We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ballunspitze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ballunspitze to your Saves list
Hotel Ballunspitze
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Silvrettastrasse 20, Galtur 6563, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Galtur
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We have spent many of the past Carnival vacation period at Hotel Ballunspitze in Galtur. We prefer the quiet getaway and relaxed snowboard environment at Galtur / Wirl.

We always stay in the new section of the hotel and couldn't be happier! Clean and spacious and quiet with excellent service. The food is excellent, always too much. There is a nice breakfast, lunch, afternoon cakes and dinner.

Skiing / snowboarding in Galtur (Wirl) is pretty laid back. The mountain is not overly challenging but fun and not too crowded. We prefer off piste and this year on the "far side" they cleared away some trees and therefore lots more places to look for powder.

If you want noise, crowd, super large ski area, apres ski, then take the bus to Ischgl, just 15 min away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Putte, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

When you travel with little children, it is always a challenge to find a good accomodation to satisfy all the needs. In this hotel, all needs are more than fullfilled.
We are a family with 2 girls (6/4 years) and 1 boy (1,5 year). We stayed for 1 week in a 'Romantic Suite', with 2 levels; on the upper level 2 separate beds and 1 baby cod. The room was very spacious, clean with separate toilet and modern bathroom. Enough space to put all clothes and also enough space for the children to play. With a little gate you could close the upper level from the lower level; so that little children can not fall of the stairs.
The meals were really great, adapted for both adults and children (separate children buffet). There is a lot of attention to healthy foord: vegetables; fruit. Personnel was friendly, effective and fast. Although we arrived late; the check-in was smooth; and well organised.
The big plus for this hotel was the daycare for little children. Friendly people and really enough space in the daycare; even for "older little children". Swimming pool was big enough; the water was warm; not like most others 27-28°C.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trutnov
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

A lot of money for little music.
According to hotel´s web, they are offering cozy family apartment with a balcony, 20m long bufet and wonderfull wellnes area.
The reality is : Sets in when you are welcomed by smell of chlorin from indoor swimingpool. Breakfast bufet is very poor, bufet is max. 5m at the most. Our room 303 and 304 had very old, with old furniture (without balcony), dirty walls and stick up cables from TV, the bathroom was very old too and water was muddy orange. The childrens´menu consisted only from spagetti, chips and sausages.
Finaly : the over all the hotel comes across as being cheap, noisy and the staff is very unprofesional. In my opinion there is no way it should have 4****. Wife and I have visited a lot of 4 **** wellness hotels in Austria. But this was absolutely the worst. In all

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Irealnd
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

This is the second time we stayed in the Ballunspitze in Galtur. We have always found the hotel and the staff to be extremely nice and efficient. Bertha and Leo the owners are very hands on and always about. Nothing is too much trouble and they are flexible in regard to requests. Food has always been excellent with a diverse and tasty menu. The Breakfast buffet is something else! Always looked forward to the evening meal after a hard days skiing.
The hotel is located in Galtur, ideal for family skiing. When the adrelaine kicks in then go to Ischgl. The best skiing and apres ski in Austria. No debate.
Leisure facilities excellent, extensive and spotless. Will be back!

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Stayed for a week in mid-March, two adults and a 6 yo kid. The hotel is on the outskirts of Galtür, but the are no ski lifts in Galtür anyway - they are in a different village named Wirl, so you need to take a free bus there, which is a three-minute ride. Another option is to take a bus to Ischgl in the opposite direction - it takes 15 min but the ski area is much bigger. The bus stop is literally on the doorsteps of the hotel which is convenient. Also, a ski rental is just across the street.

Overall a hotel is very good, with friendly staff, good food, swimming pool and kids' play area. I however sometimes felt a bit cramped, but maybe because our room - called Verwall - was not exactly what one would call "spacious", but they have over 10 other different types of rooms, and there have to be larger ones.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

Just returned from great family ski trip. The hotel is one of the Kinderhotel group of family friendly hotels, and lived up to expectations. We received a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings, with generally good quality all inclusive food . Good points- as above, relaxed atmosphere, lots of activities for the children including lovely swimming pool, games and play area , wellness area for adults, high quality childcare for young children.[ We didn't use it as our children are older but it was praised by others], a short ski bus ride from the small but perfectly formed ski resort of Galtur
Down sides - bedrooms comfortable but somewhat utilitarian , childcare and activities predominantly German speaking so may limit suitability for English only speaking children .
All in all, highly recommended for a relaxed family ski holiday.

  • Liked — Great pool and spa
  • Disliked — Dated bedrooms
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

Everything was wonderful. Kids and adults just loved it !
We'll come back ! :)

  • Liked — Wellness center
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ballunspitze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ballunspitze

Address: Silvrettastrasse 20, Galtur 6563, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Galtur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Galtur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galtur
#4 Spa Hotel in Galtur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ballunspitze 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our rooms & suites you will have space to retreat and to enjoy the time with your loved ones. Our room offers range from comfortable single and double rooms to spacious family suites with separate bedrooms. Four-star comfort on your family holidays or wellness holidays in Galtür near Ischgl is a matter of course. Enjoy the revitalising Grander water throughout our house or just help yourself to your included drinks. In our comfortable lounges, at the hotel bar, in the sunny dining room with the 20-meter long buffet and at our meeting place "Bierkessel" you will find time to socialize and to savour culinary delights. For we serve the very best from the popular regional cuisine. The Ballunspitze **** Cuisine is characterized by its Tyrolean roots and its creativity to create special treats. Fresh ingredients of the hightest quality are our top priority.Health & Beauty in Galtür near IschglMake your holiday in the Tyrol a time of regeneration and recovery. In addition to the numerous sports facilities in and around your Alpine Residence Ballunspitze **** our Wellness Oasis Vitalia and our Beauty Spa Jungborn offers you time for idleness and daydreaming. Look forward to the broad range of massages, baths, body wraps and facial treatments, and wellness for children. Even the youngest need time to relax.The hotel's Panorama Indoor Pool with Grander water, saunas, steam baths and infra-red cabins are just perfect for letting go and recharging.Top location, top facilities and top serviceThe road winds its way beautifully through the idyllic Paznaun. The proud Ballun Peak rises into the crystal blue sky and the mountains and valleys show all their glory - you have arrived at one of the most beautiful places of the village and at your Alpine Residence Ballunspitze **** - your Wellness Hotel and Family Hotel in Galtür near Ischgl. As a member of the Certified Children Hotels our hotel convices with its family-friendly and open atmosphere as well as with its top equipment with everything needed by children and families.Our hiking guides, swimming coaches, nursery school teachers and animators make your summer holidays or your winter holidays in Galtür near Ischgl an unforgettable experience. Get support and advice and discover Tyrol at its most impressive side. Only eight kilometers away from the famous Ischgl the health resort of Galtür presents itself as a perfect destination for the whole family full of charm and original Tyrolean character. Couples with children, singles & kids, grandparents and grandchildren, and patchwork families are not only warmly welcome, but also in good hands.We look forward to seeing you!Your host family, WalterBook your wellness holidays or family holidays in Galtür near Ischgl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ballunspitze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballunspitze Hotel Galtür

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ballunspitze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.