We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magic atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agulhas Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Agulhas Country Lodge to your Saves list
Agulhas Country Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   673 Main Road, L'Agulhas 7287, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Agulhas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A magic atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We spent just one night at the lodge and the weather outside was very poor, but this place has a very cosy and special atmosphere.. Decoration was those of an authentic English country house with authentic, not at all fake, details and vintage furniture. Service was very good even if we hadn't the opportunity to taste the dinner since the menù was more intended for romantic dinners rather than for families as it was our case.
I don't know when we will have further occasions to pass for the outmost Southern tip of Africa, but in this case, this will be again our place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    54
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
102
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Southern most tip of Africa & a nice location makes it worthwhile the trip. Dinner was good, room n° 1 was very nice with "private balcony". Good value for money. As we had even better accom. in SA => rated "very good"

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Very good experience. The lodge is located very close to Cape Agulhas and its decoration is warm and cosy. The staff very kind and the food very good. The only minus is no wifi at the rooms but reachable from the tv area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed one night as a couple and were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The staff we saw were very friendly and the food was good - I still dream about the soup!

Good value for money and, although we were (sort of) travelling through we could have happily stayed an other night or two.

Room Tip: Most seem to have a sea view. Room 1 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed in the honeymoon suite for a night of our honeymoon and really enjoyed it. The room is nice and the bathroom is divine. The towels were pure luxury and the breakfast was great but there were one or two things worth mentioning. The mattress in our room was completely finished- it sagged right into the middle and the sea view is really only partial sea view, if you stand on the balcony, and crane your head around the building- that was a little bit disappointing. All in all it is in a great location and offers an initiate and romantic vibe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed one night in November 2013 and had a wonderful stay.

My wife and I don't like big hotels. This lived up to our expectations and more in terms of a lovely small, personal hotel, which had nice class and style. We had a real luxury bed in a well appointed bedroom, complete with interesting maritime exhibits on the walls.

The bathroom was fine - maybe a tad older than some, but no cause for complaint.

The rooms, and the communal areas, bar, dining room etc, were all in keeping with the feeling of a good, solid, home/hotel beside the wild sea.

We had a fantastic 4 course dinner in the very intimate (genuinely intimate, not faux chic) dining room. As others have said, not an a la carte menu, but if you enjoy all food and are happy to trust a good chef, then go for it, and you will definitely not be disappointed.

Our hosts were lovely people. All in all, I'd like to thank them for a first class stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon's Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Spending one night only - the weather was horrendous and the Lodge had the no Chef - so no lunch or dinner and the laternatives in Agulhas are few and limited in quality (fish and chips type). But besides this the rooms and the atmosphere is still impeccable since my first visit in 2003

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Agulhas Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agulhas Country Lodge

Address: 673 Main Road, L'Agulhas 7287, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Cape Agulhas > L'Agulhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Agulhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Agulhas Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Agulhas Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agulhas Country Lodge Cape Agulhas, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agulhas Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.