We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel La Sonrisa

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel La Sonrisa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Stabia 500, 80057 Sant'Antonio Abate, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have just return from a four night stay in the La Sonrisa and enjoyed every minute of our time there. The suite was spacious with a large balcony and outstanding value for money. All the staff were very friendly and helpful (Dani should get a special mention for going that extra mile in all his dealings with us). The interiors of the public rooms were breath taking, the grounds a delight to walk around with excellent views. Breakfast was good with the emphasis on the continental style that we prefer. We also had two excellent evening meals in the hotel's restaurant. The location is only an issue if you don't have your own transportation: we reached the hotel by car in well under an hour from Napoli airport. That then leaves you free to visit numerous attractions in the nearby area.

Room Tip: Book a suite in the main building, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    42
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
44
58
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This place is a wonder - took me QUITE awhile to comprehend it. Truly grand in proportion, layout, views, and straight out of "Disney-Vegas-Graceland" for gilt, glitter, blues, yellows, pinks, whitest whites, a heliport, pools, fountains, palms, bird-of-paradise, cacti, balconies, mirrors, tile, marble, carved banisters, more tile, fabric walls, tufted headboards, blown-glass chandeliers, piped in music ... ALL of this EVERYWHERE ... juxtaposed with some of the cheapest and/or tackiest details conceivable (think Technicolor movies from the 50's). Then mix in an utterly gracious and professional staff plus really terrific food. It was really hard to keep a straight face but genuinely grinning worked out well so as not to offend the earnestly lovely people working there.
Upon arriving, we Americans seemed to have been assigned Antonio Banderas to look after us, which was just fine with me as a "woman of a certain age." A. B. (actual name Danny) could not possibly have been more utterly charming, considerate, sweet, debonair, handsome, and professional and made us feel not only welcome but sort of giddy from the attentiveness.
I could go on, but suffice it to say we greatly enjoyed our three-night stay and will likely never forget it. Unless you are pretty stuffy, I highly recommend La Sonrisa.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We spent 6 nights with our family , the week before Easter , and chose a double room in the ' Annexe ' building ( very close to the hotel itself ) at E59 per room per night B & B . We are very happy to confirm previous reviews. The decor throughout hotel and grounds is indeed grand and palatial . Our room was large, quiet, clean and the bed very comfortable. The catering was superb especially the breakfasts. But particular mention must be made of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel welcome and special all the time. Ideally located for Sorrento/Capri/Amalfi coast; Pompei,Vesuvius, Herculaneum - all visited by hired car - also a trip to Caserta/Palace & fabulous gardens. However, as has been said before, nerves of steel are needed to negotiate the local traffic and a satnav is also very desirable. Our family had a wonderful stay as well. Amazing and memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have recently returned from spending 5 nights in this hotel. It is everything that other reviewers have said - very OTT but definitely shabby chic. We had booked a junior suite with jacuzzi and the views from our room over the grounds with Vesuvius as a backdrop were stunning. The staff were very welcoming and helpful but particular mention should go to Dany, Antonio, Ferdinando and Peppe who were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for us. As we had arrived early evening we decided to eat in the hotel but expected it to be fairly expensive - this wasn't the case. We had two courses each and with drinks before the meal, a bottle of wine and brandy afterwards the cost was E70. The food was very good, so much so that we ate in the hotel every evening as Sant'Antonio itself wasn't great and the majority of drivers seemed to have a death wish! Breakfast was plentiful with a good selection of fruit, fruit juice, yoghurt, bread, cheese, ham, cakes and pastries. Pompeii was a 30-minute drive away and Herculaneum 45 minutes. Pasquale took us to the railway station in Castellamare for our trip to Naples and we were collected at the station on our return - all part of the service. The only little niggle we had was that both the bed and the pillows were a little hard but all in all a brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights. It is stunningly decorated which leaves you either impressed or laughing your head off at the excess. The service was wonderful and at £89pn B&B it was excellent value. Its a little bit out of the way but within a taxi ride to Pompei and Versuvious (ask if Pasquale can be hired, he is very helpful and a reasonable cost). The food was very good and after first staying in Rome it was a pleasant surprise what good value the food was in the hotel.

Its definately a 'marmite' hotel, just don't take it too seriously and enjoy what will be a memorable experience - either way.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We booked this place expecting someting eccentric and were not disappointed. Stayed for three days with two children in the summer. Would not have missed it! Definitely not 5 star by todays standards but you are not paying 5 star prices or anything like it. Faded grandeur but sensational neverless - think Jordan as the interior designer. Place once frequented by footballers and Sophia Loren now a wedding factory with a few foreign guests like ourselves blowing through. Great to sit in bar and watch everyone including the Godfather- like omnipresent owner press the flesh. Free drinks at the bar, wedding cake at breakfast for the kids, more mirrors than the Louvre. If you are thinking of a second wedding or family gathering with a sense of humour look no further - this would be fantastic.

Did I mention the staff were great!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Pros:
Great hotel - you would be happy to take pictures of the pool area, breakfast area, roam around, enjoy, relax.

Cons:
1) Air conditioning in the room was not sufficient. It did not cool enough.
2) For a 5-star hotel, I was expected a good shower cubicle. It was okay - the flow of water was okay (but not high speed), space in the cubicle was ok. But the water temperature was bit random - sometimes it will give u hot water and sometimes cold.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Antonio Abate
Free Parking, B...
Show More
2.1 mi away
La Medusa Grand Hotel
La Medusa Grand Hotel
#2 of 14 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
4.6 mi away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#4 of 14 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Le Zagare
Grand Hotel Le Zagare
#1 of 3 in Gragnano
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
2.8 mi away
Hotel Stabia
Hotel Stabia
#6 of 14 in Castellammare Di Stabia
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Beach, Pool, Fr...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miramare Stabia
Hotel Miramare Stabia
#5 of 14 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
2.7 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#3 of 14 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel La Sonrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Sonrisa

Address: Via Stabia 500, 80057 Sant'Antonio Abate, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Antonio Abate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sant'Antonio Abate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Sonrisa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel La Sonrisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa Italy/Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel La Sonrisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.