We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Altomincio Family Park

Save Saved
You added Altomincio Family Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Altomincio Family Park
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Localita Torrente Valle, 37067 Valeggio Sul Mincio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Kfar Saba, Israel
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Huge but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a huge camping park - 750 caravans with up to 4000 people in the summer high season.

Plus:
*Caravans are very comfortable. We were in the 3 bedroom, 1 bath chalet.
*Great Olympic size pool and fun water slides. Older kids (ages 13 - 22) enjoyed sliding down them on inflatables.
* Washers and dryers open 24 hours. 4 E for each. Saved us since we could not find any self wash places for a week while traveling in Northern Italy.
*Can rent bikes for 24 hours - 5 km to Lake Garda along the river.
^Miniture golf, market, bar, ice cream parlor
* Very geared for younger children.
* Close to Gardaland - were able to buy discount tickets at camp site (25 Euro)

Minus:
*Make sure you they do not book you in a caravan that is far away in the new area behind the reception. We were in the center and it was great.
*Mosquitoes - be prepared.
*Market has everything but is overpriced by 20 - 30%.
*Stay away from the Restaurant. Expensive, poor service and poor quality. Use only for ordering take out (small pizza is 6 Euro.)
* Need a car to get around. About 10 minute drive to Lake Garda.

Was a good deal for us because camping places on the lake weren't available .

Room Tip: Make sure you have a caravan close to the center where the pools, activities, services and restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    68
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
177
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I will start by saying that we have never stayed in a holiday park before and my husband was not at all keen on the idea - but it seemed like a good idea to me as I thought it would be great for small children and not expensive and it was perfect! We chose Altomincio because we wanted to go to Lake Garda and it looked like the best park for small children (ages 3 and 1).

We booked through Thomson Al Fresco and they were great. Check-in and out were easy, our mobile home was in the perfect location (on the main road through the park so very close to parking area (1 minute) and the pool area (5 minutes)) and they were very helpful whenever we had queries. This might seem silly but I had imagined that the camp would not have paved roads - but all the roads are paved and the little lawns in front of all the mobile homes are well taken care of - so if you are driving, definitely bring bikes, scooters, etc! Thomson, Elle Vacanze Premium and Keycamp seem to have the best mobile homes (with nice, large bbqs and good locations) whereas Homair looked the worst.

As others have said, you have to have a car here - otherwise you are stuck at the park which would be quite boring after a day or two. We went out every morning and came back around 3.30 in the afternoon so always had a couple of hours in the pool before dinner etc. There is so much stuff to do around Lake Garda but here is what we ended up doing:

- Gardaland - good amusement park, not too big, easy to navigate. Go midweek! We never waited more than 1 minute for a ride!
- Parco Giardino Sigurta - very famous (and huge) Italian gardens just up the road from Altomincio. You can take a little train around the park or hire bikes or hire golf buggies! Good idea for a weekend so you can avoid the traffic around the lake.
- Thermal springs in Cola - lovely thermal lakes. Would be perfect for a slightly cooler day because the little lakes are so warm! And huge park and nice self-service restaurant too!
- Malcesine / Monte Baldo cablecar - the views are amazing, but this was a hassle even in the middle of September on a weekday (not very many parking spaces closeby, long queues to get up and down the mountain etc). Malcesine, however, is beautiful and worth a visit. Maybe go to the castle instead of Monte Baldo - although Monte Baldo would be fun if you don't have small children and can do the hike back down to Malcesine (3 hours).
- Peschiera (town on the lake nearest to Altomincio) and then take the fast ferry to Sirmione (beautiful town in the middle of the lake on a peninsula). Go midweek because Sirmione is very,very popular with Italians and tourists.
- Visit lake towns (we liked Torri del Benaco and Lasize) - both have really nice playgrounds and nice squares and lakefronts
- Baia delle Sirene (San Viglio) - just after Garda. This place is magic. As you enter, there is a playground and a lovely beach area on the right. On the left, there is an amazing hotel and restaurant with a gorgeous bar on a jetty in the lake. Stunning for sunset!
- Parco Natura Viva - this is a drive-through safari park and a zoo with an 'extinction park' (dinosaur models). Not the best activity, but we spent a good 3 hours here and the kids really enjoyed the tiger (and the playground).

As others have said, the kids pool (and the baby pool) at Altomincio are great and our kids had hours of fun here. They also LOVED the minidisco every night. I loved the fact that there were very few English people here and our children could play with German and Dutch children in the playgrounds (there are about 10 little playgrounds in Altomincio).

Overall, we had a SUPER holiday. My son keeps telling me that it was the best holiday ever and really wants to go back to Italy. However, as he starts school next year, I don't know if I would do this type of holiday again as I don't think I would want to be here in the school holidays (because it is a bit crammed and I imagine it would be annoying if you had to wait for take-away or the restaurant or if there were too many people in the pool).

If you are still able to go in early June / September, then I heartily recommend this as amazing, family-friendly holiday. Your children will love it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays Customer Service at Altomincio Family Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with Al Fresco Holidays at Altomincio. Thank you for the great feedback and recommendations you have provided. We hope to see you again this summer. Kind Regards Al Fresco Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights on a road trip through Germany, switerzland and Italy. We booked with EuroCamp and although our mobile was very small it was clean and had everything we needed although husband was not impressed that there was no telly especially during the olympics, you could go down to the bar area as there was a telly in there but to get served was a total nightmare, it is extremely busy at the bar and if you want a seat you have to get there early evening and because of this the money on your card goes super quick! On a few nights we decided to make use of our balcony and sat out with a candle and had our own drinks.
The shop on camp is ok, some things are pricey or smaller sized compared to the local supermarket, because we travelled by car we were able to make use of the local facilities and the supermarket in the village is great, we bought all our bbq food from there. There is also a little restaurant across the road from the supermarket which we ate at one night. It was ok, 6 euro was added to our bill which we were unsure off so questioning this we found out it was a service charge, 1.50 pp.
The camp is great for little kids with all the slides and shallow water, we bought inflatables which made the slides more entertaining. Everyone is so friendly here, we met families from Germany, Holland and France and then our kids all played together which was nice as sometimes we just wanted to chill out.
You MUST get there early to get a sunlounger!!!! Gates open to the pool area at 9am and around 0830 there are queues, when the gates open everyone just legs it for the best beds.
The pizza place there is no good when they have lots of orders especially around lunch and tea they just can't seem to cope, messing up peoples orders and then pizza's just left on the counter with flies all landing on them, really do not eat there!
If you do not have a car it would be a good idea to hire as the surrounding areas are beautiful, we visted Gardaland for the day which was fantastic and then another day found a beautiful part of the lake to sunbathe and swim.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at the Altomincio Family Park in August 2012 with out 2 kids aged 9 and 1 and a half. The facilities for kids at the campsite are second to none. We booked through booking.com and though out mobile home was a bit far from the center of the park what was good was the peace and quiet and the fact that they provided a shuttle service to the pools and bars every 5 minutes, and in fairness it was only about a 10 minute strole to the centre, but with the heat in August it just seemed a bit far at times. Best campsite I have ever been to by far :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Hi just returned from or second trip to Altomincio this year. Its still great, safe and fun although you could tell it was end of season as things were a bit relaxed, not as clean and things needed fixing! We stayed with TUI Thomson Al Fresco defo not as good as Keycamp, caravan was dirty, very small (we did book a small one as that was all that was available, don't book a Puccini, tiny and very badly planned, minging bed covers), BBQ broken, shower broken, kitchen taps, smoke alarm and other bits and bobs broken etc. Safe, lovely kids club people but still only a few UK familoes so I'm fed p of rde germans and arrogant dutch...but thats just me and from the experiences me and my family encountered. Over and out.

Room Tip: Don't go with Thompson Al Fresco! Rep was moaning about having to do cleaning and that was clear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays Customer Service Team at Altomincio Family Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Altomincio, I'm concerned to hear that you were not happy with your accommodation. Our representatives are trained to prepare your accommodation to a high standard ready for your arrival and I'm sorry you felt this had not happened in your case. We are putting into place a new monitoring system for the upcoming season to highlight such issues.
The Puccini is our smallest accommodation and we describe them as compact but perfect for a small family's needs and budget, however we do have the Rossini and Vivaldi mobile homes on Altomincio which are more spacious with an extra bedroom. I hope you enjoyed your holiday overall and hope to see you again Kind Regards Al Fresco Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was our second camping holiday with Thomson Al Fresco. The mobile was very clean and overall the accommodation was good, but the mobile homes are so close together that there is absolutely no privacy. Even if you are in your mobile, you can hear noise from the others!! I would be woken early morning to the sound of shouts or crys of children in the mobile behind us!!

The facilities were very good and the kids really enjoyed the slides. The pool was very busy, but we always managed to get chairs, mostly down at the small sandy area, where it was a little quieter.

The restaurant was ok, the supermarket was very good.

You have to have a car here and there are beautiful places to see nearby.

Overall we had a pleasant stay, but because the mobiles are so close together, I would not be going back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

It was the first time we have ventured over to Italy for a holiday like this and we got what we expected. The park has had a lot of money spent on it and some of the facilities are fantastic. Highlights being the lagoon pool (awesome for kids especially), bar and decent shop offering. The big talking point is the site layout... All the mobile homes are kind of packed in and you have to park your car on one of the car parks on the edge. The reps run a golf buggy service to compensate but it does discourage you from going off site, and it was a bit annoying after v long drive. It's not going to stop you enjoying things once there of course, we just soaked up the fantastic weather and took the kids to the pool every day, BBQ and wine on the deck each night... Few other things to mention... A small minority of the pitches are up the top of the hill near reception and quite a walk from the facilities. Eurocamp, Keycamp and Thomson aren't in these but beware because we would not have been happy to find ourselves there (and it's only fair to mention it). And should also mention that this really is a big busy site, what we wanted but if you are after a peaceful life you may be better served elsewhere. Make sure your mobile home has AC because its properly hot in summer here. Overall lots to like and we would return...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Altomincio Family Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altomincio Family Park

Address: Localita Torrente Valle, 37067 Valeggio Sul Mincio, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Valeggio Sul Mincio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty lodging in Valeggio Sul Mincio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altomincio Family Park 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Altomincio Family Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altomincio Family Park Hotel Valeggio Sul Mincio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altomincio Family Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.