We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mangwa Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mangwa Valley Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cullinan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mangwa Valley Game Lodge
Save
You added Mangwa Valley Game Lodge to your Saves list
Portion 15 | 123 Groenfontein, Cullinan 1000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Pretoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mangwa Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I got married at Mangwa valley.

first of all I had 4 different wedding coordinators, therefore had to go back and forth all the time starting form scratch.

the day was very special had excellent service from staff!!
Food was amazing, accommodation was great apart from towels that had a damp smell and did not feel very clean.

Breakfast the next day: the electricity was off they had a back up generator so breakfast was provided and was great.

after the wedding we tried getting our breaking deposit back it took me till may to get it back I got married in November. the admins staff is useless if I may say so as for bookings we also had issues with the accommodation part. after I got a friend of mine from the legal side to get hold of the owner the money was refunded.

I think my overall experience would have been amazing, but the big upset for me was the issue of the refund, the change of wedding coordinators all the time this made it very stressful and unnecessary.

would I recommend them no!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I had a wonderful weekend and enjoyed every moment if it.
The food was great and the people were friendly.
The food variety is a bit on the average side, but because of the high food quality and taste, it made up for it

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked this weekend trough Daddy'sDeal's and were not sure what to expect but we were very suprized!! From the first greeting till the goodbye were we treated with so much friendliness. The room was neat and comfortable but not sound proof. Could hear neighbours. We enjoyed the game drive and and made new friends. The dinner that night was exellent!! Friendly serves. We enjoyed the breakfast the next morning as well. Not even an hours drive from Pretoria makes this the ideal break a way where rest and quiet are the key here!! Absolutely loved it!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Werent sure what to expect but was absolutely blown away. Ideal location, super friendly and helpful staff, amazing food an comfortable living all for a great price.

This place is a winner. Can't go wrong!

Cathleen_SA, you're no fun

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I recently booked a weekend awY to Mangwa Valley. As I booked it through Daddy's Deals, I didn't know a lot about it. Big was my surprise when we arrived! Only an hour's drive from my house in Johannesburg, travelling was so easy.
We had the best weekend away! Definitely the friendliest service from everyone ever! Food was lovely, and gamedrive very exciting! Everybody who works there is very competent - nothing is too much trouble. Thank you so much for making it so special!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

What lovely get away, only 1hr and a half from Joburg. Accommodation options were a plenty, double rooms, cottages and even tented rooms available.

The game viewing was great, not the Big 5, but just as good and entertaining.

A definite must, but beware of the owner he sounds like a slave driver! Don't worry he is normally there anyway.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I booked a weekend away for my Partners Birthday, and made use of an online special. The property advertises itself as a 4 star property, but the rooms we stayed in were 2 star at the very most - we stayed in one of 7 rooms all built in a row, sharing dividing walls. It seems as if these are the only rooms that are not fully detached. The complete let down was that there was a large group of 10 who took over the entire section where our rooms were, and talked and cheered loudly, getting more and more drunk, and with the very bad desig of the rooms, the noise traveled and disturbed,, what was meant to be out romantic, quiet peaceful get-away. The flaw in the room walls design was that the walls did not go straight up to the thatch room pitch, and had sections of plywood patching the gaps - this just let sound transfer from room to room, as if we were all sleeping in the same room, and all outside noises traveled too. We spent the night listening to drunkards snore at top pitch, in sterio from both adjacent rooms. So, no peace, and no sleep.

The room only had 1 bedside table, 1 bedside lamp, no room safe, no luggage rack, and no shower door - so the small towels were used to mop up a flooded bathroom every morning. It is just not a 4 star room - it doesnt even have the minimum requiremnts for a 4 star room. I would query weather the grading is recent, or perhaps not relevant for these rooms.

The buffet dinner was over priced for the offering, but tastey and adequit. Unforntunatly for the Lodge, the loud , rude group seems to over take every aspect of the property, and it was very difficult for us to see past their loud rudeness to full enjoy the very beautiful setting.

We did speak to others whoe were in the chalets and luxury tents, and all seem to have far more privacy, and peace and quiet. I just wouldnt be able to bring myself to go back, given the bad experience we had.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 1 through to 7 at all. Go for a luxury tent, or a self catering challet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mangwa Valley Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangwa Valley Game Lodge

Address: Portion 15 | 123 Groenfontein, Cullinan 1000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Cullinan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Cullinan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mangwa Valley Game Lodge is situated in the heart of the Dinokeng Big 5 Game Reserve, and forms part of an ambitious project to develop a premier tourist destination in the North Eastern quadrant of the Gauteng Province. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mangwa Valley Game Lodge Cullinan, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangwa Valley Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.