We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite parks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inokashira Park

Inokashira Park
1-18-31 Gotenyama, Musashino 180-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Musashino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of my favorite parks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

When we lived in Japan, we used to take the kids here on the weekends sometimes. It was a nice, leisurely train ride from our apartment. The reasons I love this park are numerous, but to name a few... First, it is definitely quieter than Ueno park. Ueno is great for the zoo and museums, but this one is great for relaxing with the kids. The zoo here is also quite nice. Second, there is a big lake with rental boats shaped like swans. Third, the cherry blossom trees are beautiful. And, finally, it's in the suburb of Kichijoji... which has reasonably priced department stores for household goods, plants, etc. AND a terrific Irish pub that serves the most amazing food and drink. The pub, by the way, is not actually in the park, but a short walk from it. It's just a nice way to spend the day away from the hustle and bustle of Tokyo.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    110
    16
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Vermont
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“Nice place to walk and watch the people and their kids and dogs.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We walked around in this size able park for about an hour, just getting a break from all the buildings. You can rent a pedal boat on the lake and there are several playground areas for kids. We enjoyed a soda at a little restaurant near the west entrance to the park and zoo. We walked from this park to the nearby Ghibi Museum; signage was clear and abundant.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Hanami at Inokasahira Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

It was a wonderful Spring Sunday and the weather was great, and we decided to go Sakura Hanami at Inokashira Park (井の頭恩賜公園), away from the famous city park like Ueno Park because we knew it would be crowded. However, when we reached Inokashira Park at the evening, the park was packed with people drinking and doing their hanami stuff under the trees, and don't even think of taking the boat ride, because the queue was endless. Anyway, it was still a great place to go, less touristy, and you could experience the more local stuff there.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quiet and lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Don't take your boy/girlfriend out on the lake in a boat. There is a famous jinx on those who do. You will split up.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saitama, Japan
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Art Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

A lovely little park with a weekend art market that makes browsing very pleasant - at the end of your walk up from the JR station.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inokashira Park also viewed

Musashino, Tokyo Prefecture
Mitaka, Tokyo Prefecture
 

Been to Inokashira Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inokashira Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.