We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sincere, warm and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzicato Eco Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vico del Gargano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pizzicato Eco Bed & Breakfast
Via Antonio Bucci 13, 71018 Vico del Gargano, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sincere, warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Guiseppe, the young owner/operator of Eco B&B, is the main reason why we rate his B&B so highly. He is passionate about Vico del Gargano and the beautiful sights in the area and wants to share them with the rest of the world, and he sincerely cares about his guests. We were very impressed by the time, care and attention that Guiseppe provided on our arrival, with suggestions on where to eat (both restaurants were excellent) and several options of what to see. Breakfast is served at a wonderful coffee shop/bakery/bar that has been in Guiseppe's family for three generations and is also very popular with locals of all ages - excellent coffee and fantastic pastries of every description - including gluten free selections. The room was really big with a full kitchen, big bathroom and a washing machine! We loved our stay and wished we'd booked for more than two nights. If you go, be sure to take a drive through the Umbra forest - hard to beat a drive through tall trees with dappled sunlight. We stopped to stretch our legs and heard what sounded like beautiful music and it turned out to be cow bells - very cool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    28
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
93
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Eco B&B is a jewel in a fascinating and beautiful corner of Italy. We absolutely loved our experience in the Gargano and we are so happy to have found Eco B&B.

The Gargano region is gorgeous and offers the best of town and country – Vico is a vibrant and fascinating centre, with great restaurants, fantastic cuisine, friendly people and the best part, Eco B&B and Bar Pizzicato. We were at the Bar several times everyday – for the amazing breakfast in the morning, included with the B&B, with fabulous coffee and pastries, for a snack or light meal throughout the day, or for an aperitivo or cocktail in the evening.

Our host Giuseppe, whose family owns Eco B&B and Bar Pizzicato, is a kind, generous and passionate individual. He is is not only a talented barista and mixologist, but he is also your own personal Gargano expert. He organised activities for us, booked our meals, suggested fantastic sights and restaurants, and spent time explaining all that the region has to offer. At Eco we had the best of both worlds – the independence of an apartment with the guidance and know-how of a savvy local. Giuseppe is truly one of a kind, and we are so glad to have met him – he truly made our experience special.

There is so much to see in the Gargano – beautiful beaches, fascinating towns, historical sights and amazing scenery. 3 days weren’t enough. But we will be back! And we know where we will be staying – Eco B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I am not sure there is much to add about this place. All reviews before tell you that you get more from a vacation in Vico del Gargano with the support from Guiseppe than you could expect to get from anywhere. I was here in May on a relaxing four days with a friend, and I would say that the stay here was exceptional. First, Vico del Gargano has no tourists at all this time of the year and was very charming. The rooms are nice, cool and clean, the oranges are, for a Swede like me, absolutely lovely. I never had this oranges at home.... The bar and gelateria use mostly organic local products and they make the most themselves. Like the latte mandorlo which normally is a chemical product, is here made from fresh almonds. Not to mention the ice cream, the pastries and the coffee! Exceptional all over. But then, what really made it: the service and support we got from Guiseppe! Well, we only had a few days, we talked, he listened and came up with proposals for restaurants, the best beaches, places to see etc. A service that also made us fall in love not only with Pizzicato but with this beautiful part of Italy. I will bring my family next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Thinking about venturing off the tourist path and into Puglia's Gargano Peninsula?

DO IT! And make sure you stay with Pino Pizzicato and his Eco B&B when you go there!

The Pizzicato B&B is the perfect base to explore Vico del Gargano, a barely discovered gem of a town, from. Great location and cute rooms, with the added (and massive) benefit of the Breakfast half of the Bed & Breakfast waiting for you at one of Italy's most spectacular bars. Great coffees, pastries, gelati and cornetti, all made freshly in house. Your host and guide is Pino, who seemingly knows everyone in the entire Gargano, and will always call ahead to let them know you're coming and deserve special treatment.

Remarkable value for money and an unforgettable experience. Amazeballs, basically.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Everything in Vico del Gargano seems to revolve around the excellent and bustling Pizzicato Bar, and most of the town seems to call there at least once a day. The breakfasts which are provided there were memorable to say the least. Hand over the paper tokens Guiseppe provides and a coffee, choice of croissants. a large juice and a couple of small cakes appear as if by magic -excellent quality and more than enough!
But the initial welcome by Guissepe when you first arrive beats even that -as he explains the details the welcoming aperitif which you're served is not only a large and delectable drink, but a collection of antipasti which is almost a meal in itself, including a selection of chopped raw vegetables from the family gardens.
We stayed in a VERY nice apartment in the new town which, apart from a small problem locking the door was excellently equipped -a one bedroomed home rather than a normal B&B.
Guiseppe advises you where to go and what to see; either you go by yourself, or he'll arrange the excursion - and he always knows where the best places to eat are. And his network of contacts ensures that if you say you're from Pizzicato you get a 10% discount on the meal as well.

It was an experience! Maybe next time we'll stay in their apartment in the old town, as, in our 70s, we found walking to the Pizzicato Bar a bit far, but we could always take the car, there's plenty of parking ( at this time of the year at least), the aperitif also comes in an equally spectacular non-alcoholic version, and Vico del Gargano is a fascinating town.

Many thanks Guiseppe, and all those others in Pizzicato who ensured there was always a welcome from early morning to late at night at the Bar.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A little slice of heaven and the BEST dollar-for-dollar value in all of Italy: Not only do you get a clean, newly-renovated apartment with a spectacular view, you have breakfast in what is arguably one of the finest bars in the country. Their pastries are divine, their service exceptional, and for the price of a single glass of wine, you get an array of snacks the size of a small meal. We’ve stayed in a Pizzicato apartment twice now. The apartments, while different from each other, were cozy and comfortable. They each had a wonderful view of goats on a hill and the sea in the background. We love Vico. We have family there, so we’ve not had to ask for much advice from Giuseppe. But he is an incredible host. He’s extremely available if we do need anything and in a town where few, if any speak English, his is very good. I can tell he’s super devoted to his business and his guests. He works hard to make everyone comfortable and happy. We’re planning to go back again this year and already have a reservation at one of his apartments. So THAT says a lot about what we think!

Room Tip: So far, all the apartments seem great. We've seen three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

While Vico del Gargano takes some effort to get to, the experience and service you receive from Giuseppe at Pizzicato B&B is well worth it. We stayed in the Blue Home which is inside the old city and it provided an unbelievable experience. We were staying in a home surrounded by local families, not tourists. We shopped at their markets and ate at their restaurants. We experienced what it was like to live in a small Italian mountain town. Giuseppe made sure we got great deals at local restaurants and found beautiful beaches on the Gargano Peninsula. We had to park and walk through small alleyways and tunnels to get to the home (this added to the experience for us) which had a lovely courtyard where the local children played. Be aware that there was no toilet seat which threw us for a loop. At first we thought it had been stolen but slowly realized that toilet seats are not all that common in these small Italian towns. I only point this out here because it could ruin the experience for some visitors. We adapted and got a great laugh about it. There is a washing machine which was a great add as we did our own laundry - including hanging the clothes on the line outside the balcony to dry. That somehow added to the experience in this small town. The Blue Home has a rooftop deck and a small balcony which both overlook this quaint mountain town. From the balcony we watched local sheepherders and a funeral ceremony at a small country church. We watched the locals come and go as they followed their routines and had a birds-eye view to the slow pace of life in this beautiful remote town. The overall experience was one we will not soon forget thanks to Giuseppe and Pizzicato.

Room Tip: We never saw the main Pizzicato B&B building (I think it is slightly more modern and isn't i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pizzicato Eco Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pizzicato Eco Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via Antonio Bucci 13, 71018 Vico del Gargano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Foggia > Vico del Gargano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Vico del Gargano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pizzicato EcO B&B, with his bed and breakfast and Gargano Hotels, offers to tourists, that love a relaxing holiday within an ecological setting, one of the best services in the Gargano area. The B&B is located in one of the towns of "The most Beautiful Villages on Itlay": Vico del Gargano, also known as "land of love". The village is part of the Gargano National Park, for this reason it has ancient origins boasting with great archeological value. Just few miles away there are beautiful beaches and lovely views of olive groves and citrus orchards. Within this beautiful setting, only ten minutes walk from the center of Vico, the B&B offers to its guests four apartments, each one located on the first floor and with separate entrance.They all offer modern surroundings and bright colours giving a feeling of warmth, relaxation and tranquility. The apartments can accomodate up to four persons each, ideal for families, couples or groups of friends, equipped with all kind of comforts. At no additional cost we provide clean towels, clean beddings and you will have the possibility to exercise in our fitness area or to ride a bike in this beautiful natural surrounding! We also provide breakfast that is served by the Romondia family in the Bar Pasticceria Pizzicato. The place offers an outdoor common area fitted with tables and chairs, You can all eat "al Fresco"!, we also provide parking both inside and outside. Nevertheless we make available, to all our guests, our knowledge and expertise of the area and of its attractions, so you can take advantage of this and arrange excursions and visits to the neighboring areas, enriching your vacation with that historical and natural informations needed to fully immerse in the Beautiful Gargano region. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzicato Eco Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pizzicato Eco Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list