We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable apartment, hospitable owner, great Gran Sasso” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa valsi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa valsi to your Saves list
Villa valsi
via G. D'annunzio n.17, 67020 Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Hoofddorp
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable apartment, hospitable owner, great Gran Sasso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

In June 2012 we stayed at Villa Valsi for 9 days. We’ve had a wonderful holiday. The apartment was comfortable and very spacious. We also had free wifi. And there was a nice garden. The owner is Rita. She’s Italian and speaks English fluently. She is very kind and hospitable. If we needed something we just had to say so. She also made phone calls in Italian for us and baked two delightful cakes. Her grandparents once lived there. This gives the apartments a personal atmosphere.
Santo Stefano is a small, medieval village. It’s situated in the National Park of Gran Sasso. In Santo Stefano there are some small shops. There are also several restaurants. The surroundings of Villa Valsi and Santo Stefano are just great. Around Santo Stefano you can make lovely walks in the mountains. From Santo Stefano there is a road to the Campo Imperatore, the plateau of Gran Sasso . The road offers fantastic views of the mountains. Flowers are everywhere. I’ve seen a lot of flowers I’d never seen before. You can make great walks in the mountains. Villa Valsi and Gran Sasso are great places. We’ll be back.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This family-owned, recently renovated B&B is extremely comfortable and clean. The mountain views from the front windows are spectacular, the furnishings charming, the bathrooms modern and clean, and the kitchen has all the equipment you could want for a vacation stay. The value is excellent for such accommodations and for the pleasure of the area: an easy drive to Gran Sasso National Park, the lovely village of Santo Stefano with great restaurants and shops featuring locally made goods, and more. Rita speaks Italian, English, and French, and cares about her guests' experience there. We very much enjoyed breakfasts and lunches out on the back patio table and chairs under a large umbrella. The area is beautiful and peaceful. I highly recommend the Villa Valsi!

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely. It just depends on how many are in your group. There is one room that has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had a beautiful stay in this lovely apartment located in the scenic and historic St.Stefano di Sessanio. Rita ensured we lacked for nothing and the apartment itself was beautiful, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Rita arranged dinner for us and made sure we were comfortable in our surroundings. She was patient and very helpful. We four had more than enough space. The beds were marvelous, and we had a fully equipped kitchen including coffee pot and breakfast. Thank you so much Rita. You and this beautiful villa are reasons to return.
Judi, Krista, Marc and Michael Duciaume. (Giustizia).

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or fitness center, but they are not needed. Walking these beautiful mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We recently spent five perfect days at Villa Valsi. We were welcomed warmly by Rita and generously, and unexpectedly, given some basic supplies. Rita is not based on site but always available only a phone call away. The apartments are spacious and very well furnished, often with lovely original pieces . The good stove makes for easy cooking. There is an ample supply of crockery and cooking utensils. The heating, if needed, is excellent. Santo Stefano is a most beautiful and peaceful place with villages within a short drive where one can do banking and shopping. If it were possible we would return tomorrow.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We had a great holiday at Villa Valsi. We stayed at a nice studio appartment with enough space for two people. Even when it's raining you have a nice room to spend your time. Good bathroom and kitchen. The bed is a bit small when you are from the 'north' (blond and tall :-)), but that's a normal bed size in Italy Breakfast is included: don't expect too much from it, although it is the best breakfast we ever had in Italy! There is a nice garden where you can sit and you will have a lot of cat friends. They don't belong to the house, but they are everywhere in Italy. Especially the owners are very nice. Open minded, helpfull and always in for a talk. Rita is Italian, but worked for an international company, so she speaks English very well. Her husband is an American who studied art history and stayed in Italy. The village was struck by the earthquake in 2009. The medieval tower collapsed. But it is a nice 'pittoresque' historical village, situated with great surroundings. It has a few restaurants/pizzeria's. The first is at 100meters from the house, where you can choose between a restaurant or pizzeria menu dish. Try the 'agnello' a great speciality from the owner and of course eat the lentilles, a region speciality. There is a nice bar and a very small supermarket like shop in the village and a few 'prodotti tipici' shops where you can buy a good sausage or cheese and other stuff. Look and you will find. If you are looking for a big supermarket you have to drive a bit further (about 10km). The surroundings at the village and around the house are great. You can make small walks in the hills (at the campsite). If you like walking a lot (like us), this is the place to be for the so called 'campo imperatore'. A very big plateau with nice mouintains which you can climb by feet. This is the 'Gran Sasso' at it's best. Climb the highest peak: Corno Grande. Have you seen the movie 'the American' from director Anton Corbijn with actor George Clooney, then you know what we are talking about. Don't forget to visit Castel del Monte. Well, we can go on and on, but you have to see for yourself. Villa Valsi is a great place to stay. Give it a try!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The rooms at Villa Valsi are simple and charming, and also spacious. The room "La Legnaia" has wonderful rustic charm!! You can see where the pig used to live and the cubby holes where the chickens used to lay eggs are still in place. The village of Santo Stefano is tranquil and a lovely place to walk around. The food in the local restaurants is delicious. I will definitely visit again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

My dream has always been to visit the beautiful mountain town of Santo Stefano di Sessanio, where my father was born. My husband and I just returned from there and our stay at the Villa Valsi. It was everything we hoped for and more. The Villa was extremely clean, quiet, huge and beautiful. I wanted to experience what it would feel like to live and be a part of Santo Stefano. And, staying at the Villa Valsi did that. The Villa provided a full kitchen, huge bedrooms, spacious bathroom, and the quiet travelers appreciate.

The owner, Rita Visioni was extremely helpful, answered any of our questions, was easy to contact, and spoke excellent English (which was a huge help for us).

If there is anyone looking for a place to stay near or in Santo Stefano, please don't hesitate to stay at the Villa Valsi. Staying at such a beautiful place made it very hard to say goodbye. If we are every able to visit Santo Stefano again, we definitely plan on staying here. Bellisima !!!

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to contact Rita Visioni
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa valsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa valsi

Address: via G. D'annunzio n.17, 67020 Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Italy
Location: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > Santo Stefano di Sessanio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find the Residence Villa Valsi in the enchanting medieval village of Santo Stefano di Sessanio, located within the National Park of the Gran Sasso d’Italia in the region of Abruzzo.It is an ideal place of sojourn for anyone who loves the peace and tranquillity of the mountains and might enjoy spending time in contact with nature in a characteristic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa valsi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valsi Italy/Santo Stefano Di Sessanio, Abruzzo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa valsi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.