We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most wonderful night I spend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Garden Resort & Camp Site

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added River Garden Resort & Camp Site to your Saves list
River Garden Resort & Camp Site
River Garden Nature and Activity Center, Belihul Oya, Sri Lanka, Belihuloya 70140, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Gampaha, null, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most wonderful night I spend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I really loved the way cottages situated with no disturbance from other cottages.very peaceful ,very romantic and very cool environment with the sound of the river made my mind so peaceful.Natural pool with ideal place to enjoy with family and friends with your Privacy. All the staff were very helpful and fast.camping site was also so interesting with different adventure activities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We arrived at the River Garden Resort with 30 boys from a Negombo Boys Home and were impressed from the moment we arrived! In the team's capable and organised hands, we 4 volunteers could relax and enjoy ourselves as much as the boys.
We were welcomed to the restaurant with a fresh juice and a delicious lunch, and then took the boys down to the river. They loved it; shallow but fast running waters scattered with rocks to climb and play on.
We then made our way to the campsite which was fantastic. Tents were far bigger than expected, clean and comfortable - and the team helped allocate the boys to their tents, ensuring smaller boys were not too far out etc etc.
The staff were wonderful with the boys, as we sent them down a zip wire for the first time, and accompanied them in the 450ft deep lake, reassuring them all the time, that the life jackets would keep them afloat!
A fantastic camp fire BBQ was organised for the evening - mountains of chicken, salads, rice and noodles - and wine and beer for the adults.
The staff joined us late into the night, singing around the fire with us, before some of the younger boys were carried, sleeping, into their tents!
They even went as far to organise special prayers for the boys at the local church, before a great breakfast at the restaurant to send us on our way!
I do not have a single niggle or complaint. Everything was organised, everything ran on time, all our requests were answered and our 30 boys had the time of their lives.
Would we come back? Yes please!

Room Tip: These are the basic tents, but they are large, comfortable and feel secure. We had no worries about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed in the cottages, which like the restaurant main building were built about 20 years ago I think, and they have aged nicely with character and charm. The rooms are cool enough to sleep in with just a fan, and the mosquitos are kept out. The restaurant food is very good, and they have some experienced professional style waiters. They have access to a nice river pool for swimming and nice rocks to sun yourself on. The property is tucked into a cool shady valley and really a very nice place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have being to River Garden with my family and few times as a solo guest too. I am so impressed about the friendly, cheerful staff and the peaceful environment of this place. If you are a Eco Lover , you will really enjoy the noise of creepy crawlies in the night,, and the lullaby of the Belihuloya River..:) :)... I am sure anyone who visit there, can have a Great Get away from your busy life schedules., for a reasonable price. Specially with a peaceful river bath and relaxing around the premises you could refresh your mind and soul perfectly. They have a quite a large area that you can walk, sight seen and capture your favorite photos.. :)

My recent visit to River Garden is first week of this month(July 2013). I noticed they have done some changes to attract guests, and for a better service,(such as candle light dinner, welcome drink, lighting Torches in the night at the entrance of the restaurant, and more organised and secured changing places near the River, and clean and secured path way to the River, more organised and clean Cottages, etc,,)

With all these things I would like to Recommend,' River Garden Resort and Camp Site' for local and foreign guests specially who likes the Eco friendly environment.

Room Tip: All 03 Cottages are nice and cozy..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Despite of my previous review and my previous visits . I visited ” river garden” last week also ,
They have done some small changes to the place with the chalets, and the price of food has gone up a bit , the river was a spectacular when I visited last time , but this time the water was to rough to have a bath

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I've being to this place three times(2008,2009,2010) ,the great thing about this place is the peaceful river baths that we had all 3 times. their were not many people when we visited and you can enjoy to the fullest .the food is bit expensive and not that good ...but the location is great

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed with my family in July and it is one great place. The staff are too helpful and the area. The rooms are nice and clean. It is not a place for persons who do not like creepy crawlies you have to live with them. (not they are a bother). The best I liked about this place is the river where you have a natural fish Spa where these fish nibble on you feet which is supposed to be very therapeutic. (So they say in KL when you pay and go to these Spa's). The trekking and canoeing too is a nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Garden Resort & Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Garden Resort & Camp Site

Address: River Garden Nature and Activity Center, Belihul Oya, Sri Lanka, Belihuloya 70140, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Belihuloya
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Belihuloya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst lush tropical greenery, River Garden Resort and Camping features tranquil and comfortable accommodation with calming views of nature. It provides free parking space and offers complimentary Wi-Fi access in the dining area. The property is within 6 km to Imbulpe Bus Stand and Sabaragamuwa University. The Horton Plains National Park is about 63 km away, while Bandaranaike International Airport is approximately 156 km away. Fitted with warm lighting, all rooms come equipped with a desk and fan. Rooms include an en suite bathroom offering shower facility and free toiletries. At River Garden Resort and Camping, guests can approach the friendly staff to arrange for hiking trips and sightseeing activities. Guests may also rent a bicycle or car to explore the area and visit nearby attractions. Housing a restaurant, guests will be served with Continental, Chinese and local dishes. Barbecue facilities are available on request, while room service options can also be provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your River Garden Resort & Camp Site reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Garden Resort And Camp Site
River Garden Resort & Camp Site Hotel Belihuloya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Garden Resort & Camp Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.