We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Balneario Solares

Save Saved
You added Hotel Balneario Solares to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Balneario Solares
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calvo Soltelo 13, 39710 Solares, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Solares
Thrapston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a Junior Suite with Spa Access. The hotel was wonderful. The staff were very welcoming and the Spa personnel very friendly and helpful. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. We had dinner on the first night and the food was excellent and very well presented. The price was excellent compared to other meals we had out. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as we preferred to go out early but having seen what was on offer would consider it good value.

Solares is a very quiet town but has very easy rail access to Santander and Lierganes. There is easy access to the motorway.

We enjoyed the spa and booked a massage and the roman baths (thank you Diego and Raquel I felt absolutely relaxed after) and we used the pool everyday. Only one little criticism is that we would have liked to swim before breakfast (the pool did not open until 10am) but not too much of an inconvience as we swam in the evening instead.

Overall we had a very relaxing break and would, without hesitation, recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    69
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
33
104
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and it was a really great end to our holiday. The room was spotless, as was the whole hotel. It is light and airy and there are extensive spa facilities (although we did not use them). The food was really good and we ate dinner here both nights. The day menu had good choices (4 for each course) and the cooking was excellent. At just 20 euros per person, good value too. Good restaurant manager made us welcome and enjoyed using his English.
We spent a whole day in the nearby Natural Park 'Caberceno' and marvelled at the rock structures and animal enclosures which made it feel as if there were no barriers between us and the brown bears etc.. We loved it and would recommend both hotel and park. Just 12 miles from Santander and under one hour from Bilbao.

Room Tip: Just specify you needs and they go out of the way to provide. For me that was an accessible shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A group of friends were there only at the spa, and we did not like the staff service at all. The spa receptionists left us alone once we received our towels, no further explanation or guidance to the facilities whatsoever... No lack of Spanish knowledge could be the issue, because we were a mixed international group with children. Besides, the children pool had no instructor either, once again, totally left alone despite the reservation was made in advance. This happened on December 2012.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgos
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I started going to this hotel and spa resort a few years ago. A travel agent had recommended it to us and we've been hooked ever since.
We find that it is an all-around winner. You've got the hotel itself that is just beautiful to look at, inside and out. Even the simplest rooms are spacious with big, comfy beds. The maids do a nice job cleaning, which is extremely important to me. It's got a minibar with 3 bottles of water from Solares in it (nothing more), but they are free and it's restocked throughout your stay.
Then there's the spa. They've got some nice circuits to do, if you're interested in that. They do different treatments a la carte like massages, facials, body wraps etc. These tend to be a little pricey, but it's worth it to treat yourself to something. Then there's the big, heated pool with different jets, bubbles, and waterfalls.
The parking garage is underground and very cheap in comparison with other hotels. It's never full when we go and we're always there on weekends. Most ppl try and park outside the hotel because it's free, but the covered parking garage is more convenient, especially on rainy days.
The restaurant is not bad. The food is tasty, but the portions tend to be small, so the price is a little hogh in my opinion. The breakfast buffet has a wide variety of food to choose from. My only complaints are that the tortilla is never made very well and the orange juice is not freshly squeezed.
If you go here, make sure you eat at the La Tienda de Pedro García. It's roght avross the street. Used to be a general store, now it's a bar/restaurant but with all the things still there from when it was a general store. We always notice something different when we go.
The best part about this hotel is that it's barely 20 minutes away from Santander and two different shopping centers. So if it's raining, you can go shopping or see a movie. Or if you want, you can walk around Santander.
Solares in itself is rather boring. Be forewarned. Don't expect much to do outside of the hotel other than walk around.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms, but if you can, the superior rooms have a jacuzzi tub in them in additio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Quite hotel with good spa and a really fantastic chef. Rooms are confortable and welcoming service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I spent a week in the Balneario during a Business Trip to Solares.

The hotel offers a good deal for business travellers, allowing free access to the Spa pools during all the stay.

The rooms are confortable, offering free WIFI (in some) and alternatively free LAN cables to plug in your laptop.

Breakfast is fine, although it could be improved to match the hotel's standards. Dining at the restaurant can be slightlly expensive but the quality of the meals is correct.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have WIFI, so if you need it you should specify it at the booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

My family and I stayed at this historic but very modern hotel and spa. It was a great discovery. The hotel is located in a small town, Solares, just 20 minutes away from Santander. Its thermal waters and very modern facilities were just great. In addition, front desk staff members were very helpful and kind. A good place to return and just relax. Spa services were not included in the rate that we got but prices were reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the central lobby have better Wi-Fi signal. Otherwise, ask for a complimentary Ether...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balsolar, Gerente at Hotel Balneario Solares, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments.
Fernando Terán.
Manager Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Balneario Solares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balneario Solares

Address: Calvo Soltelo 13, 39710 Solares, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Solares
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Solares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balneario Solares 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Balneario Solares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Balneario Solares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.