We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harrow Hill Guest Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Howick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harrow Hill Guest Farm
Save
You added Harrow Hill Guest Farm to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Karkloof Rd | P O Box1276, Howick 3290, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Howick B&B and Inns
East London, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This was the best guest house we had ever been to! When we stepped in we really felt we are home! Very clean and the service was great and the breakfast together with Caroline was the best experience we have ever had! We felt like royals in her house! Everything was perfect! Thanks so much and we are looking forward to our nixt stay with you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We had a very pleasant sojourn at Harrow Hill Guest House, the owner was very friendly.
The very comfortable room was in the house and we could make ourselves at home. The breakfast was very good. They happily did our laundry for us.

Room Tip: Very close to the Ambers if you are visiting any folk in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The owner is delightful and very welcoming, the breakfast very good and all served in old world colonial splendour if somewhat tired.
Biggest drawer back, no locks on the bedroom doors, no safe available and only one room is ensuite . No security of the grounds and sadly this is possibly where my suitcases were rifled and some items stolen . We were the only guests at the time and when we were out and the owner out also, the house had only the maids in charge who were often out of earshot. With hindsight I should have locked the suitcases . Also, I would not recommend this for a stay with children as so much delicate fine china was displayed at low level. Such a pity as the owner was such a pleasant person, but too trusting for the times!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Folks, this is the real deal. A step back into the colonial era complete with an enormous amount of fine crockery. Caroline Gemmell presides over the whole, assisted by two delightful ladies who attended to our every need.

On arrival we were offered tea and biscuits served in porcelain crockery and with a silver teapot. My wife took a dip in the pool though it was a little bit cold. This is most definitely not a place for children. We had a wonderful night's sleep. Caroline is well-known in the district and managed to get a booking for us at a popular local restaurant.

The next morning we saw the table laid for three and as we were about to sit down she joined us and entertained us with stories of South Africa, politics, the ANC, corruption, the weather, fracking, you name it, She obviously loves having visitors and that is why I give the six stars for her personal attention and caring.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and she will select the best one for you. She is the boss and it is her home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very pleasant home stay. Decor is genuine and so is the host, Caroline. There is a traditional breakfast served at the dining table. Bedrooms are spacious, only one is ensuite. If you are staying in Howick, this is the place to stop.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We arrived a bit later than anticipated but Caroline welcomed us warmly and gave us a choice of rooms. Wonderful hospitality, lovely cosy beds and a log fire going in the lounge each night. We had a hearty English breakfast at a beautifully appointed table! I was thrilled to find that she understands the term "soft scrambled eggs" as so many establishments don't. The experience us being served with fine china and silverware was very special and Caroline could not have been a more charming hostess. We will be back but it's not a place for small children with all the treasures so freely displayed.

Room Tip: It depends what you would like - en suite or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice but keep in mind..

It is the owners house and a B&B and NOT a guest house - as she pointed it out to us on our weekend stay.

Everything was truly lovely, but should you have kids and staying the weekend perpahs look around for somewhere else to stay. Especially if it is raining and they cannot go outside ...

Thus I recommend it for overnight stays only, and be prepared for your host to join your evenig and morning conversations. She's sweet but sadly dont know when to retreat.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrow Hill Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrow Hill Guest Farm

Address: 8 Karkloof Rd | P O Box1276, Howick 3290, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Howick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Howick
Hotel Class:3 star — Harrow Hill Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrow Hill Guest Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.