We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caheroyan House and Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Caheroyan House and Farm to your Saves list
Caheroyan House and Farm
Caheroyan Road, Athenry, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Crumlin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful house!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place took my breath away from the moment we pulled up. Up the tree covered lane then we came to the beautiful cobblestone home with lovely vines and roses growing all over it. The room was beautiful and clean and had a great view. We were able to sit out on the balcony and just enjoy the sunset. The hospitality was better than any place I have ever stayed. The breakfast was delicious and made with care for my special diet. The grounds were lovely and we spent the morning walking around the farm. I have absolutely nothing bad to stay about this place! It was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our stay, earlier this month was perfect. The home and grounds were beautiful. The surrounding beckoned guests to walk and enjoy the beauty. The accommodations were spacious and comfortable. Barbara prepared the breakfast with the highest quality food and with great care and love. The bonus was the stories Barbara told. She made us feel like family.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Caheroyne House and Farm is really a complex of accommodations. The main house offers B&B and looks really first class, but we stayed in the Stables, one of three self-catering cottages. This offered three rooms, one with a double, one with two single, and one with two bunk beds. This was a perfect configuration for our family. Our stay was lovely, with the grand-daughters becoming very attached to the horses and donkeys. Generally, the farm is a wealth of nature. Athenry is central to lots of attractions and we particularly recommend the trad music session in the Fields Bar on a Thursday night, and the Ailwee Caves, about an hour away.
Strongly recommended! .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hIrish manor house and attached farm provided a relaxing and comfortable setting for our visit. the breakfasts were cooked to order, locally farmed and delicious. The rooms were en suite and lovingly restored to provide comfortable conversation and rest. The farm setting was a great location to walk and observe nature, both flora an fauna. The surrounding gardens were a delight! Best of all, John and Barbara were full of friendly information about the areas attractions, directions, and perfectly wonderful stories. We had a terrific time, and the location was central to the family.reunion we attended. Highly recommended, and will return with more family as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I spent a month at the Caheroyan House with our 20 month old daughter. We looking for a place to stay that gave us easy access to Galway and Connemara. We also wanted to be in walking distance to a town where we could shop for dinner and walk to pubs. Athenry and the Caheroyan House was the perfect fit. The House was minutes to the M6 by car and a short walk to the wonderful town of Athenry.

The farm it’s self was idyllic. We enjoyed walking the expansive grounds looking at the fields of wild irises and lovely flowers that grew everywhere. Our toddler liked saying hello to cows, donkeys and horses on the property.

We stayed in Stable Cottage, one of the self catering cottages on the property. It was nothing fancy but well equipped. All the bedrooms were a nice size and comfortable. Our only complain was the bathroom. It was small (even by European standards) and the shower lacked water pressure. Even with this small inconvenience, we loved out home away from home.

I could not review the Caheroyan House without commenting on Barbara and John’s hospitality. They were wonderful hosts. The day we arrived Barbara made sure we had everything we need. She went out of her way to bring our daughter toys, a high chair, a cot and safety equipment. It was far more than we ever expected. We enjoyed breakfast at the B&B one morning as Barbara’s guest. Breakfast was wonderful. Lot's of choices with fresh local fare. I really liked the black pudding (which I never like).

Our family will always think fondly of this special place and hope to return there someday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mine Hill, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The house and grounds are beautiful, the charm you expect in an Irish manor home. Barbara's breakfast really was our favorite Irish breakfast of our entire trip (black and white pudding was soo good)!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed at the Caheroyan House for two nights with my family and it turned out to be a wonderful experience, our hosts, John and Barbara went out of their way to make us feel at home.

They have tastefully done up the property, giving it a true feel of an 18th Century Manor House, the sheer green expanse all around was a treat for our tired city eyes. Would recommend this place with full marks for anyone looking for a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caheroyan House and Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caheroyan House and Farm

Address: Caheroyan Road, Athenry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Athenry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Athenry
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Caheroyan House and Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caheroyan House and Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.