We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need lessons in hospitality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stocklands Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Howick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stocklands Farm
Save
You added Stocklands Farm to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4 Shafton Road | Karkloof, Howick 3290, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Howick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Need lessons in hospitality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I can only imagine that the other reviewers of this guest house had absolutely nothing to do with the owner, Evelyn. We (my husband and I and our 15-month daughter) were treated hostilely from the moment we arrived. We felt decidedly unwelcome, but decided to stay as the room and grounds were absolutely beautiful. The breakfast was good, but again, we felt as if we were in Evelyn's way - luckily we didn't see much of her as we were out and about throughout our stay.

PROBLEM came when we left and about 3 hours into our trip home realised we had forgotten our baby's favourite soft toys there - Toffee the Donkey and Morrie Sheep. My husband sent Eve an sms to this effect and asked her to keep them safe and we will arrange for a courier.

The next day by 10am we still hadn't heard anything back and he called her, only to get a very rude response that she hadn't had time to go and look for them in our room yet (they live about 30 metres away in a connecting house). He asked again that she please call him back as my baby is heartbroken about her friends. We had still not heard anything from her!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I can't believe anyone can be that unfeeling and heartless - happy to get our money but also happy to steal a child's toys...

Despite the creature comforts we will never ever recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveM704, Owner at Stocklands Farm, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
In spite of what has been said above, I did respond to Ms Kaplan - twice. Once by email and once by SMS and on both occasions asked for her postal address so that we could post her child's toys to her. I did not receive a reply to either of these messages. In addition Ms Kaplan posted a message on Facebook accusing us of the theft of her child's toys. This was blatantly untrue and defamatory. The toys were not on either their bed, in the cot or on any of the chairs in their room and were eventually found in a cupboard.
This is how I replied to her on email:
"Dear Mari-Louise. We are always sad when we have guests who are not happy with their stay at Stocklands Farm. We have a proud record of happy guests who return over and over again, as the hundreds of comments in our visitor's books and on a wide selection of websites testify. And I am particularly surprised about your remarks about being received with hostility. I remember both my husband and I - when I could leave the kitchen - chatting with you and your husband while you were having breakfast, and time spent talking to your little girl, trying to get a smile from her - and your remark that she is not a child that smiles very much. I also remember sympathising with your husband over your problems with the power going off at home and hoping that you would travel safely. Perhaps you expected us to spend more time with you? If so I am sorry but when we are as busy as we were last weekend this is not always possible.
We do have your child's toys and if we had a postal address would already have posted them back to you. The reason that we did not come back to you as quickly as you would have liked is because we were so busy - the last guests only left late on Tuesday morning. My assistant has a daughter much the same age as yours and she has just been diagnosed with leukemia and so Alison has had to leave us and care for her. this means that I am dealing with both her work load as well as my own, and that in turn means that some things do not get attended to as quickly as normal. Having a child of your own, I would hope that you would understand that this little girl's needs come first. And, however busy we are, Alison has to be with her and not here helping me."
I concluded this by asking her not to defame us in a public form and to furnish me with her postal address. To date she has not done this and her child's toys remain in the office waiting for her to come back to us with these details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

As in the past we were welcomed by the very friendly staff. The rooms are very comfortable and we felt as if we were at home. Everything you need is available. We were in the cottage of which the kitchen is fully equipped. In the evening we enjoyed sitting by the fireplace and tasted the sherry provided by the guest house. The decorations in the cottage is excellent. The gardens are beautiful and peaceful. We will surely go back to Stocklands Farm again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Not that I was looking for England in the middle of South Africa but there was something very comforting about it, especially after an horrendous experience in Durban. The dogs and donkeys stopped me from being too homesick for mine! All the rooms were beautifully decorated with lots of little touches such as lavender wrapped round the toilet roll and little teddies on the bed! The garden was stunning and the outside seating area and dining room were very tastefully done. Breakfast was excellent, down to the very last detail, such as heart shaped toast for your poached egg to sit on. I really liked the town of Howick with lovely cafes, shops & market and a surprisingly dramatic waterfall. It also hosts an interesting museum. And despite not many restaurants open on a Sunday night I had the best fish and chips I've ever had at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage which is three rooms and two bathrooms. It was nice to have our own lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

An excellent place to stay! Devil is in the detail and all the details are taken care of here. The room we were in was large with the most comfortable bed and a separate seating area for reading/tv watching. Sherry and fresh fruit await you daily when you arrive 'home'. Great coffee and fresh rusks on the refreshment trolley. Loads of hot water for the bath/shower and big soft towels. The swimming pool and pool house were just wonderful on the hot days we were there. breakfast was amazing with fresh fruit smoothies and cooked breakfasts served to you on the stoep overlooking the wonderful garden. We would definately recommend a stay here especially if you are visiting the Falls and the Midlands Meander

Room Tip: 68 on Main - great food and an almost English style Pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveM704, Owner at Stocklands Farm, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will be able to visit us again in the not-to-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at Stocklands as we were attending a wedding very near by. We were so pleasantly surprised by the beautiful gardens and well appointed rooms!

We were given such a warm welcomes and serious attention to detail impressed us so much that we would definitely stay here again.

Breakfast was stunning too!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauvais, France
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent a single night there on business. Stayed in Plumtree Cottage. A nice, tastefully decorated self-catering, fully equipped appartment. It was unseasonably cold during our visit and are pleased to say that the electric radiators worked well. Free wifi although the connection is apparently not high-speed (very slow indeed). Good cooked breakfast in the main house. For tourists, Stocklands is conveniently located only a short drive from the town centre and the Falls. However, avoid spending a Sunday night in Howick if possible - a very limited number of restaurants are open and they either don't serve on rainly Sunday evenings or the food is barely palatable. That is not the fault of Stocklands, however...!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for four nights while touring the KZN region of South Africa. Lovely cottage accommodation set in fantastically well kept grounds. Non intrusive service, and (if the weather allows) a superb veranda setting for breakfast.

Recommended nearby locations for dinner, Yellowwood, 68 on Main, and Little Mozambique Restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stocklands Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stocklands Farm

Address: 4 Shafton Road | Karkloof, Howick 3290, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Howick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Howick
Hotel Class:4 star — Stocklands Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stocklands Farm is an early settler property set in the Midlands of KwaZulu of Natal. The original Voortrekker house still stands and adjoins an English settler house. There is a three bedroom self-catering cottage, two one bedroom self-catering cottages,two luxury rooms, one Courtyard suite and one standard room. All rooms have private rooms with verandahs that open onto the gearden and all have en suite bathrooms. Breakfasts are served either on the garden verandah or in the dining room in the old settler house.There are extensive gardens, which include a small idigenous forest, a swimming pool and large poolroom all for the use of guests. For attractions around Stocklands there is the well-known Midlands Meander with a wealth of craft shops, artisits and restaurants. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stocklands Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.