We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect retreat for those in need of a break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Town Hall Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redmire
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Town Hall Guest House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Yorkshire Dales National Park, Redmire, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Redmire B&B and Inns
Suffolk
1 review
“The perfect retreat for those in need of a break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

The accommodation was amazing, spotlessly clean and very luxurious with wonderful finishing touches. Dave and Lorri were the perfect hosts. They were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. It was great to be offered a cup of tea when we arrived. We also had an evening meal on the second night. I am a vegetarian, but Dave was more than happy to accommodate me. The meal was delicious and excellent value. We will defintely go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
99
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

Wow!!!!! We stayed here for 1 night & felt totally relaxed. Dave & Lorri welcomed us with a lovely cup of tea & fantastic home made biscuits.
We were the only couple in the B&B the night we stayed. We booked the evening meal which was exceptional value for money. The food was amazing & the service matched it. We ate in the dining room with candles & the roaring fire crackling away. There was soft music playing & it was the perfect romantic meal. All we ordered was the food, the rest was Dave & Lorri, we cannot thank them enough.
We stayed in the Avignon room which has a seperate sitting area, TV & DVD player, an amazing jacuzzi bath & a seperate shower. The bed was extremely comfortable & we both struggled to get up in the morning.
Breakfast was lovely. The sausages & bacon were delicious, home made bread for the toast, a plentiful supply of jams & marmalades, fresh fruit & yoghurt. We sat in beautiful surroundings, reading the mornings papers, listening to peaceful music & chatting with Dave & Lorri - a perfect start to the day.
We cannot recommend the B&B enough. Dave & Lorri are the perfect hosts, Redmire is a lovely village & what you see on the website is exactly as it is when you arrive. As soon as we can get a babysitter for another weekend we will return!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

What you see on the website is what you get. The Old Town Hall does not disappoint. The quality of the rooms and the food was superb and the hospitality made it a genuinely wonderful break away from home. Lorri and Dave treated us warmly and with such consideration. Nothing was too much trouble: from the complimentary tea and biscuits on arrival or after a day's traipsing to the pick-up service to and from stations (and weddings). The surrounding countryside is just breathtaking even when it's raining, yet there's nothing quite like drying out in front of a roaring fire in such clean and homely surroundings. It's a B&B that certainly sets a high standard. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

Had a weekend walking break as a couple on our own and were warmly greeted on our arrival by Lorri & Dave who endeavoured to make our stay as relaxing as possible - they did, and it was. We stayed in the Avignon suite and found it extremely comfortable throughout. The Luxury Super King size bed was as big as some B&B rooms we have stayed in. We had one evening meal which was delicious, and the breakfasts - traditional English cooked and then salmon/eggs the next day were perfect.
We were keen to walk and maps were loaned , with local walks recommended. The location is very handy for Dales walking - which is what we did
We couldn't recommend it highly enough

  • Liked — Relaxing
  • Disliked — Water pump noisy at times
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldtownhall, Owner at The Old Town Hall Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2008
We would both like to thank everybody for taking the time to review 'The Old Town Hall', your comments and feedback enable us to provide higher standards in the future. It's always nice to know we are heading in the right direction.

Thank you again, Lorri & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East yorks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

Just come back from staying at the 'Old Town Hall ' Redmire. Hosts Dave and Lorri immeadiately make you feel at home with offers of tea or coffee. The room we stayed in was spacious and the attention to detail on items within the bedroom and en suite was exceptional.
Every modern facility was available and it is no wonder this establishment is so highly rated. We sampled Daves food for breakfast and dinner and it was always well prepared ,hot and very tasty. If you really feel the need to be naughty try one of Lorri's scones with preserve and cream, an absolute delight.
We had a wonderful 3 days and will return soon. If you want somewhere quiet but well catered for the Old Town Hall at Redmire is the place to visit.

  • Liked — Attention to detail and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincolnshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

A group of six of us stayed here in late May for a walking holiday. The B & B exceeded our expectations. The rooms are comfortable, and the bathrooms well equipped. Dave does the cooking and the breakfasts are well above average, with the choice of a freshly cooked full English, but also lots of fresh fruit and a continental platter, as well as home made bread, good quality preserves and cereals. You can also have an evening meal if you wish, and this suited us very well after a long day's walking. No need to drive anywhere. Just shower and change, meet in the residents lounge for a drink and then sit down to a freshly cooked 3 course meal. Dave will talk to you at breakfast and agree the evening menu with you. The B & B is not licensed but you are welcome to take your own. Finally, the hospitality was terrific. Lorrie and Dave can't do enough to make you feel at home. They will make you a packed lunch if you need it, and a welcome cup of tea when you arrive.

  • Liked — Warmest possible hospitality
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Town Hall Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Town Hall Guest House

Address: Yorkshire Dales National Park, Redmire, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Redmire
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Redmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Town Hall Guest House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Town Hall offers peace and tranquility in the village of Redmire, between Leyburn and Reeth. Lorri and Dave offer 3 rooms, all luxuriously appointed. We offer home cooked suppers, using fresh local ingredients. If you feel like totally relaxing but still being close to busy Leyburn and Reeth, this is the place for you. We look forward to welcoming you to our home. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Town Hall Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Old Town Hall Guest House to your Saves list