We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent museum if you like planes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Visitor Centre

Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Visitor Centre
Dogdyke Road, Coningsby LN4 4SY, England
01522 782040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Coningsby
Type: Military Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent museum if you like planes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The visit was planned as we wanted to see both Lancaster Bombers together. We bought advanced tickets on the website. We were worried that it may be a bit chaotic, but need not have. The organisation was great and, there was no way anyone could possibly miss their tour. Our tour guide was excellent. Very knowledgeable, and answered all our questions. The exhibits are mostly WW2 aeroplanes and guns, not to everyones taste but we loved it. We were given loads of time to see everything and take photos. What a privilege to get to see the Lancasters together, and we watched them take off, which was a bonus.
Make sure you check the website before booking however, as they cannot guarantee which aircraft will be there due to obligations at shows round the country. A great day out for anyone with an interest in WW2 aeroplanes.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    35
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Taxy ride on the Lancaster Bomber. Delighted with the organisation of the whole VIP day from the assembly and informality and the way that everybody was so friendly. The serious side the bravery and terrible loss of the aircrews and the very poignant and sincere way in which they are remembered at East Kirkby.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“First class visitor attraction with the bonus...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

of Typhoons rocketing into the sky if you're fortunate to be there on a flying day. Our guide was Tony, and he was very well informed indeed. Altogether a very good couple of hours worth of utter nostalgia for some, and history for others. Recommended very strongly.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A fascinating day out. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the history of each plane and the Memorial Flight. It was wonderful to be able to get up close to the aircraft that we have only seen from a distance previously. There is something very moving about standing close to the Lancaster and learning about the bravery of the young men who flew them. The small museum was interesting and the staff were friendly and helpful. We had no problems parking.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Watch WW2 aircraft being repaired”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Impressive headquarters of the BBMF. You join a comprehensive guided tour of the hangar where Hurricanes, Spitfires and the lone Lancaster are kept in flying order. Facts and figures pour forth about the aircraft, the weapons they fired and the incredible turnaround time achieved on wartime bases (which fooled the Germans into over-estimating the RAF’s strength). Mechanics work while you watch. Outside the roar of modern jets (from the adjacent RAF Coningsby) occasionally drowns out the guide’s voice! Gift shop contains an enormous range of Lancaster-themed artefacts, sufficient for even the geekiest enthusiast. Good to see this war-winning machine - airbrushed from history in my childhood - now treasured as the national historic asset it is.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Visitor Centre also viewed

 
Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Visitor Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.