We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a place to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ukai Toriyama

Ukai Toriyama
3426 Minamiasakawamachi, Hachioji 193-0846, Tokyo Prefecture
+81 42-661-0739
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 980 Restaurants in Hachioji
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $42 - $83
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Tokyo
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Always a place to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

late July-2014

Have been back a few times since my last review some, 4 years ago. (The lunch time is just as recommended as well if you decided to go to Takao-san in the morning. You may find a simple change of clothes n body-clean wet tissue, very helpful during warmer months, though.) Went again, n thought it is worth it. The garden is wonderful maintained. We went for firefly lookup after we finished our dinner, nearly 2200 hour. Found 2-3 fireflies. The back garden was darkened on purpose with only floor lanterns here n there.

We were shown to a room with tables n chairs. Personally, I prefer one with the tatami mats n built in legs space, more view of the garden that way.

The host will show you WC and explain the huts as you are guided to your room. Do keep that in mind.

Parking is available but frequent free bus from Takao-san station<-->restaurant is available. Please check for time when making reservation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    26
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were on Mount Takao, and decided to take the shuttle from the station to this restaurant. We felt underdressed, but were put into a private room in a lovely garden setting with a stream coming through.

We had the grilled chicken course - the did offer an English menu. The service was great.

Worth a day trip from Tokyo.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Traditional Japanese cuisine in breathtaking surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived until we entered the car to drive back to Tokyo, the service was absolutely impeccable. The entire staff provided a remarkable level of service. We were escorted to our private dining area through a scenic path right out of a storybook. The food was incredible. My friends chose the traditional beef dinner which was delectable from the first bite to the last. Perfect presentation from the sake in the bamboo to the last scrumptious bite of the arrowroot cake desert. Every accolade this place receives, it genuinely deserves.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“far out from central tokyo but highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Being located in Hachioji, it takes at least an hour or more from the buz of central tokyo, however this place is worth the visit for special occasion, a relaxed lunch perhaps. The restaurant ground is composed of numbers of small traditional houses/huts in the mist of a highly curated garden and streams.The service is impeccable and the food is concrete traditional Japanese affair, straight forward and good. We were there for a small family event (12pax) at lunch and the whole experience was fabulous.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A beautiful Japanese restaurant where everyone gets their own little traditional hut to have an amazing dinner. I usually hate taking the kids menu because it's always the same thing but here I don't hesitate. It's probably the best kids menu ever!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ukai Toriyama also viewed

Hachioji, Tokyo Prefecture
Hachioji, Tokyo Prefecture
 
Hachioji, Tokyo Prefecture
Hachioji, Tokyo Prefecture
 

Been to Ukai Toriyama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ukai Toriyama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.