We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in the Hunter Valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Branxton House Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Branxton House Motel to your Saves list
Branxton House Motel
69 New England Highway, Branxton, Cessnock, New South Wales NSW 2335 , Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Branxton
Central Coast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value in the Hunter Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Clean and tidy room, big bathroom, coffee & tea facilities with fresh milk and everything working properly. Lovely friendly staff. Had a good nights sleep, the doof doof music at the hall next door suitably deadened by the double glazed windows which had been pointed out by our host as she opened the door to our room when we arrived to show us how all the appliances worked. Much better value than the more expensive "up market" accommodation around the Hunter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our room was clean and bed comfortable. Because we came to Branxton for the annual Opera in the Vineyard at Wyndham Estate, we paid $125.00 more than usual:- $375.00 for minimum 2 night stay. This is a blatant rip-off on the part of Branxton House Motel, which does very nicely all the time being in a mining area. I booked in March 2012 paid 50%deposit,the balanceupon check-in.In March I requested a room at the rear, knowing the motel is on the very busy New England Hwy. We were given a room at the front and even with the double glazing found it very noisy. The manager moved us to another rear room next day. When I asked why we did not get the promised rear room both nights was told that 'people setting up opera stage had those rear rooms.' So workers at Wyndham Est. were given preference over interstate guests!!. A DVD player WAS supplied at prior request. Housekeeping very good, though we had to ask diffident manager for a 2nd. towel. The rear room used for 1 mine employee normally. Value:$125p/n.NOT $187.50!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the rear, NOT at the front! Double glazing makes no difference at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My wife and i stayed at this lovely place over the weekend as we went to the CMC Country festival. What a nice surprise this place is. Good service, clean rooms. Great housekeeping. Only 15mins into to the Hunter Valley. Best of all, good firm bed. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We were looking for a weekend in the Hunter Valley without the high prices, so opted for a $125 motel instead of a pompous $300-a-night "B&B", "home stay" or "romantic retreat".
Our room was modern, spacious and clean, and the bed was comfortable. Came with tea/coffee facilities. We didn't try the breakfast room service. The owners were quite friendly.

Our only issue was the bright outside lights along the front porch which shine in above the curtains all night. I hung a dark T-shirt over the nearest one to our room, problem solved.

Branxton itself is not a pretty setting, nor is the motel, but it's just ten minutes drive to Lovedale or Pokolbin. We only needed a bed for the night and overall we were quite happy staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed near the back, away from the highway, and our room was quiet. The windows are double glaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stay as part of a road stop heading north. Clean rooms, friendly and helpful service, everything worked. Would stay there again if I needed one night while passing through.

Room Tip: It's on the highway, so go for a room at the back if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

What a great little motel! On check-in, we were escorted by the owner to our room. She showed us how we had to insert our key into a slot to make the power work, explained how to work the air conditioner (& boy did we need that!!) and brought us a jug of fresh milk. Our twin room had the following:

queen bed
single bed
bedside tables
table with 2 chairs
desk type arrangement with desk level double power point
TV
tea/coffee making facilities
cane chair
fantastic lighting
very clean modern bathroom
hairdryer

I think this motel had the best lighting I’ve ever seen in a motel room. Usually rooms are dim and dark. This one had 2 main lights in the room plus a fluorescent light over the desk area. The reading lamps for the beds were downlights and very bright! Excellent!

The bathroom was very clean and modern. The only problem I found was that you could see yourself showering. I don’t know about anyone else, but that’s not something I want to see first thing in the morning.

We ordered breakfast and it came at the right time, delivered by the owner (she is one busy woman!). My daughter had a croissant with egg/bacon/cheese and it was very good. Gotta love country style breakfast.

I would stay here again and highly recommend this motel.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — Internet access was free but it didn't work!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Branxton House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Branxton House Motel

Address: 69 New England Highway, Branxton, Cessnock, New South Wales NSW 2335 , Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Branxton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Branxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Branxton House Motel is a quality 14 unit property, family-owned and operated, situated in the central area of the Lower Hunter and Upper Hunter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Branxton House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Branxton House Motel Greater Newcastle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Branxton House Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.