We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous little hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria Caderina Green Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maria Caderina Green Village to your Saves list
Maria Caderina Green Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Predarva, 08020 Posada, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Posada
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here in June with my husband, and we had a great time. The hotel is immacuately clean, really friendly, modern but traditional. Everything we wanted! The pool is just lovely, and almost everytime we went to sit by it we had it all to ourselves. It really was incredibly relaxing and peaceful. Food is all homecooked, and the portions are huge!!! We are big eaters, and they even managed to beat our appetities. The food is simple and tasty. They serve great coffees and have a good selection of wine. If anything, it might have been nice to have a little bit more variety at breakfast. Perhaps some freshly cooked pastries next to the homemade cakes, and some basic bits like a jug of milk and a toaster for guests to help themselves to? Don't get me wrong, breakfast was nice, but by adding just a couple of extra things they will find they offer an exceptional breakfast. We did enjoy the start to each day, as they give you all the time in the world to sit eat - this is one place that will never rush you! The balcony they have at the back of the restaurant offers great views - they should utilise is more often. We loved eating out there!

Rooms weren't huge, but were wonderfully clean and decorated in good taste. It was nice to see loyalty to Sardinian colour schemes and style. We had a great view of the gardens and mountains from our balcony - it was just lovely. Speaking of the gardens - they were really well maintained and looked as though someone takes great pride in them.

All the staff are friendly, polite and really helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. English isn't spoken very widely in the hotel, but enough to get by. Our waiter and waitress were excellent, as were management. It was great to see so many Italians staying here - surely a good sign!

The location is nicely tucked away, but close enough to drive to town within 10 minutes or so. Local beaches are nice, but we often jumped in the car and explored further afield too. If you stay here you really must get up early and go to Cala Gonone and hire a private boat for the day. It was spectacular. We also went scuba diving in La Maddelena, which was worth doing but very expensive.

This place is great value for money, and a real gem. If you are staying on this side of the island, stay here! We hope to return to one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
83
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I can't speak more highly of this hotel. The location was stunning, set deep in the beautiful Sardinian countryside, far away from the tourists and traffic. The buildings were authentically designed in vivid colours in a traditional Sardinian style. The rooms were immaculate, bright and fresh with a balcony with views far across the vast space of rolling hills under the bright blue skies. The food was high quality, made using ingredients freshly produced on the farm. What made the place more special was the warm welcome and excellent service- all the staff were all so friendly and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable.
Of course, being so remote means a car or scoter is needed as public transport cannot be relied on- alternatively you can hire a bicycle, as we did, however you do need to be quite fit as getting to surrounding places and towns requires quite a few miles of cycling!
I would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to immerse themselves in the peaceful, beautiful Sardinian country- an amazing experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This place really is a delight.
Lovely Mediterranean style, a stunning hillside setting, 5 mins drive to the well-set Posada beach, incredibly relaxing pool area, great friendly service from Mirko and the team, delicious food (try some of their off-menu pastas for lunch) and a perfect base for visiting the East and North-East of the island.
I really can't speak highly enough of Maria Caderina - it's certainly one of the most relaxing, well-run places I've ever stayed. And enjoy this area of Sardinia - really, really beautiful.
Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 105 if you don't want your balcony to be a direct sun trap in the early evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We only found hotel Maria Caderina by accident and wish we had found it earlier. It is a family run hotel, that is modern, confident with a wonderful warm welcome. The big plus for us was that one of the owners is coeliac and they were able to cater for our gluten free diet at all meals. We had wonderful gluten free breads, homemade ravioli and risotto. We only stayed 1 night but ate in the restaurant twice.

The facilities are modern - rooms and restaurant. The pool is a great place to relax and the wonderful 9km beech at Posada is a 10 minute drive away. The food in the restaurant was outstanding. Overall the friendliness of all the staff made the difference. We wish we had found here earlier and would have stayed for longer. We wish them continued success.

Room Tip: We had room 114. It faces the mountains and has a great view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I've stayed for 2 weeks in this hotel and I really enjoyed it.
ROOMS : Maybe a little small, but since I travelled alone, the room was large enough. I had room no. 111, overviewing the garden, very quiet. All rooms have a terrace, safe and a mini-bar. The shower was not very large.
BREAKFAST: They serve excellent coffee and you can have as many as you want. Breakfast was good, but not exceptional with very good home made cakes, home made cheese, meat and excellent home made yoghurt. Unfortunately the bread is not very good (it's not bad eather). They also serve orange juce out of a carton, fresh fruit and different marmalades
RESTAURANT : For 20 Eu per person you can stay in half board. You get for that price a starter, a main course with a contorno and desert, 1/4L table wine and water.The owners have a farm and produce their own meat and cheese. They serve vegetarian meals, meat and dishes with cheese. The food was good, but a little "heavy". That's because they serve a lot of cheese. Unfortunately there is no fish on the menu.
OTHER : The owners and people who work there are lovely, they really make you feel welcome.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the east coast of Sardegna.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maria Caderina Green Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Caderina Green Village

Address: Localita Predarva, 08020 Posada, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Posada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Posada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maria Caderina Green Village 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maria Caderina Green Village is situated in a suggestive country location, just a stroll away from the village of Posada and its beaches. The hotel has a gorgeous restaurant, a indoor fitness area, a swimming-pool, three meeting spaces. Facilities for disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maria Caderina Green Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Caderina Green Village Posada, Sardinia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria Caderina Green Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.