We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent if privacy not an issue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison de Papillon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mulwala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison de Papillon
Save
You added Maison de Papillon to your Saves list
39 Lang Street, Mulwala, New South Wales 2647, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Mulwala B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent if privacy not an issue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a beautifully appointed private residence which has two separate guest bedrooms - both include an ensuite. If you're looking for a taste of what's it like to live right on the waters edge of Lake Mulwala this is it. Watch speedboats pass within a few metres of your garden lounge chair. Hosts Linda and Dennis make sure your very comfortable even offering a complimentary glass of wine as the Sun went down and a lovely home cooked breakfast to wake up to. As you're staying in a private home having your own exclusive space is not an option other than your bedroom. We appreciated the hospitality and the sparkling residence - this is one of the nicest placest that I have stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda M, Owner at Maison de Papillon, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Pierina, thank you so much for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you and Warwick stay at our B&B. We love living here and enjoy sharing such a beautiful spot with our various guests. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Lynda and Denis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Maison de Papillon - The House of the Butterfly, named after the shape of its roof is one very special B & B. If you are heading up Lake Mulwala way, please give it a try...I guarantee you'll be back! Owners Denis & Lynda McNally were exceptional hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We were only there for 3 days but we feel as if we've known them forever and Denis and Lynda really enjoy sharing their immaculate 5 star home with their guests. From either guest room, you can see (and hear) the water lapping around the lawn while you're lazing in bed . Included is stacks of wardrobe space, TV and a want-for-nothing bathroom.

From the moment you open the front door, taking in the huge tapering magnificent staircase to the hosts' living quarters, you know you're somewhere special. The decor is exceptional and the sense of cool and light pervades the entire home. You're automatically drawn through the living/kitchen area out to the back patio where the WOW factor is huge. A small expanse of manicured lawn rolls down to the sparkling waters of Lake Mulwala. Both locals and tourists wave as you wander down to the private jetty. There's a visit, the first of many we discover, from a resident family of black swans: Dad, Mum and four cignets whom Lynda and Denis have watched grow since their births. These"wild" birds actually take directions from Lynda and almost hold a conversation with her.. Oh, what a lifestyle.... sigh!

Denis and Lynda took us out on their impressive boat "Papillon" for several hours on Sunday, cruising the lake and dropping by the locals to say "Hi". It made me realise how much I still miss my counrty upbringing. Lots of laughter and enjoyment followed and the more champagne (or beer) that flowed, the more laughter ensued...strange that? Thanks to Denis's cooking, we feasted at breakfast time, out on the patio in the sunshine and breeze, gazing out over the water. However, the Piece -de Resistance was the two sun lounges under a large weeping willow tree at the lake's edge- just perfect for reading, snoozing, bird-watching or simply watching the world go by.

Thank you Denis and Lynda for your exceptional hospitality and your welcoming arms. We will return!

Carole Kelly & Alan Smith

Room Tip: The Green Room is the larger of the two with twin beds put together and is on the side of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda M, Owner at Maison de Papillon, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Carole, thank you so much for the absolutely wonderful review; you certainly wrote your review describing our B&B, (our home), just as both Denis and I see it, it certainly is a beautiful environment in which to live.

Denis and I are so pleased that both you and Allan were able to get a sample of what it's like living in this beautiful area of Australia, Yarrawonga/Mulwala.

Thank you,
Lynda and Denis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Delightful are mine hosts Lynda and Denis, a warm welcome, friendly and attentive nothing too much trouble.

Delicious, breakfast chosen from an extensive menu prepared by Denis, served in beautiful surroundings overlooking the lake. I was there on my Birthday and Denis prepared a special
breakfast for me along with a birthday cupcake complete with candle and gift.

De-lovely, Where ever you look 5 star all the way. Beautiful suite with roomy walk in robe and luxury bathroom. The views over the lake, breathtaking, loved every minute. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home. I'll be back

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda M, Owner at Maison de Papillon, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Beverley, thank you so much for such a beautiful review. We loved having you here and so pleased you enjoyed being here just as much as we love living here. Both Denis and I would love having you stay again. The bird life has increased, swans have four babies at the moment and we now have a very comical pelican and sometimes a couple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromana, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Picture perfect with all the five star luxuries, this B & B has it all. Our hosts were so warm and friendly, they made us feel so welcome. Our breakfast menu was extensive and cooked to perfection with all the trimmings on offer and the views of the lake through the enormous wall of glass completed the picture perfect setting. Our room was five star luxury, the walk in robe was just enormous and could even hide those suitcases which once you had unpacked, made you feel like you were truly at home. The ensuite was spotless with all the little extras and the bed was so beautiful and comfortable, you wake up with views of the lake through your window and you just feel so spoilt. The location of this B & B is exceptional, the lake at the properties edge on one side and the quiet street tucked away from any noise on the other. The whole area has so much to offer, I think there would have to be something for everyone here. We can't thank our hosts enough for such a lovely stay in their truly beautiful home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda M, Owner at Maison de Papillon, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you Jeanette and Ernie for your wonderful review of our B&B. It's so nice to hear how much you both enjoyed your stay and we would love you to come back again. We feel we are on a constant holiday living here in such a beautiful place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Had a very relaxing visit. The house is so very comfortable clean and relaxing. Very attentive hosts, great views and a sensational cooked breakfast. All in a perfect location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Maison de Papillon, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your valued comments. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and to share our home with both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Had a wonderful stay and was a magic location, friendly hosts, couldn't do enough for us. Looking forward to the champagne cruise Easter 2013 - yes, we've aleady booked.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda M, Owner at Maison de Papillon, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hi Paul and Grace. Belated thank you for your great review of our B&B. Denis and I are looking forward to your return, with your friends, in Easter 2013. Sorry it took so long to respond, but we have only just worked out how to use TripAdvisor's response section.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherglen, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We had a fabulous time when we stayed at Madison de Papillon, the house is beautiful and the setting is perfect. We could not have asked for better hosts, we were made feel so welcome and treated liked kings!
If your looking for a fabulous place to stay, this is it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda M, Owner at Maison de Papillon, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hi Belinda, Jon, Caroline and John. We have just discovered how to respond to our guests' reviews, so apologies for the delay in thanking you for your terrific review. Last New Year's Eve was made very enjoyable with your interaction with us. We are so pleased you have booked again for 2012/13 New Year's Eve and look forward to your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison de Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Papillon

Address: 39 Lang Street, Mulwala, New South Wales 2647, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mulwala
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mulwala
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison de Papillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.