stayed at the door of the Hostal Cloud Forest and did not enjoyed the food and personal atention of José and Paqtricia, people WHO CARE.

Frank Moore

Room Tip: Choose to be there in room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This place has very friendly local owners and it's amazing value – we paid $12 a head for a private room with ensuite, and that price included a large breakfast and 3-course dinner! It's basic but clean and warm, and the fire is lit in the dining area in the evenings to keep it nice and cosy. There's an honesty system for drinks. Each evening, the owner comes round all the guests at dinnertime and helps them work out (without any pressure) what activities they want to do the next day – horse-riding and hiking, or transport to the next place on the loop. There is very good information about the self-guided hike to Quilotoa, which we did, and it was spectacular and highly recommended (beware - it's mostly uphill if you do the hike in this direction!). We left our bags at Cloud Forest, hiked to Quilotoa and stayed there overnight, then returned to Chugchilan by bus the following day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Cloud Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cloud Forest

Address: Chugchilan, Chugchilan 050751, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Chugchilan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Chugchilan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cloud Forest Hostal in Chugchilán is best value. We offer nice rooms, cleanly made and heated (if you have a reservation). Hot water is in all rooms provided. In the price included is a good dinner and a big breakfast (if you're an early riser or have to catch a bus, take qith you one of the lunch packs we make;). You're cold after the hiking day? Tell us and we heat the Turkish bath for you and your friends. Our hostal is the best point to start your hiking on the Quilotoa-Loop. We have maps and descriptions for the trails to Isinlivi and Quilotoa and provide guides for hiking or horseback riding, if you need one. WiFi is included as well as the games room with billiard, table tennis and foosball table. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Cloud Forest Ecuador/Chugchilan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Cloud Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hostal Cloud Forest to your Saves list