We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jose Luis, Spain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agulhas Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added Agulhas Country Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agulhas Country Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   673 Main Road, L'Agulhas 7287, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in L'Agulhas
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jose Luis, Spain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Very good experience. The lodge is located very close to Cape Agulhas and its decoration is warm and cosy. The staff very kind and the food very good. The only minus is no wifi at the rooms but reachable from the tv area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    32
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
65
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed one night as a couple and were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The staff we saw were very friendly and the food was good - I still dream about the soup!

Good value for money and, although we were (sort of) travelling through we could have happily stayed an other night or two.

Room Tip: Most seem to have a sea view. Room 1 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed in the honeymoon suite for a night of our honeymoon and really enjoyed it. The room is nice and the bathroom is divine. The towels were pure luxury and the breakfast was great but there were one or two things worth mentioning. The mattress in our room was completely finished- it sagged right into the middle and the sea view is really only partial sea view, if you stand on the balcony, and crane your head around the building- that was a little bit disappointing. All in all it is in a great location and offers an initiate and romantic vibe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed one night in November 2013 and had a wonderful stay.

My wife and I don't like big hotels. This lived up to our expectations and more in terms of a lovely small, personal hotel, which had nice class and style. We had a real luxury bed in a well appointed bedroom, complete with interesting maritime exhibits on the walls.

The bathroom was fine - maybe a tad older than some, but no cause for complaint.

The rooms, and the communal areas, bar, dining room etc, were all in keeping with the feeling of a good, solid, home/hotel beside the wild sea.

We had a fantastic 4 course dinner in the very intimate (genuinely intimate, not faux chic) dining room. As others have said, not an a la carte menu, but if you enjoy all food and are happy to trust a good chef, then go for it, and you will definitely not be disappointed.

Our hosts were lovely people. All in all, I'd like to thank them for a first class stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon's Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Spending one night only - the weather was horrendous and the Lodge had the no Chef - so no lunch or dinner and the laternatives in Agulhas are few and limited in quality (fish and chips type). But besides this the rooms and the atmosphere is still impeccable since my first visit in 2003

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schio, Italy
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spent one night in this lodge in January 2012. We will never forget this awesome place: nice location, friendly staff and true hospitality. High quality food at dinner and at breakfast! We really recommend this place if you're around there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I spent two nights at this hotel in the southernmost tip of Africa. The location oversees a small bay and the room had a large balcony with a nice view. Very spacious, with all required amenities and a feeling that you are in a country home. Food (although a fixed menu for dinner) was very good, you could help yourself late hours at the bar (just registering what you had) and smoke a cigar in the smoking sitting room instead of being left in the cold of a balcony as in most hotels. Owners and employees gave me a warm welcome and were most helpful with guidance on what to do in the area (including info on roads damaged by the flash floods in the last night I stayed).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agulhas Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agulhas Country Lodge

Address: 673 Main Road, L'Agulhas 7287, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Cape Agulhas > L'Agulhas
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in L'Agulhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Agulhas Country Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Agulhas Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agulhas Country Lodge Cape Agulhas, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agulhas Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.