We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining, great break in the Dales” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bolton Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bolton Arms to your Saves list
The Bolton Arms
Redmire, Yorkshire Dales National Park, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Redmire B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent dining, great break in the Dales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed one night for New Years Eve, lovely busy pub, very friendly staff and locals. Excellent food, thank goodness they offered the usual menu as opposed to a party menu as this rarely works. The starter cheese and red onion tart was enormous and the lamb main course was divine. The pub had a friendly atmosphere and offered a good choice of wines and beers, but because of the cosy layout there was a bit of a lack of seating when busy. The two guest rooms upstairs were unavailable as it was New Years Eve as Bill and Jan felt they would be too noisy for guests, this is in contrast to other places we have stayed at New Year! Well done for putting guest comfort before profits. The rooms were small but comfortable, warm and had upmarket toiletries. The village is very picturesque, close to Bolton Castle as the pub name suggests and good for walking or exploring the Dales. Will definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Room 5 twin bedded room overlooking the small beer garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
80
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

just returned from 2 night stay at Bolton Arms. Great pub with excellent dining and very comfortable room, we stayed in Room 1. There are 2 rooms within the main pub and 3 outside.we chose this hotel as it's dog friendly and were charged £5 extra per night for the hound.

The bar was busy as was the dining room in the evenings creating a pleasant atmosphere with locals and visitors alike. Would highly recommend and look forward to returning in the near future

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I feel rather mean giving this an "average" review and, in some ways, The Bolton Arms deserved a "good" if only for the proprietors and staff who were very very friendly and accomodating.

We had a one night stay on a blustery December weekend. No problem with check-in and, as throughout the stay, the young lady showing us to our room was extremely friendly. First impressions of the room (an ouside annexe) - small, second impressions - too small. I really am not fussy, especially for a one night stay, but there wasn't even room for a small sink in the bathroom (make that shower room) That was in the bedroom and, on taking my shower the following morning, I struggled to turn around it was so cramped.

Back to the evening. The bar area and restaurant are perfectly fine. Good choice of beers, ales, wine and the food choice was not bad. Service was prompt and attentive and the actual quality of the food was good (if not particularly adventurous) as well. My biggest complaint, and it may seem petty, stems from the question; is this place trying to be the village pub or a cut above that?

And I illustrate this with the following; just as we were about to take our seats a coachload of about 20, what looked like a local rugby team on a Christmas pub crawl, burst through the door in fancy dress and took over the bar area. OK - live and let live however - this inevitably resulted in a raucous atmosphere with the language turning blue. It's was just not conducive to a relaxing or particularly pleasant time. They finally left about 30 minutes later, thankfully.All it needed, I feel, was for the manager to politely decline their entry??

Having finished our dinner we retired to the bar area which remained busy throughout the evening. Thankfully no return to the racket of earlier but why did one local (?) seem to find it amusing to have (I will try and use polite language) and inflatable "phallus" propped on a bar stool? Again - a bit of crowd management may have been appropriate? I'm not a prude but this kind of child-ish behaviour just spoils things.

So I conclude with the question repeated - does The Bolton Arms want to be an average, come one come all, village pub or something with a little more class? Because maybe choosing the latter will up the quality of the clientele and allow them to charge a little more.

A pleasant enough stay but we've stayed in nicer Dales pubs and probably wont return here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetGRRedmire, Owner at The Bolton Arms, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
As proprietors of the Bolton Arms it's very rarely that we respond to reviews. Obviously we read them and consider their contents in great depth taking note to improve our service where possible. However, we have to admit to being somewhat bemused by this review. The other points put aside for further consideration, the reviewer asks on a couple of occasions if the Bolton Arms is wanting to be the village pub or a cut above that.

From starting out with this business almost 3 years ago our objective has always been for the Bolton Arms, Redmire to be a well maintained, welcoming, clean, cosy, Yorkshire Dales village pub. The trade that we have built up since then includes visitors and locals alike both of which are equally important to us. We like to think (and I think most of our reviews reflect this) that we are above average in achieving this.

However, to answer the reviewer's question, it has never been our intention to come across as anything other than a well run village pub. We have certainly never claimed, reviewer correct me if I am wrong, to be a cut above any others and certainly we are generally very happy with our current clientele and have, as suggested, no desire to improve the quality of our customers, or indeed, as also suggested, to raise our prices.

We would certainly step in if we felt that a bit of high spirited Christmas fun was getting out of hand but we are a come one, come all village pub and proud to be so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Have just returned from a great 3 night break at the Botlon Arms, we can only agree with other reviewers, food excellent and lots of it, clean towels everyday, plenty of toiletries in the room and Bill and Jan were fantastic hosts. Lovely walking all on the doorstep in a lovely area.
Tuesday was a power cut 9 - 4 while the electricity poles in the village were replaced. some one cut the wrong wire and there was no power until 9pm!. Our hosts could not do enough for us, we could have steak pie or they would go to Leyburn for a takeaway. We had the 'famous' homemade steak pie which came with three veg and potatoes, all cooked by candlelight. Bread and butter pudding was warmed in the oven and custard made, my husband was extactic! we sat by the log burner and all enjoyed a wonderful evening.
I hope they get some compensation from the electric company, their only thoughts were of their guests. It only added to experience and we will definitely return

Room Tip: We were in room 1 a double superior and well worth the extra money, morning view of Penhill was spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stopped for a break while out on a walk. Warmed up in front of fire then had excellent coffee and home baked cake. Delight! The bar meals also looked very good. We were tempted to forego the sandwiches we had in our rucksacks and have a bar meal instead. However as we had just had a very large slice of cake we decided we had better not. Next time it will be a different story.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed for one night and we were not disappointed. After searching for a cosy pub we came across this one. What I call a proper country pub. Real fire, excellent food and friendly staff. We stayed in a superior room which was good value. Very nice breakfast too. Would definitely return.
Recommend the steak pie, it was lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I went for a meal for two the food was great. The service was warm and friendly. Just the ticket for a cold and frosty night. I would highly recommend all to visit. The portions are quite large and value for money. We had the Bolton burger and the pie off the specials menu but could not quite fit in dessert in!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bolton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bolton Arms

Address: Redmire, Yorkshire Dales National Park, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Redmire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Redmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bolton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bolton Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.