We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem with superb food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur to your Saves list
Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nr. 68, Galtur A-6563, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Galtur
Northallerton
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A real gem with superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Went here with friends on Crystal ski holiday.
Best hotel we've stayed at due to friendly efficient staff, fantastic food and pleasant surroundings.
Easy to catch regular free ski bus to Ischgl and Wirl (Galtur) - and also Kappl and See.
Galtur is a pleasant village for strolling around with a few cafes and bars and walks further afield and along riverside.
Free wifi. Excellent ski and boot room - and also storage depot at nearby Intersport if you want to avoid walking in ski boots on the hill to/from hotel.
Great jacuzzi, sauna and small steam room with relaxation area in the basement.
Nice breakfast with broad selection, but the piece de resistance was the afternoon sandwiches and cakes spread - superb!
Evening meals were 5 courses with nice gaps between. Choice of 3 mains to select the night before. Amazing quality, with huge salad table every night and good meats - eg wild boar, venison, pork, chicken and steaks.

Room Tip: with rooms at front with windows open you hear church bells at 7am each day and delivery/collection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
25
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This well appointed hotel is profesionaly run by a brother and sister team of the family Lorenz who lost family members in the tragic avalanche of February 1999.
There is a shrine in the reception area.I could not add to previous reviewers complimentary remarks and would not hesitate to stay there again.
Galtur is a good 20 mins by frequent (10 mins) bus to Ischgl and I recommend use of the central village bus stop 300 yds west of the hotel to ensure getting on(not a certainty in Austria as there is no queueing system )There is a free ski depot at intersport shop wolfart which saves the treacherous Hotel access rd
There is a supermarket 400yds east and a sports centre/swimming pool 500yds south.The alpinarium in the main street is worth a visit at 7 euros as it has information about the avalanche The local ski area is at Wirl a 5 minute bus ride west and is worth a day or two .It would be quite adequet for a beginners week.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in hotel for a week's ski trip and found it to be far better than anything ever experienced whist skiing.

Staff were both friendly and professional and the food was as good as it gets. The five courses each night did get a bit much! Drinks were very reasonably priced too.

Facilities were excellent from the lounge to the sauna, steam room and whirl pool.

Only minor gripe was the room needed a little updating but was clean and no real complaints.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We really have nothing to add that recent reviewers have not already said.
Everything was perfect - big clean rooms comfy beds lots hot water and really fabulous food and plenty of it .
Every single member of staff was helpful friendly and smiled !

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at this fantastic hotel.

The service is perfect; just the right blend of warmth and professionalism to make you feel well looked after and welcome.

Dining is a highlight, food is imaginative, delicious and lavishly presented, and generous too! I took a tip from another review and went for small portions after first few nights! Breakfast has all the usual hams, smoked meats, cheeses, mueslis, yoghurts and breads plus boiled or scrambled eggs and thin bacon. Very tasty, especially the quince jam. Afternoon tea is a highlight, a range of delicious open sandwiches and small cakes and deserts. Just what you need after a day's skiing. Dinner is an experience, five courses all top quality and wonderfully presented. Select the day ahead from three choices of main course and the salad bar turns out a changing layout of dishes. The house wine was good, and the wine list included some great - and v reasonably priced - Austrian wines that we really enjoyed. Mr Lorenz was a knowledgable sommelier. Service in the restaurant was impeccable throughout.

Nice small bar, great local lager on tap and, again, excellent service.

Room was lovely, clean and well appointed and large. We upgraded to balcony and seating area and were very happy - wonderful views of the mountain. Bathroom had a bath, hand shower and bidet and separate toilet. Room was toasty warm throughout.

There is a boot and ski room but we took up the arrangement the hotel has with the ski shop near the bus stop and stored boots/skis there every night which avoided any problems with the drive and placed us at the ski bus every morning geared up. Yes the drive is a bit of a slope - but as this is a mountainous region it's expected, no? And it contributes to the silent peaceful nights residents enjoy off the road.

We used the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi most nights and found them excellent. Fluffy robes are provided. Take some pool flip flops.

There's a supermarket within a five minute walk and a great coffee shop the other way. Galtur is a lovely little village.

We went with Crystal who didn't add much, but Mr Lorenz made up for that; he gave us weather forecasts each morning and info about lift/piste closure at all resorts.

In terms of skiing, we liked Galtur, compact and quiet. Lovely little restaurant at the end of the red/black. Five mins from hotel on bus.

The other way, Ischgl was huge and has lots of pistes to offer. The weather wasn't ideal when we went and piste conditions weren't great. It's quite a busy area, the only one I've ever been to that boasts lap dancing clubs. Lots of v expensive high fashion ski-wear shops. There are some great long runs, including the one into Switzerland which is a must.

We'd love to return to the hotel. They made sure we had a great holiday.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a lovely hotel with a great outlook on the edge of the village. Rooms are large with very comfortable beds. Also, the internal walls are made of masonary (which is not always the case) and soundproofing between rooms is very good.

Food is excellent the set menu has a good choice. Buffet breakfast has all you can reasonably expect. The wellness centre is also very nice. There is no swimming pool as such but the spa pool, steamroom and sauna are very good.

Other reviewers have commented on the steep drive. Yes it is steep but it does appear to be heated somehow and so is not often icy. Also, the owners have entered into an agreement one of the 2 local ski shops (Wolfart) whereby you can leave your kit in the rather than drag it back to the hotel. If you've gone to the mountains to ski or walk, you really shouldnt be that bothered about 30 metres of steep driveway !

Oh, and the owners and staff are extremely polite and helpful.

Room Tip: The best rooms look west and have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Alpenhotel is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in for a skiing trip. The staff are all very friendly, the food is very good and the rooms are all big and cosy warm. The ski and boot room in the basement is very handy - didnt use the other facilities so I cannot comment. The little hill up the driveway is nothing to worry about either.

The buses are regular and well sign posted. The Ischgl TV channel was a very useful for seeing what the weather was like in the resort - it was a bit windy one day so we went to Kappl for the day instead. Galtur itself is a bit too quiet for our liking but this can be rectified by the short bus trip to Ischgl. Wirl is a pretty small resort but good for beginners. Ischgl is a beast of resort with everything you could possibly want for skiing and boarding (think Tignes and Val D'Isere in one).

Everybody says to get off at the 2nd bus stop in Ischgl (which is correct) to add to this walk past the first seilbahn you get to and get on at the fimbabahn, even less queuing!
Only negatives we came across were:
The bar shutting at 2200 in the hotel.
We missed dinner one night and we were made to feel a bit guilty for not letting them know!
Very quiet nightlife.
We didnt get any local food like strudel or wiener schnitzel on the hotel menu - a minor gripe.

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur

Address: Nr. 68, Galtur A-6563, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Galtur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galtur
#2 Spa Hotel in Galtur
#2 Family Hotel in Galtur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur Hotel
Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur Galtür

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenhotel Tirol Galtur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.