We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel La Sonrisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel La Sonrisa to your Saves list
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Stabia 500, 80057 Sant'Antonio Abate, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires
2 reviews
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel! Deluxe rooms with first class service. The staff is excellent.
Thanks for everything, Danilo! We have the best memories of our stay in La Sonrisa. We would love to come back.
Eduardo y Elena from Argentina.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hamrun, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very nicely build and in a quite location close to travel to Sorrento, Capri or Napoli. Big and safe car park, rooms very spacious and impressively clean. Large lcd tv and very comfortable bed. Highly recommended for honeymooners or for a luxury break. Hotel is like a dream castle and highly recommended for weddings.
The breakfast could be improved, but this I am assuming because the hotel was nearly empty in mid April. Fax, Radio, dvd Player, Computer, Iron, Trouser Press, Desk, Hairdryer, Bathrobe, Microwave, Electric Kettle and Toaster where not included in our 2 double rooms. These items are stated on the booking.com site but all where missing!

Room Tip: Terrace double rooms are in perfect location. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was like staying in a castle or palace. The entire place inside and out is beautifully decorated, but not for someone that likes to stay at top modern hotels. We ate dinner there the first night which was somewhat expensive but good. The breakfast was not so good. We didn't see any molded jams, but chose not to eat breakfast the next 2 mornings. Some of the staff was friendly, others were not but could have been due to their limited English and our limited Italian language skills. They also have beautiful grounds but due to bad weather during our stay we did not get to explore all of that. Traffic from the autostrada to the hotel is somewhat chaotic, watch out for vehicles pulling out or backing out right in front of you without warning. If in the area again we would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plculiNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Rooms are very noisy, small and very dark.
Breakfast was terrible, molded jams, stail bread, cakes which were not replaced for at elast three days. Milk, yoghurt, etc was not refrigated. Ham was disgusting and cheese was dried out.
There are no other facilities then an absurd outside unheated pool.
The hotel is located in the middle of nowhere.
People were not friendly, great contrast with the rest of the naple area.
The hotel is only visited by asian touroperators or very old italian guests.

Room Tip: Dont go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank JRB122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel La Sonrisa for one night only when we were visiting Pompeii. We were the only guests at the hotel, but this did not change the way they were supposed to treat us. Actually it was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. We arrived at 9:30 pm and were offered an expensive, but good meal, with primi and secondi piatti, and a nice bottle of wine. The breakfast (included in the price) was served in the room, at no extra cost. The staff was really helpful and we were treated as kings. Decoration is quite eccentric, but the rooms are comfy and spacious.

Room Tip: Spacious, quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were at the hotel in September and we enjoyed it very much!
Everything was just perfect. The hotel was very impressive and it seems that emphasized all the small details to create an amazing experience. The room was impressive, spacious, cozy and comfortable. The bathroom also.
The weddings that took place at the hotel led to a more enchanting experience. Seems perfect for a honeymoon!
The hotel, the room the design, the nice staff, the food- everything was so dreamy!
Fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitzan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at Hotel La sonrisa for 3 nights while visiting Pompeii and Herulaneum. An island a midst the chaos of the surrounding area. The staff was absolutely wonderful..On our first night, we came down for dinner and someone met/escorted us to the bar for an appertivo...when we were finished with that, we were escorted to the dining room...Yes there were weddings going on while we were there, but the entire hotel is out of Disneyland in any case. It is about a good 20 minute drive to Pompeii because the streets are very small and traffic is slow. But we would still prefer staying in the peaceful oasis of La Sonrisa then in the more questionable streets near Pompeii.

The only negative is the extremely slow wifi. Both my husband and I are professionals and depend on working on the internet so that we can also travel a lot in Italy. The internet continually disconnected because the bandwidth is simply not adequate to accomodate anything more extensive than simply e-mails.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drjoanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Antonio Abate
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
#1 of 14 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
Grand Hotel Le Zagare
#1 of 3 in Gragnano
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#5 of 14 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pompei Resort
#3 of 24 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
Hotel Villa Garden
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
5.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Hotel JFK
Hotel JFK
#25 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel La Sonrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Sonrisa

Address: Via Stabia 500, 80057 Sant'Antonio Abate, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Antonio Abate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sant'Antonio Abate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Sonrisa 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel La Sonrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing