We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded grandeur but still has the wow factor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel La Sonrisa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel La Sonrisa to your Saves list
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Stabia 500, 80057 Sant'Antonio Abate, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Faded grandeur but still has the wow factor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

A strange eclectic mix of a hotel. Very polite staff, accommodating. Had a family room with balcony which had a nice view across the valley. Just don't look down as a lot of the hotels extra tables and stuff made it look a little untidy. Room was clean, cool and had a lovely bathroom. We got the impression the hotel was not as exclusive as it used to be with pictures of various stars staying there over the years. Beautiful grounds and lots of photo opportunities. A couple of weddings going on - amazing wedding cakes. Never seen so many tiers. Children felt they were in a princess castle. We had a dip in the pool which was welcome due to heat but not v child friendly. V deep and luckily our kids are confident enough in arm bands. More of an ornamental pool. Had dinner and the options were limited for kids. Chips were a bit uncooked in the middle. Staff very accommodating and good with kids. Breakfast nice. Enjoyed our stay but glad it was for one night.

Room Tip: Great hotel. Welcome children but not a child friendly hotel in terms of facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    50
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
59
68
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, really grand. The staff were friendly and attentive. The outside of the hotel is just as beautiful as the inside with fountains and statues in true Italian style. Unfortunately, we stayed only 1 night but we look forward to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is beautiful, really grand and decadent. The staff were fantastic, so friendly and attentive. The outside of the hotel is just as beautiful as the inside with fountains and statues in true Italian style. The downside of this place is that it is more of a venue for weddings or events than a resort hotel. We stayed 3 days and there was a wedding every day(Mon-Wed) and although all the facilities are still available we did feel like we were a bit in the way. The pool is lovely but generally surrounded by wedding guests and there are no sun loungers, but lots of tables and chairs to relax on. On the plus side it is really well situated to visit Pompei and Sorrento/Amalfi coast as long as you have a car and can handle the Italian roads and drivers. The breakfast was great and the food in the restaurant was really good, but it was a limited menu and it didn't very at all even for lunch we had to choose from the dinner menu. All in all we had a really nice time but a few small changes would make this hotel loads better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Segrate, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Service was perfect, courtesy 100% top.
The place is like Gardaland in a desert ... beautiful 'barocco'.

Close to Pompei and very comfortable even to reach Naples or Pestum, Ercolano etc.

Great for family (I was with the all family), nice atmosphere and you can leave the kids playing outside (protected area) while enjoying lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: I tried 2 and both were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Our family stayd for a few days in this property and found it very interesting. Its a huge complex wich hosts many weddings, birthday and other kind of parties in this area, and also has many rooms to host some of the guests that come to this kind of party. The region is strategic to visit the vesuvio area and its archeologic sites, and also to visit sorrento and the amalfi coast. The obly problem is that the neighboorhood is a little odd... Although the propeety is very sumptuous... The staff is very friendly but sometimes a bit noisy mainly the maids who stary cleaning the rooms early and disturbs a little the guests who want to rest a little later.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm beach gardens, fl
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

magnificent castle-like theme. friendly efficient staff. excellent dinner ! an oasis with beautiful grounds. good breakfast. If you are close you must stay there for a very special experience. The rooms were beautifully decorated in old world style.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

When we drove down the long palm lined driveway we thought the price we had been quoted for our room must be a mistake, and it would be far more expensive. But no, for a low to moderate price we had a wonderful rococo room, plastered ceilings and wall trims, chandelier light fitting, gold plated fittings in the bathroom, luxurious towels, just amazing. Big buffet breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit, and cooked eggs as well as the usual cakes etc. There are fountains, a swimming pool, lots of outdoor area, and lots of parking - even a helipad! The staff were attentive and Danilo at the front desk gave us great tips for our driving holiday on the Amalfi coast. Great value, an old hotel and showing some signs of wear, but I would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel La Sonrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Sonrisa

Address: Via Stabia 500, 80057 Sant'Antonio Abate, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Antonio Abate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sant'Antonio Abate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Sonrisa 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel La Sonrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel La Sonrisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.