We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average parador in a beautifull location.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Sos del Rey Catolico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Sos del Rey Catolico to your Saves list
Parador de Sos del Rey Catolico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Arq. Sainz de Vicuna, s/n, 50680 Sos del Rey Catolico, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
yelverton
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Average parador in a beautifull location.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This Parador is beautifully located with panoramic views of the surrounding countryside.The public areas of the hotel are pleasant but our room was very small and could have been cleaner and the air conditioning is set at 26 degrees which for us was not cool enough.The breakfast was very good but the evening meal was awfull which is totally typical of Paradors.Flies in the bedroom were not at all welcome we left with bites everywhere.Staff were not at all friendly or helpful.

Room Tip: Would not recommend for a long stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    112
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
44
147
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed on Friends of Paradores half board deal. Offered room upgrade on arrival - 45 Euros per night!! Needless to say, offer declined. Super location and wonderful building. However, in comparison to other Paradores, the little extras were missing - no bathrobes in the room and no nuts/nibbles served with drinks on the terrace. Food was OK but nothing to write home about. In summary - could do better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Everything about this hotel is luxurious and made for relaxing. The hotel has huge rooms, modern and well appointed bathrooms, is spotlessly clean and has very pleasant and helpful staff, all of which seemed to speak some English, with reception staff being fluent. We were upgraded to a fabulous junior suite at a very small extra cost - well worth it, and to our surprise the hotel even gave us a bottle of champagne, for no reason other than that we were in the junior suite! The location is lovely; Sos is a very old and picturesque little town, with cobbled streets which are mostly too narrow for cars, and a few bars and restaurants.There is nothing to do except wander around, but this is the place to go if you want total quiet and relaxation. It is SO quiet at night-time it’s almost spooky! There is ample free parking on the outskirts of the village and by the hotel.
Our only disappointment was that surprisingly, although there was space for one, there was no pool, not even an indoor spa type one. Maybe it's deliberate as they don't want to encourage people to swim, or families with children who might make a lot of noise and spoil the calm atmosphere. I can understand this to a degree and I certainly wouldn't go there with children as they would probably get bored. There was a shaded balcony/terrace with tables and upright chairs, but it was not at ground level and it was attached to the dining room and wasn’t really somewhere to go to relax with a book for the afternoon. An area of water such as a pond with some loungers and partial shade, or umbrellas, round it where one could sit and read would have been welcome. There certainly was the space for one.
But otherwise – fantastic.

Room Tip: If you can afford the bit extra, the junior suites are wonderful and really worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was the second of a Parador tour that we have stayed (13th & 14th August) on a 5 night card. We were offered and took an upgrade (15€ per night) to a superior room (number 207) which had lovely views where we could see the swallows flying against the backdrop of the plains and mountain views. At all times the hotel was clean and the staff friendly - especially as our languages are pretty rough - it's amazing how if you smile and try, then it is always appreciated.

There is little to do in the village which for us was not a problem. We had drinks in the Parador's bar and ate in it's restaurant on the last night, having had a terrible meal in the village the night before (see review of La cocina del Principal).

For us, a 2 night stay exhausted the surrounding area, but we were very pleased we visited.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The parador is beautiful and is located adjacent to a small medieval little town. The junior suite we had was spacious and very comfortable. The views from the windows were amazing. The restaurant was ok but nothing special and there seemed to be lots of flys around which was very off putting. Not sure that we would return but we are glad we visited.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here for four nights. The weather was awful but the hotel made the trip worthwhile. The room was large, very comfortable and clean, one small thing - the rain was so heavy one night that it came in through the window frames but the staff were very swift and remedied this quickly.
Others have said the food was poor in 2008 but they appear to have solved this issue and the food was of a good quality, as a non meat eater there were plenty of options for me which is unusual. The service was not quick but I can live with this minor issue.
The town is small and it does not take long to walk around it, enough for a relaxing break. If you like shopping and browsing you could be disappointed as there are few opportunities to do this.
Would recommend a visit but be prepared to have to try to speak a little Spanish!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Another fine Parador, with well-appointed rooms, decent service and lovely views. Air conditioning in our room wasn't great (but others seem to have been luckier). Easy parking and a fine spot to explore the lovely little town. Restaurant was so-so, but it has a lovely terrace.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Sos del Rey Catolico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Sos del Rey Catolico

Address: C/ Arq. Sainz de Vicuna, s/n, 50680 Sos del Rey Catolico, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Sos del Rey Catolico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sos del Rey Catolico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Sos del Rey Catolico 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Parador de Sos del Rey Catolico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Sos Del Rey Catolico Hotel Sos Del Rey Catolico
Parador De Sos Del Rey Catolico Zaragoza, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Sos del Rey Catolico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.