We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible over-decorated hotel, absolutely NO 5 star.....!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel La Sonrisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel La Sonrisa to your Saves list
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Stabia 500, 80057 Sant'Antonio Abate, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrible over-decorated hotel, absolutely NO 5 star.....!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is classified as a 5 star hotel but schild be a 3 star. The room are very small and dark and decorated as in the fifties. The staff has NOT interested, the general rooms are awful decorated and the outside of the hotel during the night is more a disneyhotel, with all kind of colouring. The pool area is terrible with no facilities to relax at all. The breakfast area is very strange and the service and food below level. Coffee is really bad.

This seems to be a hotel for Italian people to marry and celebrate in an over-decorated environment. So, if you are looking for such a barbie like hotel, your fine, otherwise choose something else. Don't be misleads by the cheap price. I this case it's really NO value for LOW money.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    51
    13
    8
    7
See reviews for
60
70
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monza, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We've stayed in this hotel for 2 nights (11/07/13-12/07/13) with my bf.
So beautiful hotel nobody of us has never seen before even if we both travel a lot!
The personnel is very polite, hospitable & kind!
The price & quality is the great advantage!
Now we're evaluating this hotel as a post for our wedding..means is a really great one!
Un vero e proprio paradiso!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel! Deluxe rooms with first class service. The staff is excellent.
Thanks for everything, Danilo! We have the best memories of our stay in La Sonrisa. We would love to come back.
Eduardo y Elena from Argentina.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamrun, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very nicely build and in a quite location close to travel to Sorrento, Capri or Napoli. Big and safe car park, rooms very spacious and impressively clean. Large lcd tv and very comfortable bed. Highly recommended for honeymooners or for a luxury break. Hotel is like a dream castle and highly recommended for weddings.
The breakfast could be improved, but this I am assuming because the hotel was nearly empty in mid April. Fax, Radio, dvd Player, Computer, Iron, Trouser Press, Desk, Hairdryer, Bathrobe, Microwave, Electric Kettle and Toaster where not included in our 2 double rooms. These items are stated on the booking.com site but all where missing!

Room Tip: Terrace double rooms are in perfect location. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was like staying in a castle or palace. The entire place inside and out is beautifully decorated, but not for someone that likes to stay at top modern hotels. We ate dinner there the first night which was somewhat expensive but good. The breakfast was not so good. We didn't see any molded jams, but chose not to eat breakfast the next 2 mornings. Some of the staff was friendly, others were not but could have been due to their limited English and our limited Italian language skills. They also have beautiful grounds but due to bad weather during our stay we did not get to explore all of that. Traffic from the autostrada to the hotel is somewhat chaotic, watch out for vehicles pulling out or backing out right in front of you without warning. If in the area again we would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Rooms are very noisy, small and very dark.
Breakfast was terrible, molded jams, stail bread, cakes which were not replaced for at elast three days. Milk, yoghurt, etc was not refrigated. Ham was disgusting and cheese was dried out.
There are no other facilities then an absurd outside unheated pool.
The hotel is located in the middle of nowhere.
People were not friendly, great contrast with the rest of the naple area.
The hotel is only visited by asian touroperators or very old italian guests.

Room Tip: Dont go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel La Sonrisa for one night only when we were visiting Pompeii. We were the only guests at the hotel, but this did not change the way they were supposed to treat us. Actually it was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. We arrived at 9:30 pm and were offered an expensive, but good meal, with primi and secondi piatti, and a nice bottle of wine. The breakfast (included in the price) was served in the room, at no extra cost. The staff was really helpful and we were treated as kings. Decoration is quite eccentric, but the rooms are comfy and spacious.

Room Tip: Spacious, quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel La Sonrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Sonrisa

Address: Via Stabia 500, 80057 Sant'Antonio Abate, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Antonio Abate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sant'Antonio Abate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Sonrisa 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel La Sonrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel La Sonrisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.