We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marques de Riscal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Marques de Riscal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marques de Riscal
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Torrea, 1, 01340 Elciego, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Elciego
quijano, spain
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed for less than 24 hours and managed to fit in a tour of the winery, lunch at Bistro 1860 (see other review), spa session with massage and dinner at Gastronomic Restaurant (yet another review)! Lovely, relaxing weekend!
Staff are very professional, yet friendly and nothing is too much for them, reception staff from arrival to check out were wonderful as were the breakfast waiters and spa attendants.
Wine tour is interesting and worth it.
Food delicious - breakfast was perfect - a choice of cold buffet filled with top quality local and Spanish meats, cheeses and pastries, good fruit, yoghurt and pastry selection. Freshly squeezed orange juice and good coffee. Also made to order eggs, bacon etc.
Room: we were lucky to stay in the main building; rooms are quirky in that the main sleeping area obviously has been adapted to the Gehry architecture. Very comfortable beds and there is a pillow menu.
Bathrooms are complete with loads of towels, robes, slippers and high quality products. Plentiful hot water and good pressure.
We had no problem with this, but at turn down service, when curtains are drawn, the room does get slightly "cosy" ie. small. This is because, due to strange angles of windows, the curtains are almost one metre in to room, making it MUCH smaller. However, there is free wifi, free bottle of wine and chill out music so all in all very comfortable. The best views of the original building and larger bedrooms are in the spa annexe, but we thought that, at least for one night, it was probably preferable to stay in the Gehry building.
Spa was good - massages and facials, although expensive, worth it, as was the pool area.
Although the hotel was almost full, there was a sense of relaxation all around and the professional staff enabled all guests to feel comfortable and welcome.
Be aware to take your room card at all times; we went for a couple of walks and were requested by security to show them in order to get back to hotel - probably a neccessary measure, but a bit agressive.
This hotel is definitely worth a visit for one or two days, just read my reviews on the restaurants and you will have a perfect stay!

Room Tip: Something with character - go for the original building. If you want something larger, go for annex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    64
    26
    12
    5
See reviews for
47
245
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A lovely extended weekend break, i a most magnificent hotel. As you drive up towards the hotel at the winery, the sight takes one's breath away. An amazing design, matched then by the service inside, the quality of the rooms, and the astonishingly good food. The spa treatments are also fantastic. Only issue is the price - it is 'out of here' expensive, just falling short on balancing price and quality, so 'value' is not good. But on the other hand, for a luxury experience, maybe once or twice in a lifetime, then this is just the hotel for you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stumbled upon the Hotel Marqués de Riscal while researching a trip to Barcelona. I became enthralled by the Frank Gehry design and decided to make a road trip from Barcelona to Elciego, then Bilbao, San Sebastian and another sleepover in Pamplona. We were not upset with our room in the annex as it was large and had pleasing views of the vineyard and of the main building when we crossed the covered bridge. The pool area is also in the annex. We ate dinner and brunch in the hotel’s wonderful dining room and relaxed on the terrace of the main building. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Do not miss a visit to nearby Ysios Vineyard with a building almost as striking as the Marqués.

Room Tip: If you can't book in the main building the connected annex will do fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read of your recent stay here with us as this is very rewarding and would like to assure you that we do value all feedback from our guests both, positive and negative in order to keep improving.

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to write the review and hope you will bring us another opportunity to welcome you back at our Luxury Collection gem, Hotel Marques de Riscal.

Kind regards

Alexander Peev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in November on SPG points. We got upgraded to a suite (room 28) due to my Platinum status. The room was huge and right at the end of the building so very private with views of the wine yard (same views as the spa has). I had emailed the hotel a few months before our arrival and had communicated with the concierge to help me organize our trip (winery visits, restaurant reservations, etc). They were so superb! They spent a few hours doing some research I had requested and always responded on a timely basis. They made the reservations for us once I had decided and upon check in I received a summary of all the reservations we had -i thought this was great.the concierge here was the best by far I've experienced.

On check in we were greeted warmly and the hotel manager escorted us to our room. Breakfast was included for me as an SPG platinum and it was a great assortment of cheeses, breads, fruits, etc. you can even order eggs and other items to be made fresh for you. On occasion we had to eat and run and they packed the coffee to go and some muffins, etc.

We used the spa facilities twice during our stay. They were great and we were lucky to be the only ones using it at the time. I also had a massage and it was one of the best I have received.

Overall, the service at the hotel I found to be excellent and definitely 5 star. They know how to treat and pamper guests. We would love to return one day.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I am from Spain, however I live in the USA. I wanted to stay in this hotel for a while, so when I spent a few days with my family in Barcelona decided to take a trip to San Sebastian and spend a couple of days in El Ciego at the Hotel Marques de Riscal.

When we checked in the staff was very friendly and welcoming, we were offered an upgrade to a suite through our American Express Platinum card. These suites are located in a separate building from the main building. I must admit I was a little bit disappointed that we were not inside the main building as it is so unique and our views were not towards the town of El Ciego, but the room was great. Very high ceilings, spacious room, large windows overlooking the vineyards and beautiful bathroom.

We had a tour of the winery and it is a very large winery, we enjoyed the tour and tasting of the wine. The spa located one floor below our room was also very relaxing and well appointed with a terrace overlooking the vineyards.

We had dinner at the restaurant Marques de Riscal and the service was unparalleled, the food was good but we have not had such a good service in a restaurant anywhere else with multiple waiters serving us.

We had buffet breakfast and it was perfect with a variety of cakes, pastries, meats and cheeses from the region, the views from the restaurant and terrace are amazing overlooking the roof of the hotel and the town of El Ciego.

This has been one of the most unique hotels we have ever stayed at. The architecture of this hotel is fantastic, the surroundings are beautiful and the service one of the best we have ever had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as a part of our vacation to northern Spain/southern France. The hotel, designed by Gehry, is quite striking and architecturally interesting. We had a room in the Gehry wing, which was quite large. I had read reviews about the rooms being small and tight, but upon reviewing the floor plan, I noted that ours was the accessible room, which explained the large spaces. We certainly didn't complain.

The rooms are modern and well laid out. The shower was large and the room also had a separate soaking tub. The products in the bath are all Caudalie from the hotel spa. We had a great view of the old town of Elciego.

The workout room is good size for a hotel and the indoor pool is large enough for laps. We did not use the spa, but from a walkthrough, it seemed quite nice.

The meals were a bit of a mixed bag. We had dinner in the wine bar, and the food, while good, was steeply priced for what it was. However, the breakfast buffet was amazing. Lots of choices and good quality.

The staff was very attentive and they all were fluent in English. The were helpful in recommending and setting up winery visits.

The winery tour there was a bit forced. The large group and the canned description was a little hard to take. Plus, being in the wine industry, we know the process.

Finally, there is a wine bar that is part of the wine tour facility. The prices there are significantly lower than the hotel wine bar prices. Save your tasting dollars or euros for that.

All in all, a great place. Fun modern architecture. Great staff and location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main hotel Gehry wing. The other building is pretty basic rectangle and bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is not just a hotel, its a retreat and an experience not to be missed! When you first drive up, this hotel will just simply take your breath away, not only because it is so very different from anything in its surroundings but because it is so visually amazing - be prepared to be bllown away! The staff augments this incredible experience, they truly do treat you as part of a 'family' while you are there - they really do anticipate your every need! The rooms in the main building leaves you breathless, every thing in the room compliments the design of the hotel so expect to be blown away by it. We ate at the Bistrot for dinner and breakfast each day and the main dining room for prix fix dinner, there are no words to describe both the experience, the attention to detail and the actual food but beyond awesome - the wait staff was attentitive and knowledgeable and engaging and fun to chat with - it would be ashame to miss either of the restaurants because the food is so different in both and so is the experiences! My husband swam while I enjoyed a massage at the Caudalie spa which was sublime and the piece de resistance is of course having this magnificant hotel on the grounds of a vineyard - life was truly perfect - the three days we spent rejuvinated our mind/body and spirit - it would be an honor to return to this magical location!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Marques de Riscal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marques de Riscal

Address: Calle Torrea, 1, 01340 Elciego, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Alava Province > Elciego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Elciego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marques de Riscal 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The City of Wine, where you will discover a masterpiece, Hotel Marques de Riscal Elciego. With 43 luxurious rooms and suites, an exceptional spa and a superb culinary offer, this boutique hotel, located in the heart of la Rioja alavesa and designed by famous arquitect Frank O. Gehry, is the ideal place for enoturim lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Marques de Riscal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques De Riscal Hotel
Marques De Riscal Elciego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marques de Riscal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.