We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rustic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Can Mach

Can Mach
Tapis, Macanet de Cabrenys, Spain
34 972 543 311
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Hunting Lodge cuisine. Fantastic setting on the Spanish/French border very good value Catalonian cuisine. Open every day early till late in the Summer closed on Tuesdays outside peak season. Menu multilingual lodging available. Inside restaurant outside terrace with amazing views no need to book in advance friendly staff to all nationalities. Popular with Dutch Spanish French and German tourists and locals alike. Bar area. Very clean and service quick especially if you tell them you are in a hurry.
Beziers, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great rustic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The friendly staff and the position of the restaurant ,great portions very reasonable prices and good house wine less than 5 euros a bottle!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral & France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I visit Can Mach approximately every 8 weeks all the year round and agree with everything everyone else has said. Unlike many other restaurants its always open and you always get excellent value and very friendly service whatever your nationality. There's a nice ambience about the place and even when full, it never feels crowded and you are never rushed. The views from the terrace are spectacular. Would love to try their new hostal but we only live 10 minutes away! Adore Tapis and especially good for stocking up the food/wine from the shop below which is also open all hours. What would we do without Tapis!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montferrer, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What can you say, never fails to delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I've lost count of the number of times we've now been to Can Mach in Tapis.

A beautiful setting very close to the French border overlooking the bay of Roses north of Figueras and Girona. The restaurant is always lively ... even out of season ... packed full of Catalan, Spanish, French and foreign diners. A great, warm, bustling atmosphere in this tiny Pyrenean hamlet.

The reason we were so attracted was that it seems always to be full with locals ... and they must know a thing or two. Especially if they are bothering to drive from Figueras, Girona, Perpignan ...

The food is Catalan mountain cuisine: simple, honest, beautifully prepared, delicious, and very fairly priced. Try the salad (Aminada Variada) - mouth watering on hot days; the Aioli - hot, spicy and divine dipped in the crispy bread; Botifarra amb Mongetes (like Cumberland sausage) and beans - not had such good sausage since Crombies in Edinburgh!; Wild boar; char-grilled rabbit (Conill) or chicken (Pollastre), even the Cargols a la Catalana taste scrumptious.

Go with the family for a fun couple of hours ... don't expect to get away quickly ... you'll soak up the atmosphere and be there for at least three hours before you know where you are!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rode, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still fantastic mountain food at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Revisited here last night with my family and everything I said in my previous review still holds. Great atmosphere, full of Spanish and French families enjoying a night in a rustic setting with great views of the sunset over the mountains. For 59 euros we had
- starters of snails (delicious), sausage and white beans and a green salad (with aioli to blow your head off)
- mains of beef and mushrooms, wild boar stew and a beautifully cooked steak and chips for my daughter who pronounced it delicious
- postres of ice cream for 2 and coffee for the adults
- a nice bottle of house wine
- water to drink and bread for free

We had this over a couple of hours and played cards and watched the activity - a very relaxed place to be. And the small supermarket below the restaurant is worth a review by itself!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Delicious rustic Catalan food in a great setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

It is difficult to add much more to the recent accurate reviews of this place. Can Mach is about an hour's drive from Perpignan, France and a half -hour from Figueres,Spain but it is so well worth the trip. The setting is in a tiny mountain hamlet high up in the Pyrenean foothills. There is plenty of parking space to the front & to the side. It needs to be because when it's really,really busy it can be serving 200 + guests. The hub of the restaurant is a large airy room on two levels and there is also a big, partly shaded terrace for outside eating. The welcome is friendly and the service is efficient without being super-quick ( which is not needed anyway in this environment). Menus are in English as well as Catalan, French & Spanish, though spoken English is a bit limited. The food is freshly-prepared, hearty and served in big portions. My own favourite is a starter of snails in wild boar sauce. Choose a simpler main course if you go for this ! There is a reasonable choice of dishes for both starters and mains. But it is not intended to be fine dining - it would be all wrong if it was. Desserts, if you can manage one, are simple and tasty. Mainly simple, decent quality Spanish wines are available and are very reasonably priced and most can be bought from the restaurant's supermarket below the outdoor eating area. The bill for the food too is equally reasonable. We have been here at least 10 times and have always come away completely satisfied. The clientele is mainly Catalan and French. I can't wait until my next visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Mach also viewed

Macanet de Cabrenys, Province of Girona
Macanet de Cabrenys, Province of Girona
 
Macanet de Cabrenys, Province of Girona
Macanet de Cabrenys, Province of Girona
 

Been to Can Mach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can Mach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.