We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Ship Inn

The Old Ship Inn
7 The Ridgeway, Upwey, Weymouth DT3 5QQ, England
01305 812522
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Upwey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: 17th Century village inn serving great beers and home cooked food. Set in the beautiful village of Upwey, the pub is steeped in history and features in Thomas Hardy's novel 'Under the greenwood tree'. We cater for all occasions and have darts and skittles facilities.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Booked a table Saturday night for two, wondered if we needed too but did it anyway when we arrived could not find a parking place, drove round a little and managed to park. When we arrived very busy lovely table reserved for us backing onto fire, toasty warm. Pub was very busy glad we booked. Ordered gourmet burgers lovely, service was brilliant look forward to going again and trying the rest of the menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    28
    6
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brigstock, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stumbled on The Old Ship Inn after driving round for hours in the dark and pouring rain looking for a decent meal, and it definitely surpassed expectations.
The young lady behind the bar was very friendly and helpful, even keeping us fully informed after the chef scolded himself as to how much longer our meal was likely to be while he bandaged his wounds! We didn't mind, there was an open fire and the locals didn't stare at us as if we had just landed from another planet.
The food was lovely. My husband is one the fussiest people you will ever meet and will look for fault in a meal rather than just enjoy the good bits, but he was in seventh heaven with his fillet steak. He even said it was worth them running out of rib eye so he was 'forced' to eat the fillet. My belly pork was not as crispy as you normally, but was actually much nicer, it just melted in the mouth
Hubby also said the beer was worthy of a 5* camra award - and he's Australian!
Whilst talking to the lady behind the bar, we discovered that that the chef comes from a little village down the road from us. We can only hope that he comes back to his roots and opens a pub nearby soon

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Very busy with christmas parties but they found us a nice table for 2 and the meal was lovely, and service was great

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Dine in style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Excellent location, elegantly decorated, and a very pleasant dining experience, albeit that the food was nothing special

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere Food good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Nice little pub restaurant, good food and nice atmosphere, great location on the harbour, good value for money

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Old Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.