We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed and overpriced!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Falls Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Markstay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Falls Lodge
Save
You added Pine Falls Lodge to your Saves list
R.R. 1 | Markstay, Markstay, Ontario P0M 2G0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Val caron
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not impressed and overpriced!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

For 10 years now I look forward to my annual girls weekend. This year we decided to try Pinefalls lodge and we were greatly disappointed! We arrived to a not so clean or warm cabin. After washing the stove and the fridge and unpacking it still didn't warm up so we decided to let the owners know. He came in not to impressed letting us now that he had 13 people (in a cabin that sleeps 10) that stayed a whole week who had no problem with the temperature. It was 15 degrees! We paid $600 for 2 nights. We were not told when I booked we would not be able to use any appliances (blow dryer, blender,no microwave)and the water pressure...we'll there just wasn't any so no showers! Thank goodness we brought our own toilet paper cause there was only 3/4 of a roll for 7 girls! We are not a group of city girls who can't handle a little dust. We love to camp, spend time in the bush, appreciate the comforts of an old cabin, but for $600,mouse droppings in drawers, very dirty appliances, barely any heat or water, this place is not worth your money. Also as we were leaving, they were trying to deal with a situation of a cabin that was not only double booked but triple booked!!!! Don't take your chances here, it's a rip off!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinefallsmngmt, Owner at Pine Falls Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Hello Natalie G,

First, we would like to apologize that your experience was less than satisfactory and we would like to address the issues you encountered. We apologize that you found the cleanliness of the cabin not up to your standards. Had this issue been addressed during your visit I assure you that we would have done what we could to have rectified it to your satisfaction.

In terms of heating, while our cabins are not in use the temperatures are kept low in order to avoid unnecessary use of resources. We apologize that you found it cooler than you would have preferred upon arrival, but it is our understanding that this issue was corrected quickly.

We are sorry that you were unaware of our hydro maintenance policies. They are listed on our website as well as other marketing materials so that our guests can avoid unnecessary frustration upon arrival. Our lodge is uniquely powered through a waterwheel system. It is what allows us to operate as a 'green' business. It is also the reason we are able to maintain such a beautiful resort in such seclusion. We apologize for any inconvenience this misunderstanding cause your group.

We welcome your group in the future and wish you the best of luck with your next girls weekend.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waubaushene, ON
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'll break this review up into the different categories, but will start with a brief summary so you don't necessarily have to read the whole review.

This was a great place to stay with great food, scenery, and hosts. I will start by saying that we went at the beginning of July, which we knew would be a bad idea for two reasons, summer heat and bugs. We lucked out that the humidity had dropped considerably after we got there, and there were good winds all week. The bugs were bad (as we knew to expect for this time of year). The black flies were mostly gone, but the deer flies were bad, and the mosquitoes were probably the worst I have ever seen. But, like I said that is what you expect at this time of the season. I will also warn you to not blindly follow a gps' directions. My fiance was in the passenger seat with her phone, and as she had done all the planning, I jumped in the driver's seat and went where she told me to go. That was a mistake that took us waaay out of the way, into an area with no signal where we had no idea where we were. Luckily we found some locals that told us to hit the old rail bed (now a snowmobile trail) and take that for about 20 minutes. LOL Well we did that, saw a beautiful river, and got there with a good story to tell. Also, there is absolutely no cell reception once you arrive at the resort, so make sure you leave information with family so they can reach you through the resort if need be.

THE PEOPLE: The owners and their youngest son were easily some of the friendlies people we have ever met. They are the people you want to have running this sort of business. They are eager to make sure you have the best time possible. We were even luckier in the fact that there were not a lot of guests during our stay so we almost had the place to ourselves for much of our stay, and got to have many great conversations with their family. Turns out Fred is from the same area that we are originally from so we got to share many stories.

THE ACCOMMODATIONS: We stayed in Cottage #5 I believe (Blue Moon). There was myself, my fiance, and our baby boy. The cabin was rustic, as we knew ahead of time from reviews and speaking to Louise the owner. This is the sort of cottage I grew up going to and that I like (exposed wood, not big and fancy, etc.) Beds were comfortable and already had all the linens (less stuff to have to pack). The cabin had two bedrooms with a total of 5 beds and a cot, making it capable of housing a number of guests. The kitchen is well supplied, dish soap/cloths/towels also being provided, however, seating and prep room would be lacking if you were preparing food for a group the full size that this cabin could house. The bathroom was large, and again cloths, and hand towels provided. The major downfall was the water pressure, especially for showering (and this is the ONLY reason that I did not rate this with a full 5 stars). Due to the systems they have onsite, they can not provide much in the way of water pressure. This could deter some people, especially if staying for a whole week. They do create their own electricity on site, by way of a waterwheel, which is very interesting and environmentally friendly. This also means that guests can not have certain appliances, hair driers, etc. So keep that in mind when thinking of what type of guests you are and the duration of your stay. Keep in mind that you are going to have bugs in your cabin, if you can't deal with that, or the thought that mie may be in the area, this may not be for you.

THE FOOD: Although we brought a large amount of groceries for providing the majority of the meals during our week, we also planned on having a couple of meas at the lodge during our stay. Again we expected good things from the reviews, and Louise did not disappoint. We ended up going into the lodge for three full meals, and a couple additional trips for dessert and/or drinks. Everything we had was excellent. On our first night we went in after we cooked our own dinner and tried their beavertail for dessert. It was made with their own dough and tasted fantastic. Another time we went in after dinner and tried the moose tracks sundae with a couple of their cocktails knows as "Bear Bait". Both were soooo good. Take caution, the bear bait has quite a bit of alcohol in it. We went in on Wednesday night for their panzerotti/spaghetti night. I had the panzerotti (again made with their own delicious dough), and my fiance had the spaghetti and meatballs. Both dishes were a very generous size and were delicious (and my fiance complimented that the noodles were NOT overcooked). At the end of our stay we went in for wing night on Friday. They had both breaded and unbreaded wings. We tried 10 breaded with their mild sauce, and 10 unbreaded with their chilli thai sauce. Both were VERY good. We also decided to try the PFL onion rings. I wont ruin the surprise as to what they are, but they were excellent and you should definitely order them. On our final morning we departed after having breakfast. We each had the 2 egg meal, one with bacon and one with ham. The ham was real ham (not that crap ham roll kinda stuff), and the bacon was nice and think. We continued to stuff ourselves with a side order of chocolate pancakes. They were so good and loaded with chocolate chips.

SCENERY: This is a very nice location on what was once an island between two streams between neigbouring lakes. The waterfront at the lodge is stony but it is fine for walking on and even wading out into the water (I would just recommend water shoes here). You can also rent or use your own boat to head to the opposite end of the lake where there is a secluded little sandy section. It is a very nice little beach spot, away from anything or anyone else if no one else happens to be right on the beach when you go, the water is warm and clear, and you can wade quite a way out. Oh, and if you're right on the middle of the beach you may be able to get cell reception. There are a ton of snowmobile/atv trails all around which you can take your machines on if you have them, or are great even for walking. The large, bald cliff right next to the resort is actually easily reached by a walking trail that starts right from the road very close to the cottages. It has a great view and is a great spot to get pictures from, and to even pick some wild blueberries (just keep in mind that black bears also love blueberries). There were also plenty of elderberries around for picking and raspberries (this weren't ready yet), close to the cabins. Even the road is great for walking along and was never busy with traffic. We headed in for a day in Sudbury and were lucky enough to spot a bear cub only about a kilometer from the lodge. If you want to fish, you can get lots of small bass right from the dock. Through our stay we caught many smallmouth and rock bass, and also one decent pike. Another guest caught a very nice walleye as well.

GENERAL: The resort is only about an hour drive to Sudbury, which is nice for a day of checking out sites like Science North, The Big Nickel, and Dynamic Earth. There is a general store and LCBO in Hagar which is about 30 minutes away.

Room Tip: some cottages have lots of beds, but some may not have a lot of privacy. Check into sleeping arrang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinefallsmngmt, Owner at Pine Falls Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Hello Ontario_Craig,

Thank you for the review! We are so glad your family was able to spend Canada Day weekend with us! We are also very glad that the weather worked out favourably for you!

Blue Moon (Cabin #5) is a fantastic cabin and, as you say, one of our rustic gems! We're also so glad you got to try our special PFL Onion Rings! What a treat, eh? We love that you shared some beautiful pictures with us and fellow travellers as well.

We look forward to seeing your group in the future!!

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It's 45 min to 1-hr drive from Sudbury,Ont.It's 15-20 min drive into Pine Falls Lodge from Main
Hwy 17.by Hager store.My other half and I,travelled to Lodge twice,once in Summer time and in
On about Winter Time Dec 17th,One Yr.We stayed in Cabin 1-by Dam.Second Time Cottage
No-# 6 TwiLight Cabin In Winter.Both times,spent were excellent for us.The Cabins were Clean
As,Seniors it was worth a trip for us both,most enjoyable,trip and very relaxing,my better half could not wait to start her fishing and catching some fresh fish.She and I spent fishing all day.
The Owners,were the best of Hosts,to us both.Travelling to Lodge is,something else,you just may cross-paths with some wildlife,travelling to lodge.The lodge is built with logs,all by hand and its an awesome place to be in Winter,holding hot cup Java outside on deck,seeing Ice-crystals and or stomping in snow.Great for trail-walking with you partner and kids.
Yes,Great Food ,Great Hosts and Staff ,We will Be Back and Will Be Returning.In winter,time
it is just as quiet and soothing one's human soul,with quietness,balance,tranquility,harmony,
peacefullness and with a nice added touch holding a hot cup of Java with your special added
spirits for flavor and warmth.

Room Tip: Book in Advance,your Trip to Pine Falls Lodge,Cabin # 1-Summer Time ,For Winter in Dec. Select : Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

where else can you go and stay at an amazing place between 2 beautiful lakes! The atmosphere is so relaxing. The food is amazing. Wing night is so fun on Fridays with entertainment. Must try the spagetti and meatballs the best I have ever had! long drive but worth every minute. love love love!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Room Tip: alll the cabins are great! Clean! and have amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Had a super time at the Lodge again this year. Stayed in Cabin 2, fantastic sunrises from the screened in porch. Fishing was excellent with lots of bass and good quality boats and equipment

Enjoyed great food and really enjoyed wing night and the boys playing.

Even though it is a 6 - 7 hour drive from London, the time went quickly as Highway 11 is 4 lanes almost the compete way (less 10 - 15 kms) and I am looking forward to future trips.

Thanks Fred and Lou and family, including Diesel the wonder dog

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have held our staff appreciation event at Pine Hill Fall Lodge for 2 years in a row now and are very happy with the services avaible. The cabin we rent is clean and has almost everything you need. The lodge has excellent food, fast service, and great live entertainment every time we have been there. We will be returning next year.

Thank you from all of us at Not a Step Behind

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We recently experienced Friday Night Wing Night @ the Lodge was excellent.. Great wings relaxed atmosphere very welcoming.. enjoyed Will make it back...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pine Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Falls Lodge

Address: R.R. 1 | Markstay, Markstay, Ontario P0M 2G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Markstay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Markstay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Pine Falls Hotel Markstay
Pine Falls Lodge Markstay, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Falls Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.