We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Schanck Light Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Schanck Light Station to your Saves list
Cape Schanck Light Station
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   420 Cape Schanck Rd, Cape Schanck, Victoria 3939, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Cape Schanck B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed at the Cape Schanck Red Cottage last night and really enjoyed our stay. A friend of mine went to the lighthouse and brought back some wonderful photos. I thought it would be a great idea to take the family to experience the beautiful surroundings and tranquility of the cottages. The cottage was old and basic but what do people expect for 100 year old cottages. It is great they are keeping the same look and feel. I have to admit the cottage was extremely clean and comfortable. Mike the lighthouse keeper took us to our cottage and showed us around. He was very hospitable and friendly. They even had the heater ready and kindling set up for the fireplace. Sitting around the fireplace at night was so beautiful. We went to the RACV Golf Club Restaurant for dinner (which was beautiful) and came back to the sight of the working lighthouse. That was amazing. We enjoyed walking around the grounds and we enjoyed the wonderful views from the walking paths. It was also great getting up early with my son to take some dawn photos of the lighthouse. Overall it was a beautiful stay and a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Schanck L, Owner at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thankyou for enjoying our special escape from the big city and the present generation. We will congratulate our staff member Mike on a job well done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    4
    3
    9
See reviews for
11
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
drysdale
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We planned our annual get together of family & friends at Cape Schanck Lighthouse and as someone said its something everyone should do at least once. However saying that it is need of both a makeover and modernisation of facilities.
To start the booking system and website are difficult and confusing. We assumed from website we needed 2 cottages to fit our visitors into property however discovered there was an assistant keepers 'room' attached to the White Cottage which would have been perfect for our last 2 friends. ( we had to book 2 cottages as they dont allow 8 adults per cottage)
Also there is no mention of being a Golden Chain property except a card on the mantlepiece which meant we forwent our 10% members discount ( its not cheap to stay there by the way!)
The Red cottage is OK but basic ,but with a disfunctional toilet the 4 staying they were a little grumpy - 3 good size bedrooms , large lounge and kitchen. Weird however was staff using the laundry facilities for the resort laundry which used all the hot water and curtailed evening showers to get warm! That has the capacity to make girls Very grumpy!
Also those protected stick nest rats make a huge racket in the roof!
The White Cottage has better facilities (2 toilets and showers!) and good kitchen/ lounge etc. and an open fireplace with lots of dry timber for chilly nites. Being a little picky( because we clean cottages) there were a number of surfaces needing a brush off and plenty of spiders running around walls and ceilings.
The gate system badly needs a modernisation - opening and shutting padlocks and gates in the teeming rain is a p a i n! Security in a working lighthouse area is understood however these days gates run on sensors and automatic exits and entries.
So all in all thanks Cape Schanck Lighthouse , you have a unique property. Just think about how you can make it more user friendly.

Room Tip: Book the White Cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Schanck L, Owner at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Our website has an interactive map of each cottage and you can see each room and the bedding configuration, the use of this would have solved the bedding configuration issue. Our website does have a golden chain logo and on arrival two golden chain signs and we would have given the ten percent discount if told that you had a membership card. The cottages use tank water for drinking and bore water for the toilets, a stone had got caught in the toilet system which prevented the water from coming in quickly if we had been told during the stay this could have been rectified.  We wash the laundry in cold water not hot for environmental reasons . The hot water system is a storage system and may not cope with eight persons having two long showers, we are on tank water and need to conserve its use. We are in a national Park and have many bush animals on the property which are all protected. The front gate has a padlock which is used in most country farms and is part of the historic nature of the property.
We are pleased that it is appreciated as an historic property registered by the National Trust  and will be keeping the 1859 tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This experience is something everyone should do at least once.
we stayed in the Museum cottage which was the assistant lighthouse keepers cottage and it was just great. We enjoyed the experience even though the cottage was not modern. It was very clean and basic, but somehow it went with the total package.
We took supermarket frozen meals and wine and were very comfortable. Loved the walks and the history. The staff were very friendly and came and checked up on us to make sure we were ok.

Room Tip: Take some food so you don't have to go back to civilisation and just enjoy the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Schanck L, Owner at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
We enjoyed your company thanks for the review .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

The moment you walk or drive into the lighthouse area there is serene feeling of tranquility. Immediately you know this is a special place. Your body relaxes and you find yourself whispering as you listen to the sounds of nature and the ocean. The lookout at the Museum Cottage was like being back on the bridge of a ship. The staff are wonderful and promote that great feeling. Thank you Sue, Mike and Natasha for making our stay so memorable. Look forward to meeting the rest of the crew another time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Schanck L, Owner at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Although we enjoyed the unique experience and the history of the lighthouse, the decor was somewhat worn for the price and after a mix up with the booking they refused to issue a refund. We declared that we were staying with an infant so they charged us an extra $25 per night, even though the infant was 8 months old and did not use any of the bedding. Another couple who were also staying had the same aged infant and were not charged the extra $25 per night. We explained the error and although they admitted we should not have been charged we were refused a refund as we had booked online. Overall the location is picturesque, yet we were left disappointed by our experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Schanck L, Owner at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
The booking was made on line as a child not an infant. The booking system goes through a third party and has a cancellation or change conditions which would have cost the occupant more than the refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Schanck hotels

Melbourne
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I booked the Museum cottage for one night to celebrate my husbands birthday.
This very basic accommodation cost $200 for 1 night & a very measly continental breakfast was $13 pp. the linen & towels were clean and fresh but the beds very hard. Despite paying a considerable amount for such basic accommodation it was a further $46 for a tour of the Lighthouse.
We stayed an ordinary Monday night outside of any holiday time. I requested a later checkout so the kiddies and I could give hubby a birthday breakfast in bed. I was assured it was fine as we were the only booking at the station that night or the following night.
When we left the keys the following day (later as organised)we were told by the head lighthouse keeper that we had"overstayed our welcome" and had already been charged another $200 against our credit card for a 2nd night! The charge was reversed in the end but we were left feeling completely disrespected and offended.
The same day I wrote a long email to the establishment asking for an explanation for the dreadful service and appalling lack of hospitality..That was 3 weeks ago, I am yet to receive a response.
In all good conscience I could never recommend this place to anyone, and for the record this is the FIRST time I have ever left negative feedback.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Schanck L, Owner at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
With a surprise birthday on many occasions the recipient is not satisfied with the present as was in this case. Expectations are usually greater than reality. The cottage is an 1887 year old heritage building and does not have the 21st Century fit out . Where and tear does occur but the cottage maintenance is at a height standard.
With the internet online bookings occur overnight as happened in this case , the guest did not check in the morning if this was the case and left on a long hike. Resulting in us having to give another cottage to a guest who was not happy.
Lighthouse tours for a family are an additional charge as we get many guests who stay several nights and so it is inappropriate to include this in the booking but there is an online option at a cheaper rate if made at the time of booking.
I was on annual leave when the correspondence was received and have subsequently replied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying overnight at the Cape Schanck Lighthouse -as we were staying on a Sunday night we were the only guests (there are not too many rooms I believe) which was just fine with us!

Whilst the room was very 'old school' (it is historic after all, no heating built in, but the reception have popped a heater in the room and turned it on before we got there which was a lovely touch) the amazing surroundings of the lighthouse and scenery was definately worth the visit -walking around a lighthouse at night whilst it's beacon roams the sea is a very cool and unusual experience (and quite romantic!)

in the morning a walk down through the reserve is a must -head on down to the beach on the walkway and you may see a seal, and a spectacular view!

Make sure you have everything you need before you get to the accomodation -there is no shops or anything in the vicinity! :)

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Schanck L, Owner at Cape Schanck Light Station, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for a great summary. Flinders is fifteen minutes drive a good sleepy town with a traditional general store. Rosebud is twenty minutes and has the big city shopping Mal .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Schanck Light Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Schanck Light Station

Address: 420 Cape Schanck Rd, Cape Schanck, Victoria 3939, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Cape Schanck
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Schanck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Schanck Light Station 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 20 acres of grounds, the Cape Schanck Lighthouse was built in 1859. The lighthouse beam sits 100 metres above sea level, and took the Lighthouse keeper and his 2 assistants 72 turns of the clockwork mechanism to wind it up every 12 hours. The special crystal lens that is still in use was made in France in 1858, and was transported over the vast oceans via sailing ship. It is now valued at more than $5million. 59 circular steps lead up inside the 21 metre high lighthouse which gives spectacular views across the cliffs and ocean to Port Philip Heads in one direction and past Phillip Island to Cape Paterson in the other.Four Cottages occupied by former lightkeepers can now be your base while you explore the Mornington Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Cape Schanck Light Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Schanck Light Station Mornington Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Schanck Light Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.