We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“melt in your mouth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steak House Satou

Steak House Satou
1-1-8 Kichijojihoncho, Musashino 180-0004, Tokyo Prefecture
+81 422-21-6464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 925 Restaurants in Musashino
4.5 of 5 stars 37 Reviews
Price range: $25 - $42
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Good for: Romance
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“melt in your mouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

just order the most expensive steak and i promise you wont regret it. the owner is very nice. overall great food, great service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love the Matsusaka steak!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I have read a lot of reviews about this small steakhouse in the internet that's why we went to visit. I can honestly say that most of them if not all are correct. You have to order their best steak to know the difference between the regular steaks out there.

Having tried both Kobe and Matsusaka beef, I prefer Matsusaka because it has the balance of that melt in your mouth goodness but doesn't take away the beefy taste.

I would come here around 630 pm when the restaurant is not yet busy because it has limited seats on the 2nd floor which is the dining area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Steak House Satou”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The family had dinner at Steak House Satou. I had the Matsuzaka sirloin done medium rare. The taste was just out of this world. The cost of 10,000 yen was reasonable considering the quality of the beef. The wagyu I ate in Melbourne was nowhere near this quality and cost more. The others had other cuts costing 3000 yen a piece.
Service was impeccable. We left feeling fully satisfied.
A note on the Matsusaka beef for interested readers:
Matsusaka beef (松阪牛 Matsusaka-ushi?, also "Matsuzaka beef") is black-haired wagyū (Japanese beef). also known as Kuroge Washu or "Japanese Black", the cattle come from the Matsusaka region of Mie, Japan. It is one of the most famous beef types within Japan and internationally, with a high fat-to-meat ratio. Within Japan, Matsusaka beef is generally considered one of the three top brands (known as Sandai Wagyuu, "the three big beefs"), along with Kobe beef and Ōmi beef or Yonezawa beef.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Steak never tasted better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Normally, I'd have to pay $$$ for good steak but at Steak House Satou, all you need to do is fork out about 2000-2500 yen for an amazing steak meal (cooked tepanyaki style). I am not saying you get 1st grade marbled beef but you get something decent and the beef is cooked very skilfully by the chef. Be ready to queue as this is a really small place but very popular among locals.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Wagyu experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Followed a friend's recommendation and tracked down this little gem of a restaurant. Tiny, modest-looking place, expect a queue (and a train ride out west of Tokyo centre) but the Matsuzaka beef was the best steak we had ever tasted. Cuts like butter, melts in the mouth. Served medium, it was tender and juicy, never tasted anything like it. You don't get very much for your 10k yen apiece, but this was a must-do on a special trip from UK. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak House Satou also viewed

 
Musashino, Tokyo Prefecture
Musashino, Tokyo Prefecture
 

Been to Steak House Satou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steak House Satou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.