We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rococo palace in wonderful grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel La Sonrisa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel La Sonrisa to your Saves list
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Stabia 500, 80057 Sant'Antonio Abate, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rococo palace in wonderful grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

When we drove down the long palm lined driveway we thought the price we had been quoted for our room must be a mistake, and it would be far more expensive. But no, for a low to moderate price we had a wonderful rococo room, plastered ceilings and wall trims, chandelier light fitting, gold plated fittings in the bathroom, luxurious towels, just amazing. Big buffet breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit, and cooked eggs as well as the usual cakes etc. There are fountains, a swimming pool, lots of outdoor area, and lots of parking - even a helipad! The staff were attentive and Danilo at the front desk gave us great tips for our driving holiday on the Amalfi coast. Great value, an old hotel and showing some signs of wear, but I would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    53
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
60
71
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very nice hotel like a fairy tale !you can't believe it until you see it!!! Excellent staff very nice rooms the pool was very relaxing with nice music playing outside. Very clean hotel the breakfast room was unbelievable you eat like a king!for sure one of my favorite hotels!!! Totally recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very nice and interesting place. Located in small town. Friendly and helpful staff. Special thanks to Danilo Aversa for perfectly work. You will get a chance to see traditional Italy wedding here. Hotel has an own wine - test it.
Andrey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights with our kids and we were all enjoying our stay very much. Not only the children were fascinated by the castle-like hotel! We were indeed treated according to the hotel's motto: like royals, and reception front man Danilo was extraordinarily service minded! The whole staff, from reception to cleaning staff and waiters were very professional and likable. The hotel is situated in a small and a bit run down village that is in large contrast to the hotel. This can feel problematic but we decided to enjoy ourselves. We had two very nice dinners at the hotel and it is good that the restaurant has such a variety and good menu since the village itself cannot offer much restaurants as alternatives. We stayed at the hotel because we wanted to visit Pompeii and for this it is perfectly located. It's location also offers magnificent views of Vesuvius from the balconies. At the time of our stay there were 2 weddings (Saturday) and one birthday party (Sunday). This only added to the charm for us but during dinner the volume from the wedding parties was a bit loud and could be disturbing for someone else, not for us with children... The parties did not interfere with us swimming in the middle of it all! The price of accommodation and food were comparable to those we experienced at much less fancy hotels and restaurants in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is classified as a 5 star hotel but schild be a 3 star. The room are very small and dark and decorated as in the fifties. The staff has NOT interested, the general rooms are awful decorated and the outside of the hotel during the night is more a disneyhotel, with all kind of colouring. The pool area is terrible with no facilities to relax at all. The breakfast area is very strange and the service and food below level. Coffee is really bad.

This seems to be a hotel for Italian people to marry and celebrate in an over-decorated environment. So, if you are looking for such a barbie like hotel, your fine, otherwise choose something else. Don't be misleads by the cheap price. I this case it's really NO value for LOW money.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We've stayed in this hotel for 2 nights (11/07/13-12/07/13) with my bf.
So beautiful hotel nobody of us has never seen before even if we both travel a lot!
The personnel is very polite, hospitable & kind!
The price & quality is the great advantage!
Now we're evaluating this hotel as a post for our wedding..means is a really great one!
Un vero e proprio paradiso!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel! Deluxe rooms with first class service. The staff is excellent.
Thanks for everything, Danilo! We have the best memories of our stay in La Sonrisa. We would love to come back.
Eduardo y Elena from Argentina.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel La Sonrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Sonrisa

Address: Via Stabia 500, 80057 Sant'Antonio Abate, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Antonio Abate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sant'Antonio Abate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Sonrisa 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel La Sonrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel La Sonrisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.