We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, wish it had been more than 1 night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leagate Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Leagate Inn to your Saves list
The Leagate Inn
Leagate Road, Coningsby LN4 4RS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coningsby
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, wish it had been more than 1 night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

With the imminent arrival of the Lancaster Bomber from Canada, we decided to visit RAF Coningsby (home of the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight) and see both Lancasters together. We wanted a hotel as near to the RAF base as possible.
Arrived late afternoon and checked in. Our room was lovely. Very clean, quite large and nicely furnished. The bathroom was much bigger than ours at home, which is always nice, although not necessary. Lots of hot water and great shower - lets face it, in some places the shower roses are so clogged the water goes anywhere except down. Very large comfy bed, and nice big douvet, much better than sheets and blankets.
We decided to eat in and had a great meal. Staff were very friendly and very professional. I had the Scampi and my partner had the gammon. Beautifully cooked and every morsel was eaten. Good nights sleep and down to an excellent breakfast. Nice choice if you don't fancy a full English. We did have the full English and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Sad to check out, as we could easily have filled another day checking out the great museums in and around Coningsby and Woodhall Spa.
We will certainly be going back - Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: We stayed in "Gravel" Bed was very comfy, bathroom great, and it had a big TV screen (if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    22
    6
    9
    7
See reviews for
18
35
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

On arrival the room was lovely, then downhill from there. The food wasn't up to great standards, wilted brown lettuce and over cooked rustic chips. The room wasn't made up or touched when we returned after a day out .... The walls are thin and you could hear conversations from neighbouring room. The water pipes sang very loudly. The food no better the second night either. Great location for the bbmf and Coningsby but expensive for what it was, travelodge for us next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Passed so many times without ever trying, but we had really missed out before.
Stopped for Lunch and it was magnificent,fine food, great atmosphere, knowledgeable host, full of old fashion charm,with modern standards, will become regular clients

Room Tip: Looks like it would be great to stay and also for a function
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

The Leagate inn is a very old property not far from Boston in an isolated position. It provides a convenient stopping point if you are travelling down to Norfolk from the north. They provides good meals in a cosy bar. The bedroom we occupied was comfortable but gloomy - the lighting was dull in contrast to the bathroom which was very nicely fitted with a roomy shower obviously planned with people with disabilities in mind. The lighting was extremely bright and automatically controlled which meant there was no means od dimming the brightness which I personally did not like. The staff at the Leagate are very pleasant and helpful. However the place generally looks to be inneed of some refurbishment.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here twice over the last few weeks as working in the area. Once with my Dad and once on my own. Food was great especially the haddock and chips. The accomodation is good and the breakfasts top quality. The staff where great and even carried my heavy luggage up to the room! What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martlesham Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Due to attend a surprise party near Boston, we were told this Hotel / Pub was close by. As it was for one night I wasn't that fussed on quality but we got it in spades anyway. Easy to find, good parking and plenty of it. I was a little surprised that there was no reception and we had to call a number to be attended to but if we hadn't had a phone, the bar was close by. Lovely room, nice clean bathroom (big fluffy towels) comfortable bed and a cracking breakfast, freshly cooked. we didn't have a more formal meal but I am reliably informed that the food is as good as the rest of the hotel

I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Probably not the ground floor (apparently) we had the Griffiths room and it was delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I used to stay in.mainstream hotels in nearby Woodhall Spa or Horncastle until a business associate introduced me to the Leagate. That first stay impressed and after that I stayed there whenever possible. Booking at short notice is not always possible due to its popularity. Pleasant rooms, Mark and Sharon wonderful hosts. Although there is a spacious restaurant we tended to take our excellent meals in the cosy bar. Good food and ale assured.
Well located for the B of B Memorial Flight at RAF Coningsby and Tattershall Castle also convenient for Lincoln and Lincs Aviation Heritage Centre at East Kirkby. Great golfing at W. Spa.
All in all a good base with tourist attractions to suit a variety of tastes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leagate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leagate Inn

Address: Leagate Road, Coningsby LN4 4RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Coningsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coningsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Leagate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leagate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.